We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad...Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Bad...Decent Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

I got this room due to the proximity to downtown attractions. I was happy when we checked in to get 2 beds. Normally with priceline I am booked into a 1 queen bed. The rooms were clean but small. The furnishings are new and they have a flat panel screen tv with many channels which was nice. They are basically at the end of mag mile and I suspect if the weather were nicer it would be just fine but in the cold we had to deal with buses. They also have a shuttle which we used which is nice. Overall, my family enjoyed the pool and work out room. This is a nice feature especially downtown. Not many of the hotels have a pool. I am sure there are nicer hotels but when you have small children watching tv is just not enough. I enjoyed our stay here and would book again if I could get the $50 plus tax rate on priceline.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwest167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    810
    459
    156
    138
See reviews for
489
541
117
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

We spent two nights at the Essex from Dec 11-13, 2009. Parking was $37/night, however, valet service was quick at retreiving the vehicle. Soldier Field and the Field Museum/Shedd Aquarium are within walking distance and the hotel is right on Michigan Ave. and the #3 bus route.

The bathrooms are small and the sink may be the most tiny I've ever seen. They are literally about the diameter of a basketball.

The beds were comfortable and the cable TV package includes numerous HBO options.

The climate control is steam heat, which you cannot precisely control in the room. We had to have the window open in early December in Chicago to keep the temperatures reasonable or it would've been entirely too hot in the room. That was my main complaint.

Staff were friendly and requests to bring extra coffee, etc. to the room were responded to quickly.

We got this hotel on Priceline for $50/night plus tax and it was a good value.

...recommended stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

Nice location, updated furnishings, but not very quiet and the shower was a bit moldy and leaked all over the bathroom floor. Handy shuttle to the main attractions, close to Museum Campus and El stations. Staff was friendly and helpful. Paying $6 per day for internet was off-putting.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

I was a little weary after reading the reviews about small bathrooms, HVAC system, small bathrooms, decor, etc. But I'll tell you.. the service was more than courteous, the room was more than adequate and the decor great. All that for less than half the price of a room at the Hilton across the street. I'll come back here for sure.

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank belasco99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

This is actually a great little hotel. You can easilly take the blue line, then the red line get off on Harrison and walk two blocks to the Essex House on Michigan Avenue. It's at the end of the Magnificient Mile, across from Grant Park. The rooms are small, similar to a European hotel, but nicely furnished and updated. The carpeting looks dated - it's very clean, but everything else is new. There are LED reading lamps attached to the headboards and recylcle bins along with trash bins in the rooms (nice touch). Room darkening drapes, along with sheers and plenty of plugs everywhere. The beds are super comfy with lots of pillows. They have a spectacular pool area/ sundeck along with a nice fitness area with newer equitment. The bathroom is small, but updated and adequate with nice lighted mirrors. I enjoyed the fact the windows opened so I could listen to traffic and get some air. The staff was attentive and incredibly nice. The Savoy Restaurant was great for breakfast and so inexpensive. I wouldn't normally give this hotel such a high rating, but they were so attentive and I love their green factor and great beds - and the pool. It wasn't luxorious, it was just comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welltravelled720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Very conveniet to downtow. The Hotel is quite, clean and confortable with a big lcd tv. The hotel park cost a little bit much that other solutions, but very convenient. For breakfast there is a Starbucks very close to the hotel.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lukefax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

I stayed at the Essex for three nights while attending a conference at the Hilton Chicago. The Hilton couldn't be much closer--right across a small sidestreet . But while I would have paid $182 for a room at the Hilton, even at conference rates, I got my room at the Essex for $89 a night via Hotelicopter.com.

I would have been satisfied with the Essex if I'd paid considerably more, but for that price, it was outstanding. The room was smallish but very comfortable. The hotel has clearly been remodeled in the past few years and, and while it was nowhere near as plush and ornate as the Hilton, it was perfectly pleasant and comfortable. The king-size bed was nice and firm with a cozy duvet. Everything was clean and in working order--the one problem (a light that burned out on the second day) was fixed promptly. The wireless Internet was fast and consistent (and while the price wasn't as high as what some business hotels charge, they never charged me for using it!) The staff was attentive, friendly and helpful. The location is great--right on Michigan Avenue, an easy walk to the Art Institute and a short cab ride to the Miracle Mile. As a single women I felt safe walking to and from dinner a few blocks away, even after dark

If I had to name one complaint, it would be that you have limited control of the temperature in your room, and it was a little warmer than I would have preferred. But that may have had something to do with it being nearly 60 degrees in mid-November--the hotel may not be able to crank down the heat on a dime when the weather is that unseasonable.

I would absolutely stay at the Essex Inn on another visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsMaryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,793 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing