We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two beds - two bathrooms: GOOD DEAL!”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #106 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here on business and had to share a room with a colleague. But as it turned out, not only did the 'suite' have two double beds, but also two bathrooms, which made everything a lot easier. The room was pretty small, but nicely appointed in citified Hilton style.

Well located, right on Michigan Avenue, (about a 10 minute walk from the train) the lower public areas are pretty impressive, with big marble staircases, et al. The coffee bar (serving Starbucks brew) drew a long line every morning, but that was still a better option than the typical $20 hotel breakfast. I'll NEVER get over paying so much for internet access in full service hotels, and don't stay in such places enough to achieve Gold status so I don't have to. That said, in the category of big city hotel stays, this was a good one.

Room Tip: If you need two beds, see if you can get one of the rooms with two baths as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments from your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your appreciation of your double bed, double bath room accommodations. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,
Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,299 - 4,305 of 5,417 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Frequent traveler who has stayed at this hotel twice for conventions. Choose to stay for a family trip to Chicago anf was very dissapointed with lack of service from staff and noise from construction/renovations in hotel. Will not stay again at this location when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubusinesstraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. Please except our sincerest apologies for the lack of service you experienced as well as the construction noise from the renovation project we are currently undergoing. We at the Hilton Chicago take it very seriously when we fail to meet the expectations of our guests and ask that you please pardon us during this time.
We truly hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future with the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton is known.
Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This expansive, ornate hotel provided a lovely stay for my husband and I over a weekend in early December 2011. The rooms are tasteful, quiet and comfortable, and the staff is efficient and pleasant. Just a few blocks south of Millenium Park and the Art Institute, Hilton Chicago is also close to many of Chicago's architectural treasures, as well as to the train from Midway. Conveniences such as the pharmacy, liquor store and a Trader Joe's are also nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city or towards the lake when booking or registering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimkfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share you wonderful comments. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your room accommodations and found our location convenient to all the surrounding places such as shopping, touring and eating. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The check-in attendant was delightful. We were given a room on the 20th floor which is not on the exec level. Rowdy teenagers kept me up all night so I requested a room change and was moved to the exec 25th ( I am Hilton Gold). What a difference! It was so much nicer, it made the inconvenience of moving worth the trip. It looks like all the guestrooms will eventually be brought up to exec level standards. I love having two bath rooms which is an option the Palmer House offers as well. Not a long walk to the Orange line which brings you right to Midway.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank jermmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your room accommodations on our Executive Level. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Beautiful hotel. Renovated rooms are very nice. Spacious fitness facility. Spotty service, which isn't all that surprising at a property this huge. I stay here regularly for business. Shop for good rates, which you can get when there is not a huge meeting. I'm a Hilton Gold. Do not get consistent treatment (upgrade, etc.); the Lounge is spacious and staff very nice, but the food options are only average.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments as it relates to your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you were pleased with our newly renovated room and the athletic club. Please except our sincerest apologies for any inconsistent service you received from our staff. Please know that your experience does not exemplify the Hilton standards and that we take it very seriously when we fail to meet guest’s expectations.

We truly hope you will allow us any future opportunity to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton is known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Amazing and well preserved hotel. Rooms and public areas are well kept and of high quality. Location is a bit away from the busier areas of downtown, but still walkable to Grant Park and close to an L station. I really liked this hotel, but the major downside was that there was no free internet, not even in the lobby. This is the only reason I wouldn’t stay here again – everything else was great!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed the night of December 22, 2011. We were there for a party in the hotel that was slated to finish at 2am. The party was magnificent and the hotel is perfect for any grand party. After all Queen Elizabeth had a dinner for 7000 people here during her tour of America in 1951, who could resist- it is a magnificent room and the stairs and the halls around the ballroom are perfect for any dramatic event. BUT the hotel knowing that we would probably get to bed very late put us on the 15th floor- BEWARE the four floors below us were under serious construction and at 7:30!!! AM the jack hammering, sawing and banging began. WOW if this were a New York apartment building the workmen wouldn't be allowed in the door before 9:30. What are they thinking? The hotel manager, after my calling at 7:30, 8:30 and 9:30 did take off all the room charges and the room service charges which I feel was fair. But be warned: do ask all about the construction and where it is and WHY it starts at 7:30AM!! before you book a room here. Now that being said. We had tea in the Irish pub and it was probably the only time in the US that I have had a proper cup of tea rather than a pot- they actually put the teabag into the cup before the boiling water! The breakfast was also wonderful. Not a prepackaged piece of butter or jam in sight- both in their own individual small container and delicious jam it was. A lovely breakfast. Our room service dinner was very good too. So top marks for the catering. We also had a charming view of the lake. Fantastic location next to the lake. So on every other level this was a wonderful hotel. Just beware and I hope the construction ends before your stay.

Room Tip: Check on where the construction is in the hotel and avoid it- they start very early and unless you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments as it relates to your stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago and its location. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our Irish pub Kitty O’sheas and your overall dining experiences during your visit. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.
Please except our sincerest apologies for the noise you experienced from our renovation project we are undergoing. We work very hard to try and minimize noise and inconveniences to our guests and ask that you please pardon us during this time.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,
Damien G. McArdle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 191 in Chicago
7,182 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £90 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing