We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic hotel with some quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Ranked #135 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel with some quirks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed at the Travelodge this August. We mostly stayed there because it was cheap for Chicago and close to multiple el lines (and buses) and the loop downtown area. If anybody is a blues fan, Buddy Guy's Legends bar is two blocks away. It's a block from Michigan Avenue and Grant Park and the massive Buckingham Fountain.

The place definitely isn't fancy and attempts at decor result in a mish-mash, like in the lobby. But it was clean (some worn parts of the carpet), reasonably quiet (especially with the air conditioner on), pretty much dark at night (though the curtain was a little small). We had no problems with water pressure or doors, and the room was actually a pretty good size, which was mostly useful for the desk. The beds were fine. Also there are some restaurants and bars on Printers Row, a couple of blocks away.

The biggest issue was that the elevators were slow and small. The hotel made a good effort to deal with that by taking people in the freight elevator, which has to be run by an operator. Overall--good if you want a reasonably priced well located hotel and don't care about decor or trendiness.

Room Tip: The west side of the building has a view, but also has noise from the el.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WanderersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    572
    695
    283
    174
See reviews for
412
454
217
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice big room. The bed was heaven to sleep on. BUT we had no hot water, even after letting them know we needed it fixed. Most of the desk staff needed lessons in customer service.

For example, when we arrived our room was not ready so we asked if we could leave our bags there. The woman at the desk (on Sunday Aug. 17) flippantly told us to give them to Humberto, she did not even ask him to help us. Meanwhile Humberto is goofing around with one of his co-workers. The elevators were very slow and there was no channel guide for the television.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Given the insane cost of downtown hotels, this location is great for a short term stay at a reasonable cost. The closest major attraction is Museum Campus, which includes the planetarium and field museum. The Art Institute is also pretty close. Theres a Thai restaurant connected to the lobby that we didn't try, but its a convenient dining option. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff is friendly. Nothing outstanding here, but its a nice place to lay your head and not think about going bankrupt.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I booked this room through Southwest Airlines to get points, then read the reviews it got so initially I had an idea of what to expect. Despite all the poor reviews on rude staff, in the brief encounters I had at the desk, they were professional and pleasant. One morning I past the housekeeper in the hall and smiled with a "good morning" and only got a grunt sound back, but who cares?

The room was VERY small which was just right because it was only me. It was outdated but clean to its best ability. I will mention that the bed was short which I read in a previous review. I'm 5'8" and my feet hung over the edge past the ankles.

Pros: nice room for the price if you don't expect or need much. Walking distance to most attractions including the L train which will take you anywhere else. It was summer time when I was here and the small window AC unit was on the whole time and kept the room icy cold!!!

Cons: old run down structure with few amenities. WiFi is free but basically non existent in my room (9th floor). The elevators are very very slow. I suggest taking the stairs if you're not pulling luggage. The TV did not work.

Overall it was as I said "expected" after reading the reviews. There were a few pleasant surprises but mostly "you get what you paid for".

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from S. Wabash to stay clear of the train noise. I had a unit on the southeast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Chicago ain't cheap and Travelodge offered a rate that met a tight budget. Chicago is a nice walkable city and, whilst it wasn't central to the main action, the Travelodge is fairly close to the areas you would want to go. The area itself seems quite safe.

The staff are welcoming and professional. My room was on the 8th floor. Even so, the noise of traffic and particularly the railway line filled the room. Ear plugs solved this dilemma for a good night's rest. The aircon in the room was old but worked. The room itself was relatively compact, modest and clean. The bed mattress seemed quite old, but comfortable.

Overall, though not a very sexy stay, the Travelodge provided for a comfortable and convenient stay on a budget.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Durazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My expectations were not high for this hotel and I was still disappointed. I got a single bed room and paid extra for the one with a desk - as others have commented, it is quite small. The carpet is dirty - looks like it hasn't been vacuumed. The rooms do not have an iron and ironing board - you have to ask the front desk and they will bring it up. The windows and walls have NO sound insulation. You can hear every car, every siren and the train whose tracks are right outside the window. I got the extra special room directly across from the elevator, so I can hear when the elevator dings and when people are walking in the hall. If you need a good night's sleep or are traveling for business - I would definitely opt for another option. It's worth the money to skip the aggravation and poor nights rest.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Property: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Address: 65 E Harrison St, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605-1614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing