We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay.”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #101 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Stay.”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and kids enjoyed two nights at the Chicago Hilton. Very pleasant staff. Nice room. It was not busy and that likely improved our experience. Walked to Shedd Aquarium. Used HHonors points so the value for us was great. Only complaint was the noise on day of departure while there was renovations in an adjoining room.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business_Traveler_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments . It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests. We “thank you” for being a HHonors members and delighted to hear your points allowed for a great value. Please except our sincerest apologies for the noise you experienced during our renovations project we are currently undergoing. We hope it was not too big of an inconvenience for you and that you visit us in the future and come share our excitement of the new and modern changes we are bring to our valued guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.
Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,879
    1,620
    918
    411
    203
See reviews for
1,043
873
239
2,176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last winter and it wasnt bad, the rooms are small but comparing with other hotels in downtown Chicago they are bigger. The hotel is an average hotel of its class. It is close to the buckingham fountain(from married with children tv show). When we were there it was cold and they turn off the fountain and we had to take a taxi to go to the restaurant on the top of the Hancock tower. I would stay again in this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southamericandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We are delighted to hear of your appreciation of our hotel and that you would stay with us again. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I spent three nights here alone for a convention, and while this hotel offers comfortable enough accommodations and a central location on Michigan Avenue close to Millennium Park, there are many other options that I would personally consider first, especially for leisure travel.

The property is old and full of character, which means grand old marble staircases and an impressively ornate ballroom, but also long, dimly-lit corridors and waiting areas that make it seem tired and hard to navigate. Guest rooms are on the small side, and while a valiant effort has been made to keep things fresh, many of the fixtures and furnishings are outdated and in need of renovation. I stayed on an Executive floor, and compared to other concierge levels including those offered by Fairmont, Pan Pacific, or Westin, it was really nothing to write home about, and not worth the additional cost in my opinion. Staff barely recognized or acknowledged that I was a premium guest, and the lounge was closer to the breakfast room at an upscale motel rather than a true executive lobby.

Neither the primary in-house restaurant (more of a pub) or room service were noteworthy either - good enough, but completely forgettable and somewhat overpriced.

My stay was fine for a solo, expense-account business trip, but if I were spending my own money and travelling either as a couple or with my family, I would seriously consider spending just a little more to stay at one of the newer hotels a little further up Michigan Avenue, closer to Navy Pair and the Magnificent Mile.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowkarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments as it relates to your recent stay. We are pleased to hear your room accommodations were comfortable. The Hilton Chicago is old and full of character just as you mentioned. Many of guests have been known to call us the “Grand old Dame” due to the character and all of the history the hotel is known for. With this being said, I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we are very excited about our 1st phase of a renovations project that we are currently undergoing which includes restaurant, lounge and some guest room accommodations with new room amenities such as a refrigerator and a microwave that will be placed in the rooms. These exciting changes will bring new and modern rooms and we can’t wait to hear feedback from all of our valued guests such as yourself so we truly hope you will visit us again in the future.
Please except our apologies on your dining experiences as it appears we fell short in meeting your expectations during your visit. Please know your experience does not exemplify the Hilton standards and that we at the Hilton Chicago take it very seriously when we fail to meet our guest expectations.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here the week between Christmas and New Year's and had a wonderful experience! We had a two bed room with a pull-out couch on the Executive floor (well worth the extra expense I might add), which was more than enough room for our family. The concierge service and executive lounge amenities really made the difference for us. The hotel was so quiet during our stay, we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. The staff and service were top-notch as well-especially the housekeeping staff. In addition, our childrenloved the pool and hot tub in the health club! We would definitely stay at this hotel when in Chicago again!

Room Tip: Spend the extra to stay on the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your great comments as it relates to your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff and of your room accommodations. We are also delighted to hear the children loved the pool and hot tub! We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We are very excited to know we can expect you and your family back and we look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here on business and had to share a room with a colleague. But as it turned out, not only did the 'suite' have two double beds, but also two bathrooms, which made everything a lot easier. The room was pretty small, but nicely appointed in citified Hilton style.

Well located, right on Michigan Avenue, (about a 10 minute walk from the train) the lower public areas are pretty impressive, with big marble staircases, et al. The coffee bar (serving Starbucks brew) drew a long line every morning, but that was still a better option than the typical $20 hotel breakfast. I'll NEVER get over paying so much for internet access in full service hotels, and don't stay in such places enough to achieve Gold status so I don't have to. That said, in the category of big city hotel stays, this was a good one.

Room Tip: If you need two beds, see if you can get one of the rooms with two baths as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments from your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your appreciation of your double bed, double bath room accommodations. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,
Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Frequent traveler who has stayed at this hotel twice for conventions. Choose to stay for a family trip to Chicago anf was very dissapointed with lack of service from staff and noise from construction/renovations in hotel. Will not stay again at this location when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubusinesstraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. Please except our sincerest apologies for the lack of service you experienced as well as the construction noise from the renovation project we are currently undergoing. We at the Hilton Chicago take it very seriously when we fail to meet the expectations of our guests and ask that you please pardon us during this time.
We truly hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future with the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton is known.
Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This expansive, ornate hotel provided a lovely stay for my husband and I over a weekend in early December 2011. The rooms are tasteful, quiet and comfortable, and the staff is efficient and pleasant. Just a few blocks south of Millenium Park and the Art Institute, Hilton Chicago is also close to many of Chicago's architectural treasures, as well as to the train from Midway. Conveniences such as the pharmacy, liquor store and a Trader Joe's are also nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city or towards the lake when booking or registering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimkfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris A, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share you wonderful comments. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your room accommodations and found our location convenient to all the surrounding places such as shopping, touring and eating. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,855 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,067 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 190 in Chicago
6,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing