We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable prices downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Ranked #138 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Given the insane cost of downtown hotels, this location is great for a short term stay at a reasonable cost. The closest major attraction is Museum Campus, which includes the planetarium and field museum. The Art Institute is also pretty close. Theres a Thai restaurant connected to the lobby that we didn't try, but its a convenient dining option. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff is friendly. Nothing outstanding here, but its a nice place to lay your head and not think about going bankrupt.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,117)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

I booked this room through Southwest Airlines to get points, then read the reviews it got so initially I had an idea of what to expect. Despite all the poor reviews on rude staff, in the brief encounters I had at the desk, they were professional and pleasant. One morning I past the housekeeper in the hall and smiled with a "good morning" and only got a grunt sound back, but who cares?

The room was VERY small which was just right because it was only me. It was outdated but clean to its best ability. I will mention that the bed was short which I read in a previous review. I'm 5'8" and my feet hung over the edge past the ankles.

Pros: nice room for the price if you don't expect or need much. Walking distance to most attractions including the L train which will take you anywhere else. It was summer time when I was here and the small window AC unit was on the whole time and kept the room icy cold!!!

Cons: old run down structure with few amenities. WiFi is free but basically non existent in my room (9th floor). The elevators are very very slow. I suggest taking the stairs if you're not pulling luggage. The TV did not work.

Overall it was as I said "expected" after reading the reviews. There were a few pleasant surprises but mostly "you get what you paid for".

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from S. Wabash to stay clear of the train noise. I had a unit on the southeast...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Chicago ain't cheap and Travelodge offered a rate that met a tight budget. Chicago is a nice walkable city and, whilst it wasn't central to the main action, the Travelodge is fairly close to the areas you would want to go. The area itself seems quite safe.

The staff are welcoming and professional. My room was on the 8th floor. Even so, the noise of traffic and particularly the railway line filled the room. Ear plugs solved this dilemma for a good night's rest. The aircon in the room was old but worked. The room itself was relatively compact, modest and clean. The bed mattress seemed quite old, but comfortable.

Overall, though not a very sexy stay, the Travelodge provided for a comfortable and convenient stay on a budget.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Durazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My expectations were not high for this hotel and I was still disappointed. I got a single bed room and paid extra for the one with a desk - as others have commented, it is quite small. The carpet is dirty - looks like it hasn't been vacuumed. The rooms do not have an iron and ironing board - you have to ask the front desk and they will bring it up. The windows and walls have NO sound insulation. You can hear every car, every siren and the train whose tracks are right outside the window. I got the extra special room directly across from the elevator, so I can hear when the elevator dings and when people are walking in the hall. If you need a good night's sleep or are traveling for business - I would definitely opt for another option. It's worth the money to skip the aggravation and poor nights rest.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I am a budget traveler. I booked a southwest vacation and selected this hotel. The location was fantastic. The hotel not so much. I found a roach in the tub and the toilet keeps on flushing. I also notice that the elevator takes forever to show up. I stayed on the 5th floor so I climbed up and down the stairs because I didn't want to wait for the elevator. The hotel is conveniently located off the L line. The closest station was off the red line on Harrison station. Midway Airport was the 30 minute ride and you have the option of either getting off at the main library station or the Roosevelt station.

If you plan to spend more than 3 days chicago I would strongly recommend getting a 3 day metro cta pass.

I would not necessarily recommend this hotel to others but I would stay there myself just because of the proximity to the park and to the lake front.

Room Tip: Elevators are slow....... select a lower floor...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ericke w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#140 of 191 in Chicago
2,013 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#90 of 191 in Chicago
577 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 191 in Chicago
1,971 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Address: 65 E Harrison St, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605-1614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £72 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing