We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy beds, clean and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #144 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just got back from a weekend trip to Chicago. Had booked just a king size room but after seeing it we decided that my husband, son and I would like to upgrade to the 2 room suite. It was terrific. 3 Beds. Usually you get 2 beds and a sofa bed but this room had 3 beds. They were so comfortable. Most hotels have spring mattresses you wake up and your back hurts, not these beds. So comfortable and the pillows too. The location was great too. We walked everywhere, even back to Union Station to catch the Amtrak. The hotel did offer to get a taxi for us, but we decided to walk, ( it is a little walk, but good exercise). If I went back to Chicago, I would stay here again because of the friendly staff, location, the pool and the beds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 2,062 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
13
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Essex Inn in Chicago provides good service, is reasonably priced and its location is excellent for getting around the city, with the beautiful Grant Park just across the street.

Buses stop outside that take you uptown and back and the El is just two blocks down the road.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great location and a third of the cost. But you still get clean modern rooms and theres cheap parking around the corner. The swimming pool there is a plus. Free wifi as well. Don't waste your money this is the place to be, because at the end of the day you just need a nice comfy bed after spending the whole day out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed in the hotel from Sat 26th April to Wednesday 30th April and was extremely impressed. We started the journey from the airport dreading what we might arrive to, after reading some of the negative reviews of the hotel. When we pulled up outside we were relived and happy we'd chosen a hotel in such a fantastic location for the North side of Chicago. The front desk staff greeted us with a smile, gave us a full run down of the facilities, local attractions and other ways in which she could help us. The ultimate relief was free Wi-Fi! (Very sad but a service we were not provided at the Skyline Hotel in New York). We stayed on the 6th floor and although the view wasn't great, we had a very clean and tidy room. The room could do with a bit of modernising, also it was fairly dimly lit, especially the bathroom. The adjoining Brasserie serves great food, reasonably priced drinks and provided excellent service. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamespegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The location is great but that's about the only good thing. Rooms and bed are small. The front desk attendants are very rude. I forgot my credit card at home when checked in and the man working front desk seemed very annoyed when I tried a debit card. I got the cash to cover incidentals but he made it seem very unacceptable. I was outside, right by the front door,getting fresh air when I was approached by a very large man for money. I told the front desk and the employee said"let me get this straight you were outside, approached by someone not inside our building?and what do you want me to do about that??" He didnt care that I felt scared he made me seem rather stupid.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Ginson22
Here at Chicago’s Essex Inn we strive to do our best to make sure all of our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay, but in this case it didn't happen. Guest feedback, both positive and negative, helps us to be better and improve upon what we do. We will be discussing this situation and ways to utilize it as a learning experience for our team members here. I would also like to speak with you directly at your convenience. Please email me your contact information at your leisure. jscott@essexinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We found this place on the internet and it was just great. A small high rise among the giant buildings of Michigan Avenue and it was just perfect. We stayed on the 14th floor, with a great view. We were within walking distance of many things. They offered several free shuttles to many locations. Their French restaurant was wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Pool is on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123worktotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel, whilst having fantastic facilities and helpful staff, was rife with bedbugs. The bed itself was also on an angle, which, coupled with the bed bugs led to a terrible nights sleep.This detracted from our experience and ensured that we wouldn't stay here again. Such a shame as the location was ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lizzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Ms. Dawson
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to give us more information and would like to discuss your stay with you directly over the phone. Please send an email to jscott@essexinn.com at your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#96 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,342 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 192 in Chicago
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £55 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing