We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pros and cons”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #104 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As a conference location this is a beautiful old hotel and has lovely conference facilities. I traveled with my baby and spouse to this conference and had some issues with the experience - no crib was delievered to the room despite 4 requests (pre and during stay), the room had a table partially blocking the very small bathroom (also not baby friendly) and the room service menu was extremely limited and not very good. The food downstairs is good at the restaurants but if you are looking for the downtown Chicago experience or convenience this hotel is a bit of a trek to get to-and-from in the winter months. Staff was super fast at getting us extra towels, pillows, soap, although we had upgraded out room to get a refridgerator for baby food and this was not working until the last day we were there. The most wonderful person we encountered was Robert in customer service, he helped resolve all the troubles quickly and empathetically. Thank you Robert! Without him I would not have as positive experience at this location. If rated between 1-5 stars, I would give this location a 3.5 for the reasons above.

Room Tip: ask for a lake-view room and a higher floor. there are certain rooms that have been upgraded, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear you found us to have lovely conference facilities. It was also a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from Robert.
Please accept my sincerest apology for the disappointments you experienced especially, as it relates to a crib not being delivered despite your numerous requests. Please be assured, this is not typical standards of the Hilton Chicago. With this being said, I have addressed this with the department head to ensure such incidents are not repeated. We appreciate your feedback, as it is feedback such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for and necessary re-training and improvements.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,103 - 3,109 of 5,342 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Chicago. The hotel has a great history, being once the largest hotel in the world, a US Army barracks during the war etc.

Where I was let down was the conditions of the actual rooms. After checking in as a Hilton HH Gold member I was upgraded to an Executive room on level 24 although this turned out to be old, small and viewless with a basic shower over bath & curtain type setup. Even with lower expectations of US hotels room vs Asia this was unimpressive, especially after a supposed upgrade.

So I spent as little time in my room as possible, mainly attending our company conference in the grand, historic and well run event facilities.

The gym was excellent, with the latest LifeFitness equipment, free weights an aths track, pool, spa and sauna.

For the price it's hard to argue with what was provided but with1544 rooms on-site I was surprised with how my loyalty was rewarded.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mekanoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for being a loyal guest of the Hilton brands. It was a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our gym excellent!
Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment in us not meeting your expectations as it relates to your room accommodations. Please be assured, our goal is to always provide the best possible experience to all of our valued guests.
Please allow me to inform you we recently renovated some of our guestrooms and have more renovations planned for the future and hope you will visit us again and come enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms.
We truly hope you will allow us future opportunity of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I've been coming to the Hilton for the last 24 years -the Midwinter dental convention - my stay has always been pleasant. Especially like the dual bathrooms when I share a room with a colleague. I never fill out forms or do reviews but I felt compelled to say what a real gem I found in Darnella Harper. I was graciously extended hospitality on the executive floor. When I entered the lounge Darnella told me I looked very nice and asked my name it was such a sweet and lovely touch I just had to hug her. I had noticed her at breakfast and saw how attentive she was to everyone's needs. The security guard who let me in when I locked my keys in and the maintenance person who had to exchange my coffee maker couldn't have been nicer.

Room Tip: Request dual bathrooms when traveling with a companion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff and especially, Darnella. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

1. Excellent service from the front desk, to security (safe deposit boxes), to waitstaff in restaurant.
2. Fantastic location next to park and near museums. Short cab ride to Magnificent mile, Sears tower (it will always be the Sears tower), Little Italy, etc.
3. Granted it is a classic Chicagoan hotel (unbelievable external architecture) but room was cramped (had to squeeze between bed and dresser) and bathroom a little outdated,
One other item: self parking was inconvenient, did not give one a comfortable sense of security, and would have been outrageously expensive at $52 if we did not have it in a package.
No safes in the room, but they have secure safe deposit boxes by the front desk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hschatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our location and with the quality of service you received from our staff. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations of our guests.

Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment with your room accommodations and parking charges. Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricing for the downtown area. Also, please allow me to take his opportunity to inform you that we recently underwent a renovations project that included some of our guestrooms accommodation with future renovations planned for the near future. These new exciting changes are bringing new amenities such as an in-room safe and a refrigerator so we hope you will visit us again and come enjoy these new changes happening to the Hilton Chicago!
We truly hope you will allow us future opportunity of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Staid there for a company conference over 3 days and was very impressed with the overall hotel design. The grand ball room was beautiful, the detail and design wonderful. It was however a little dated in the general areas.

The food was OK, bearing in mind that we mostly had breakfast and lunches organised for around 1700 people. Perhaps this was down to different habits and preferences to the ones in UK.

The room I stayed it had two double beds and two bathrooms which was odd for only one person staying there :) But it was clean and it had a little tea and coffee making machine which came in very handy first thing in the morning waking up and just before going to bed with a nice cup of camomile tea.

The staff was very helpful considering the size of the event and from a participant perspective, they managed well.

I am not sure however if I would stay there during a non business trip. Perhaps just "not my cup of tea" :)

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not next to the housekeeping one as they do make a bit of noise in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay.

It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our grand ballroom and with the quality of service you received from our staff. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations of our guests.

We truly hope you will allow us future opportunity of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

this hotel has fabulous employees, they were helpful smiling and they made me feel at home. all employees I met were happy and willing to help anyone at the conference and the hotel was full for this conference, so they were all working hard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Manda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I've been three times into this Hilton and my stay was always above the expectation. It's situated in a very strategic area: by walk you can reach Grant park and the Sears tower. Last time I was there the concierge found and bought for us Bulls vs Cavaliers tickets, we had just to tell him our budget and we were really close to the players! Quality of the sleep is very good, rooms are big and comfortable. Continental breakfast can satisfy every taste. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GriGio91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting the expectations of our guests.

I was delighted to hear you had very good sleep and found our accommodations big and comfortable!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 192 in Chicago
7,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £82 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing