We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would definitely stay here again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We would definitely stay here again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The price is right for decent service, nice location, and comfortable rooms. The lobby is beautiful and the hotel seems well maintained. This is not the Ritz, but it's not Super 8, either. Staff accommodated our request for adjoining rooms and were very courteous. The pool was a little cold, but the kids didn't mind. We stayed during a very cold snowstorm, so it was understandable. A hot tub would have been nice. The rooms are recently remodeled, clean, and beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are a little odd, but they worked fine. We had no problems staying warm and operating the heating system. The shuttle to the museums is great and the restaurant in the hotel was good for breakfast, with typical Chicago pricing for excellent food. We are anxious to come back here in the summer and experience the parks (which are directly across the street) in non-blizzard conditions. The Essex is within an easy walking distance to the Art Institute and many restaurants. Cabs are plentiful in the area for getting to further attractions.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    807
    452
    156
    135
See reviews for
486
537
117
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This Hotel is affordable and within close proximity to just about anywhere in Downtown Chicago right on Michigan Avenue. They offer a shuttle to all the Museums, you can walk to Soldier Field, you are a short cab or bus ride to all the Michigan Avenue stores and Grant Park is right across the street. This Hotel is right on Michigan Avenue!!! They have an awesome pool on the 4th floor in an Atrium setting and in the summer they have an outside deck that overlooks Michigan Avenue and Grant Park. Beds were comfortable and the room featured an LED HD TV! Rooms have safes and refrigerators and are really quite nice. We stayed with a $79 dollar Groupon per night! Brassiere Restaurant and bar in Hotel and featured good food and drinks. Staff was pleasant and this hotel features Valet Parking or you can park yourself around the block for 24 hours and $20!!! One of the Best kept secrets in the City. Next door to the Hilton and Kitty O'Sheas Pub!!!

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms in this hotel. Double Queens were the rooms of choice in our group with an obstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sluczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Essex Inn during three of the coldest days of the year. Due to the hotel's antiquated "two-pipe" heating and cooling system, you cannot regulate the temperature inside any of the individual rooms. Therefore, it was quite chilly most of the time. The only thing a person can do is to get underneath the covers. Aside from one of the three elevators constantly being out of commission, that was the only negative aspect we experienced. The Essex Inn is a short walk from the Museum Campus and Soldier Field and a two-mile walk from the Magnificent Mile. There is a bus stop about two blocks away. We took the hotel shuttle to the Museum Campus on a Sunday morning and couldn't believe the number of people the driver crammed into the shuttle. Overall, the hotel provides a good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countryeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Our first time stay in Chicago, we were a bit weary after reading some of the reviews about the Essex inn but we were very happy with what we had booked .The staff were very friendly and helpful , and yes the decor is very seventies and dated but everything was very clean. Beds were very comfortable and we had three good nights sleep. Swimming pool was really good especially the power shower in the changing room. We never used the gym but it looked very well equipped. We had a evening meal and a breakfast at the brasserie ,both were good and service at breakfast by a young French waiter was excellent (I got to talk about proper football) . Overall we were very happy with the Essex inn for the price we payed and will stay there again when we return to Chicago .

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank phfl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We just got back from an overnight stay and really enjoyed it. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the facility, while somewhat dated, was very clean. We had a groupon, so it was a great value for us...Our king room was average size for a downtown hotel, but had all the amenities we needed and was quiet and clean. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant, The Brasserie, and it was delicious. The service was a little slow, but the ambiance was romantic and inviting. The food was yummy. It was close to lots of attractions, but the cold kept us from exploring this time. We appreciated the shuttle to the museum campus, and again the friendly driver. They checked our luggage after we checked out, which was much appreciated. All in all, a great visit and we would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a great place, very clean and comfortable hotel with friendly staff. I was here on business and it served it's purpose perfectly. It's not the most glamorous place but honestly, you never spend much time in a hotel when you're in a major city like Chicago. It's terrific value for being on Michigan Avenue and although it's technically a little further out of the main hustle and bustle, I never felt too far away from the action.

They do a great breakfast from early in the morning and it's close to the subway to get you to/from the airport.

I would love to return here for pleasure instead of business because it's a great city but the Essex Inn provides a balance between location and budget. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toast29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Nothing majorly bad with this place, clean, welcoming, friendly staff and spacious rooms, however the hotel is based quite a way away from the main hustle and bustle of Chicago. The hotel is however situated within a few km walk of the "bean" famous landmark.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivesy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#95 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,750 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing