We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My reference in Chicago”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #97 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sarzana, Italy
Level Contributor
389 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“My reference in Chicago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I've been three times into this Hilton and my stay was always above the expectation. It's situated in a very strategic area: by walk you can reach Grant park and the Sears tower. Last time I was there the concierge found and bought for us Bulls vs Cavaliers tickets, we had just to tell him our budget and we were really close to the players! Quality of the sleep is very good, rooms are big and comfortable. Continental breakfast can satisfy every taste. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriGio91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations of our guests.

I was delighted to hear you had very good sleep and found our accommodations big and comfortable!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,798
    1,556
    878
    382
    186
See reviews for
993
828
228
2,073
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I needed to stay in the city due to a heavy snow that made driving home to the suburbs impossible and the Hiton was able to provide both a room and transportation on very short notice. The Hilton and their staff turned a very difficult Chicago winter day into a mini vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations of our guests.

It’s wonderful to hear that an unexpected visit turned into a mini vacation for you!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

By all standards, the Hilton Chicago is an excellent bargain. I was particularly impressed by Franco, the Concierge. He and Robert went out of their way to insure a great stay. Service like this is becoming rare. It is refreshing to see people who still take pride in what they do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff especially from Franco and Robert! We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

For Christmas I told my retired parents I would "set them" up for an overnight in Chicago when they planned to visit for the Auto Show. My parents aren't world travelers nor are they experienced city driviers and they couldn't have been happier with their experience with the hotel. Very friendly and accomodating staff made them very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank juditho180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Hilton was a great place to stay. Have stayed there multiple times and would recommend. Great location, Bar was fun and lively. Only thing I would say is self park, valet parking is to expensive. This hotel is huge and surrounded by plenty of things to do and see. Great restaurants and close to museums. Great place for Chicago vacation

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for a 6-day long conference. This hotel is HUGE. It's overdue for a makeover. But on the other hand, I thought the older decor (on the guest floors, not the lobby) was quite charming, and I'm a little tired of the modern look everywhere else. The cleaning service was great, and the location is amazing. So close to the lake and museums. The gym is fantastic!! Best hotel gym I've ever used. Also has a nice inside pool, which was always busy. Since I was busy with the conference and it was cold outside, I didn't venture far from the hotel, and that turned out to be just fine. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms and on higher floors. I had a corner room which was nice and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estravel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Arrived to Chicago by train to Union Station. Taxi ride to hotel was about $7. Got to hotel about 5:30 on a Saturday. There was only one person in front of me at the check-in counter. I was quickly checked in. There was always someone by the main entrance off of Michigan in the hotel to guide people to where they needed to go in the hotel such as the check-in desk, restaurant, or meeting room.

I reserved a junior suite and asked for a remodeled room. As requested I got a junior suite on the 14th floor on the south side of the hotel with a partial view of Lake Michigan. The remodeled floors are very nice. Make sure and request one while staying here. Room was nice, with the coffee maker, mini fridge, and in-room safe, as the remodeled rooms should have. Very comfortable king (queen?) size bed. The noise from Michigan Ave & the L trains did not bother me. I am use to city noise so if you are from a more rural area this may be more of an issue for you.

The hotel itself is amazing. Take the extra hour to walk around the 1st and 2nd floors of the ballroom, common areas, restaurants & bars, and snack areas. Many areas to explore including a hotel history room directly to the right if you are walking in the main entrance. It has many pictures & news paper articles from the hotels history including many presidents and international dignitary's that have stayed there. There are many different elevators. Three banks. Each bank serves different floors. This helps to reduce waiting time. I never waited more then 30 seconds for an elevator. While I was there, there was a large wedding and some kind of awards show being held. This made for a busy lobby area on a couple evenings. However this is a business / meeting type hotel so one has to expect such an issue when staying here. Although I never used the restaurants, bars, or the snack area, I did browse through the snack area. Prices were very high, though I suspect on par with any other hotel of this class. They do have a custom coca-cola machine (100+ flavor combos) which lets you create your own mixes, which reminded me of the ones they have on some Royal Caribbean cruise ships. The pool area was nice, though it did close at 9:00pm during the week. There was also 2 hot tubs. I used this area 3 times during my 4 night stay, and it never had more then 6 other people in it.

A red line subway station is 2 - 3 blocks away, which from there you can connect to any of the loop trains. There is also a Lou Manatis pizza place 2 - 3 blocks away, which has the best deep dish pizza in the city.

I have read reviews on here from people who were disappointed or unhappy because of surprises. I think that is only because those people did not do their homework. Yes the hotel charges for internet... most 4 and 5 star hotels in major cities do. Still have not figured out why this is, since the motel 6 in BFE has it for free. The hotel also charges to use fitness center, though pool is free. Also well advertised here in previous reviews. If you are an HHonors member, do not upgrade to the members only floor... or whatever its called. It has NOT been remodeled. It was with the help of reading many reviews that I knew which kind of room to request and what to expect. Bottom line.... do your homework people and you wont be disappointed. I was very happy with my accommodations.

Room Tip: Request a room on a floor that has recently been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizzzkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments and to learn of your positive experience with the Hilton Chicago.
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations that our guests come to expect and deserve.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,509 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing