We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, updated rooms, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chicago's Essex Inn
Ranked #127 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
West Dundee, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, updated rooms, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed here a night in January. We came via the red line which is only a few blocks away and nice to be able to take public transportation to.

We booked the King Suite, which meant we were on the top floor (15th). The room is not huge but we did not feel cramped either. The rooms have recently been remolded which is really nice. We had a fantastic view of Grant Park, museums and the lake. I would get this room again for the view! It doesn't happen much in Chicago that you get an unobstructed view and it was nice to have one.

The bathrooms, as others have posted are tiny. It is an older hotel and you just work around it but yes, very, very small.

The heat is controlled for the building so in the winter it is heat and you can't control it for your room, you can turn the fan on though and we found that this was enough to keep us plenty warm.

The walls are not the thickest and we heard other guests getting off the elevator all night.

All-in-all, a nicely appointed room with a few quirks, but we would stay here again for the view and location and price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    810
    459
    156
    138
See reviews for
489
541
117
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

we booked the Essex inn as part of our big trip to america and this was the first stop before starting our route 66 jeorney.
We were welcomed by some very friendy staff in the very strange very dates 80's reception area, the layout was only to be described as strange? i thought the rooms were going to be pretty much the same, but to my suprise the rooms were actually good, clean, comfortable and quite big with floor to celing windows. and a nice big T.V the bathroom was on the small side and the tempetaure in the room is to the discrssion of the mangament so you were unable to change it? which i found also strange? but other than that the staff were helpful and friendly and the location was good, short walk to the heart of everything and over the road from the Millenium park. all in all good value for money

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casey+jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel near Millennium Park with fridges in the room for my son's baby food. Essex Inn fit the bill. Granted this was in the off-season which may explain the price. Room was small but adequate and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom again small but adequate. The indoor heated pool was perfect for splashing around with the baby. Lots of deck chairs available (better in summer of course) Gym was fairly spacious for a hotel and was empty both times we went (AM and PM). Best part was being able to walk to the park, Art Institute etc. Can't comment on the food as we got take out from nearby sandwich shop.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

While the location was great that we could walk to most of the museums and to State Street stores, the el was so loud that it was almost impossible to sleep! They should issue earplugs with the room key. The beds were comfy but for short people like myself, I could have used a stepstool to get on it!
Desk staff was not very helpful especially when asked about nearby restaurants or times of church services in the area. We found Yolks about 3 blocks S to be wonderful! Eleven on Wabash was also good.
Parking was $39 per night. Cheaper private lots were available S on Mich and on Wabash. The pool supposedly was 80 degrees. It felt much cooler.
The hotel bragged about how green it was but the coffee cups were styrofoam which is not recyclable. They said that they had ceramic mugs. Well, not in our room. Heat in the hotel was not adjustable in our room.
Maids were very noisy in the hall at 9 am outside of our room. It cost almost $25 per hour to use their computer!! Outrageous!! Overall a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJOHNS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

I got this room due to the proximity to downtown attractions. I was happy when we checked in to get 2 beds. Normally with priceline I am booked into a 1 queen bed. The rooms were clean but small. The furnishings are new and they have a flat panel screen tv with many channels which was nice. They are basically at the end of mag mile and I suspect if the weather were nicer it would be just fine but in the cold we had to deal with buses. They also have a shuttle which we used which is nice. Overall, my family enjoyed the pool and work out room. This is a nice feature especially downtown. Not many of the hotels have a pool. I am sure there are nicer hotels but when you have small children watching tv is just not enough. I enjoyed our stay here and would book again if I could get the $50 plus tax rate on priceline.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwest167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

We spent two nights at the Essex from Dec 11-13, 2009. Parking was $37/night, however, valet service was quick at retreiving the vehicle. Soldier Field and the Field Museum/Shedd Aquarium are within walking distance and the hotel is right on Michigan Ave. and the #3 bus route.

The bathrooms are small and the sink may be the most tiny I've ever seen. They are literally about the diameter of a basketball.

The beds were comfortable and the cable TV package includes numerous HBO options.

The climate control is steam heat, which you cannot precisely control in the room. We had to have the window open in early December in Chicago to keep the temperatures reasonable or it would've been entirely too hot in the room. That was my main complaint.

Staff were friendly and requests to bring extra coffee, etc. to the room were responded to quickly.

We got this hotel on Priceline for $50/night plus tax and it was a good value.

...recommended stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

Nice location, updated furnishings, but not very quiet and the shower was a bit moldy and leaked all over the bathroom floor. Handy shuttle to the main attractions, close to Museum Campus and El stations. Staff was friendly and helpful. Paying $6 per day for internet was off-putting.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,799 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago's Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Property: Chicago's Essex Inn
Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing