We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is straight across from Grant Park and within walking distance of the city centre. Room was a decent size and beds were comfy. We did have breakfast in the hotel but had a much better breakfast in Yolk which is 5 mins walk away and was a fantastic breakfast experience. Staff in the hotel were helpful and friendly. Would recommend staying in this hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Karencorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    807
    451
    156
    135
See reviews for
486
537
117
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bucks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Essex hotel was a little tired and some of common areas were scruffy

Best was the pool and gym complex that were out standing although a little quirky ( why close from 7 pm to 7.30pm) it meant we were forced to stop our quiet chat by the open air deck !!

Stay on 4 th floor for easy access ,do not use motel parking for $52 per night just behind the hotel is a lot for $20 a night

Room Tip: staying on west side you have an overlook of the Hilton's noisy O'Flannigans bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyNomadsouthbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a nice hotel at the south end of the loop. Great for visiting the Field Museum and only a short walk into town. Decent sized room but really quite dated especially the bathroom. Very helpful staff, concierge and doormen. Overall a good hotel which doesn't pretend to be anything it's not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent room; plenty of space and nice and quiet - we were on an upper floor on the side of the building, so didn't experience any disturbance from either the main road at the front or the 'L' further down the side street. Two good sized beds, very clean and comfortable. Bathroom a little on the small side and in need of a bit of renovation, but the idea of having the wash hand basin in the recess outside the bathroom was a great idea!
Don't know what the corridor décor was like on all the floors, but found ours to be rather depressing shades of russet/brown/beige which in subdued lighting looks rather drab! Don't be put off by the exterior of the building either - it is a bit 'dated' looking and is dwarfed by larger, newer hotel blocks around it, but we found it to be a really good base for exploring Chicago - the Magnificent Mile is walking distance, there are two lovely parks on the opposite side of the road, and the lakeshore is about 10 minutes walk away. Even better, the round-town open top bus stops on the opposite block outside the Hilton!
Staff were generally friendly and helpful, especially the concierge (whose name now escapes me) who organised our tickets for the bus tour and the river boat trip.
The on-site/next-door coffee shop/bistro was very handy; no need to look anywhere else for breakfast! We also had a couple of evening meals, although the menu is a bit limited if you go there more than a couple of times.
All in all highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor on the side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ-Whippet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We had a 'staycation'. Kids stayed with grandma so we actually had a date weekend. Our room was just perfect...beautiful view and great room service. The food was perfect. A very nice weekend in town.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessBootsJeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The room was very clean and comfortable, but the bathroom was tiny! Any size person could hardly turn around in it. We had a nice view of the pool deck, in our corner room, and frequented that area quite a bit since we were on floor 5 and pool area is floor 4. Enjoyed a swim or two, but the pool was kind of dirty, imo. Could have been cleaner. Check in was our main problem. We arrived at 2pm on a Friday and were fully aware that our room may not be ready til 3pm, but we waited longer than that. Also were advised that we had to wear bright green wristbands to prove our residency here, and I don't care for that at all. The front desk staff were efficient but not overly friendly. Housekeeping was average. Eh, downtown Chicago, we knew enough to book parking spaces other than at the hotel anyway. This hotel is adequate but not very special in any way. For $200 per night, you may be able to find a better one. They just didn't offer anything extra in the way of service or amenities. I'll book a different hotel in the future. Essex Inn is not terrible, but not my favorite, compared to other Chicago stays.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are nice, for views, at least on the Michigan Avenue side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northsouthq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

When we arrived at the hotel the porter helped us with our bags, then got us information together to help us with our sightseeing. He also told us about the Chicago Taste which was going on in the park near the hotel, we dumped our luggage in the room and went straight out to this free food festival with live music, the atmosphere was brilliant, then due to rain we returned to the hotel.

Our room was on the fourth floor and plenty big enough for 4 adults, we were facing the pool but didn't manage to get to use it or the decent sized gym.
Due to the heavy rain we had a lovely breakfast in the hotel restaurant which was enjoyed by all, plenty of choice. When we came out it was still raining and the porter called for a taxi for us, also got the driver to turn the taxi around so we were facing the right direction before we got in and gave us the name of the shopping mall The Water Tower, which was brilliant, think we were first in there and spent a fortune in macy's as they had a one day sale.

Reception and all the staff looked like they were enjoying their jobs and were very helpful, not like some other hotels that we stayed at on this trip.

The trolley ride picks up just outside the hilton which was next door so ideal for sightseeing too.

A decent priced hotel which was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our room was on 4th floor with views off the pool, which was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing