We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value for location with lots of perks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #144 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed in the Essex this week with my husband and 5 yr old daughter. We flew to Chicago so we needed a nice, clean hotel but location was key. The Essex was perfect. The staff were all wonderful from check in to departure. Great lobby with computer access & printing for airline check in, etc. The free area shuttle was so very helpful. Goes to different locations in the am & pm. It will take you to a variety of places & you walk or take a taxi back to the hotel. The hotel location is across from Grant Park, Shedd aquarium and Field Museum, etc. took the shuttle to Navy Pier for a lot of beautiful sights & Harry Caray's Restaurant. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but there were many people in the restaurant daily. We wanted to try the area local restaurants & foods. We ate at Yolk for breakfast 2.5 blocks away...wonderful. Ate at Luke's Chicago Pizza... My husband is still talking about the pizza! Back to the hotel... The room was very clean we were on the 14th floor...with a partial view, Sufficient bathroom space, hair dryer,ironing board & iron, great over bed personal lighting for reading,in room safe, refrigerator, flat screen tv, desk & ergonomic desk chair with free in room Wi-Fi. There was concern about the reviews I had read about the heating & air system, but we had no problems with the system and it was adjustable in our room. So it was perfect. Only thing I did not like was that the windows open. With a 5 yr old not desirable but we placed the luggage stand & suitcase in front of the handle,etc. so it made it out of site.The pool is huge & The weight room has a view of the pool. We loved The Essex which is maybe 1 block from the Hilton. You will not be disappointed and we will definitely stay again & stay longer.

Room Tip: Of course the higher the room the better the view of the park & stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I wish there was a rating of "good" in the trip advisor system - there isn't, so my rating of the Essex is 3 and a half.

It is in a great location. Is close to the "loop" transit system and within easy walking distance of many attractions including the Millenium Park.The price was very fair. No problems with check in or room or anything else.

Didn't eat there so can not comment on the food.

Nothing wrong with this place at all. All in all a good hotel, in a good location. You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willow178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Checked in for 2 night stay and found hotel was in a great location. Walked to Shedd Aquarium and other park attractions. Room was clean and comfy. Air conditioner was not very adjustable but the room was kept cool.

Restaurant attached to hotel was good. Service good. Food well prepared.

Parking at $52.00 per night was too much. Surface lot 1 block south and 1 block west was $20.00 for 24 hours. Parking staff would not allow car to sit for a few minutes while we checked in. Park someplace else.

Will use this location in the future for convenient stay in an expensive city.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Commonslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here at the very last minute when our other accommodations fell through, and couldn't be happier. Got a lovely room on the 15th floor, street view, and at first I was worried it might be noisy. Actually it was so quiet we almost overslept. The location is great, right across from Grant Park. We were able to walk or take buses to everywhere, the staff helped us to find where we needed to go. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom is large with a separate sink area, my only (minor) complaint is that the light in the bath area is rather dim. We plan to stay here again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanS190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Essex Inn at 800 S Michigan Ave in Chicago has the most helpful and the friendliest staff! My son and I just returned from a three night stay and couldn't be happier that we chose this hotel. This hotel is in a prime location. Close to the Art Institute, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Millenium Park. It's across the street from Grant Park. The rooms are clean and the entire staff is helpful with any questions on what to do, how to get where you want to go, and the concierge can set you up with discount tickets and tours. The hotel also has an indoor rooftop pool, an exercise room, a sauna, and two rooftop decks. The on site restaurant , Brassiere, has fantastic cheeseburgers and seasoned fries. The waitstaff at the restaurant was also great. If and when I go back to Chicago would I stay at this hotel again? Absolutely!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First trip to Chicago and stayed here for 4 nights. The location of the hotel is relatively good as most landmarks and points of interest are within walking distance of the hotel. The shopping district and the Magnificent Mile is a good 20-30min walk from the hotel as is the Navy Pier.

The hotel is only a 10min walk from La Salle station on the Blue Line if taking the L train from O'hare.

Our room was clean but got really noisy as our room was next to the service elevator and vending machines. Noise from the street also filters into the room and the a/c unit is extremely noisy. Shower stall was too small for me, and I'm only 5'9". Other than that, the room was clean and adequate and included a fridge and safe which we found convenient. We also stayed during Blues Fest and Spring Awakening which meant for a couple sleepless nights as Michigan Ave. was busy all throughout the night and the rooms aren't very well sheltered from the noise. We did appreciate the hotel taking steps to ensure the safety and security of its guests including issuing wristbands to hotel guests only.

The hotel has a free shuttle to all of downtown Chicago's main points of interest. Leaves almost every hour but can fill up fast on busy weekends as the van only fits 15, but the driver seemed to always try to get everyone accommodated. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Fitness Center is clean and well equipped, the pool wasn't as large as the pictures make it out to seem, but still a good size.

This hotel is a great value if you can get it at a decent price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank YVR-Wes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#96 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,342 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 192 in Chicago
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £55 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing