We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but Hotel Needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Ranked #134 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location but Hotel Needs some work”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I am a budget traveler. I booked a southwest vacation and selected this hotel. The location was fantastic. The hotel not so much. I found a roach in the tub and the toilet keeps on flushing. I also notice that the elevator takes forever to show up. I stayed on the 5th floor so I climbed up and down the stairs because I didn't want to wait for the elevator. The hotel is conveniently located off the L line. The closest station was off the red line on Harrison station. Midway Airport was the 30 minute ride and you have the option of either getting off at the main library station or the Roosevelt station.

If you plan to spend more than 3 days chicago I would strongly recommend getting a 3 day metro cta pass.

I would not necessarily recommend this hotel to others but I would stay there myself just because of the proximity to the park and to the lake front.

Room Tip: Elevators are slow....... select a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericke w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    597
    711
    296
    178
See reviews for
435
472
225
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here based on the recomendation from my Wyndham Rewards account. The hotel is remodeled from an older hotel which is great however, the remodel is not done very well. I requested extra pillows one evening and they had still not received them the next day. The highlight of the stay was the very kind Bell Man who took us on a ride in the original elevator which was very cool. It's great for the price when you consider the prices of the other hotels in Downtown Chicago and it's a great location!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Marlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff I met were all extremely friendly and helpful. I needed a room last minute and there was one available for not a terrible price for the location. The room was a bit dirty because it is all very old, and the curtains didn't quite cover the entire window, which was unnerving for me staying alone, but everything was fine and turned out to be a nice cozy room. Would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Room was OK and clean. Most of the hotel was a little dated. The lift broke down for my entire stay, which wasn't a problem for me, and they had a guy doing the lifts manually. The worst thing about the room was the subway right outside which seemed to run every 10 minutes and was noisy. Other than that, not bad

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It's important to understand what you are getting here. This is an old hotel (built in 1930). It's not a fancy newly renovated hotel. If you are looking for that, then pony up more money and stay at one of the Chicago hotels that has rooms costing a lot more money. But if you're looking for a nice, clean room at a GREAT location - and a fantastic value for your money - then this is a good place to stay.

We come to Chicago a few times a year, and in particular we come to the Lollapalooza Music Festival each August. We get two rooms at a great price. The staff here has always been exceptionally good to us. The rooms are surprisingly large (we had two queen beds and a kitchenette in very spacious rooms). The staff went out of their way to be VERY helpful, and made our stay special (they always do).

There are some very reasonable restaurants nearby that have GREAT food. Grant Park is just a couple blocks East of the hotel.....a nice short walk away. We parked right across the street and the parking for hotel guests was very reasonable, and the people there were very nice too. We needed to make some special arrangements with the parking garage, and they were wonderful to work with.

Sometimes I do spend the extra money to stay at one of the fancier Chicago hotels. But honestly, I like this old place just as much as those high priced hotels. But don't come to this place expecting anything fancy. It's old. Not fancy at all.

The free wi-fi is nice too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeJourney222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#131 of 189 in Chicago
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 189 in Chicago
4,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Property: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Address: 65 E Harrison St, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605-1614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing