We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect to pay for everything”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 January 2014

While the Chicago Hilton is glorious, has amazing views, and is centrally located, you have to pay for everything extra! Want wi-fi? It's free - in the lobby. If you pay for it, you only get it in your room, not the entire hotel. And you only get it on the one device you sign up with. Need to check your bag? Cash only. And while I expect everything at a hotel to be overpriced, this goes beyond expectations. With that said, the staff is courteous and helpful (except for the bag check guys who were extremely grumpy - don't try to access your bag once it's checked unless you plan on taking it with you), the rooms and the hotel are clean, and it is the swankiest hotel I've ever been in. The grand ballroom is fit for a king. And if you like history, watch the tv in the elevator or find the Hilton channel on your tv for the history of the Chicago Hilton.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as it relates to your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you found our hotel glorious and of your appreciation with our staff.
Please accept my sincerest apology for the disappointments you experienced especially, as it relates to the added charges. We work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricing for the downtown area and appreciate your feedback as it is feedback such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for any necessary re-training and improvements
We look forward to welcoming you back to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,055 - 3,061 of 5,236 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great stay! Gave us a complimentary update because it was our anniversary! Check in and out was great. Also, whenever we called down for anything (we needed a set of forks, wine glasses, extra towels) they sent someone out to us almost instantly. Lastly - we ran into our housekeeper during our stay and she was extremely personable and made sure we had everything we needed! Great staff and great stay. :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Chan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were in Chicago for a wedding with a few extra days for sightseeing. The wedding block was full at a neighboring hotel, so I found a great deal online for the Hilton Chicago. It ended up being cheaper than the wedding block at the hotel next door, and we felt it was a reasonable price.

Our room had two double beds, two closets, and two full bathrooms. The extra bathroom was a surprise, but it was very useful with two adults and two kids getting ready for a wedding plus a few days of sightseeing. Everything was very clean and the furnishings were what you would expect from Hilton. The room was on the smaller side, but it is an older hotel, and our family of four found we had adequate room.

The atmosphere of the hotel was comfortable. High end without feeling too posh. I felt fine in tourist attire, though there were a lot of business people around as well. The staff was professional and friendly.

The pool area was large and acceptable. It is probably more well suited to adults as it is set up with lanes, but our kids enjoyed swimming there.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for a visit to Chicago. Its proximity to the museums and lake combined with the hotel features make it a great choice.

Room Tip: If travelling with more than two people, take advantage of the rooms with a second bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler51680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We chose the Chicago Hilton because of its location. We liked the parking package that we added so we could enter/exit as often as we needed. We booked online which was quick and easy and we had many options from which to choose.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Fantastic stay! Hotel employees were very friendly and helpful! A very good 'getaway' for the family! Hotel is close to just about everything one could do in Chicago! Hot-tub/pool area was great! Kids loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Thanks to the Hilton and great staff working there, the trip to Chicago for my grandson and me was not only wonderful but outstanding. I especially wanted my 12 year old grandson to see what a great city Chicago is and the Hilton helped in every aspect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked the Hilton on South Michigan Avenue as we had some airmiles to stay (so it was the most 'affordable' choice for us). Location wise is it really a no brainer - its on South Michigan Avenue - a 10-15 minute walking distance to the Art Gallery and Millenium Park. You could probably walk all the way to the Mag Mile - if the weather was good and you were that way inclined. But you could just as easily hop on a bus.
About the Hotel - lovely lobby and bar/restaurant area - didn't really eat in, but looked busy particularly at breakfast. Jeffery at check in was really very sweet and helpful. The room was on the 22nd floor (The Executive Floor) - but don't let the name fool you! We were assigned a "City View Room" which was lovely as we had a clear unobstructed view of the Willis Tower. "Lake View Rooms" were $30 more expensive. Not really worth it for a 2 night stay! The room was decent sized - good enough for a couple. But most disappointingly - no mini bar or fridge or even coffee maker!! We called room service and they did bring in the coffee maker - but we would have to pay $40 a night for a fridge!!! Slightly ridiculous considering even the most basic hotels the world over have a fridge (however tiny!) - the explanation we were offered was that they had just undergone renovations and were in the middle of replenishing the rooms!? Anyway, wouldn't normally be a big deal but we had some Wisconsin cheese that needed refridgerating! Also, you can hear the subway (even 22 storeys up), but you block it out after a while. No big deal, unless you're a super light sleeper. Otherwise, a pretty decent hotel, good location, drivable and made affordable (with the miles).
P.S: It is $52 per day for parking (in the hotel carpark, which is also open to the public) - but they have in/out privilages - so you could drive to Soldier Field/Planetarium/Field Museum for a day trip (around 20 minutes drive south)

Room Tip: The room was on the 22nd floor (The Executive Floor) - but don't let the name fool you! We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to know that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
6,934 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £79 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing