We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird Rooms”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you are going with a significant other make sure you don't end up in their double room like my husband and I did. The beds are fulls, no queens, so we couldn't fit in one bed. They have two bathrooms, which my husband loved but I thought it was a total waste of space! I would have much rather shared a bed then had my own shower. The hotel is very nice and perfect location... if it wasn't for the weird room I would have loved it!

Room Tip: If you reserve a king, push them to give you one. We didn't and regretted it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our nice hotel, perfect location and the two bathrooms. Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment with the beds in your room accommodations.
We look forward to serving you for many more years in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,876 - 2,882 of 5,232 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

The rooms are smaller and service is average. Staff are not courtious. The very first person who we met during check in is the parking staff at lobby and are not allowing to touch our own luggage and say they deliver the baggage to our room but with charge. Everything is like self service, less personal attention and service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank yathindrakumarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointments with the level of service and lack of personal attention you received. Please be assured, this is not the normal level of service we provide and are known for. Our main priority is for all our guests to have a welcoming and comfortable stay with us.
We look forward to serving you for many more years in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is probably one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. Very accommodating staff....all pleasant to deal with. Would highly recommend this hotel if visiting the Chicago area. Everyone from the valet service to the front desk, to housekeeping delivering towels to our room....they all had pleasant attitudes and went out of their way to make sure the stay was wonderful. Hotel is very clean and rooms are spacious. Breakfast was excellent and would highly recommend the Chicago Family Fun Package for this hotel...great value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nicholas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel and the quality of service you received from our staff especially, Valet, Front Desk and Housekeeping. I am pleased to hear you had an excellent breakfast and you found your room clean and spacious.
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your future visits and the opportunity to serve you for many more years in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Doug, at front desk, very welcoming and accommodating. Concierge also patient and helpful. Great remodeled business suite room. Fantastic views of Lake Michigan. Will stay at the Hilton Chicago again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn you had a great stay and of your appreciation with our remodeled rooms and the quality of service you received from our staff especially, Doug and Concierge. I am pleased to hear you had a fantastic view and you will stay with is again.
We look forward to your future visits and the opportunity to serve you for many more years in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

refurbished room, interesting history, food was very good. elevators were fast. excellent gym, really the best hotel gym I've ever seen, brand new, had plenty of free weights and even kettlebells. stayed for a conference. very interesting walks along lake michigan and the parks. short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It was a pleasure to learn of your appreciation of our historical, great hotel and nice location. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your newly renovated room, good food and our athletic club with all its newly upgraded equipment. We have a hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it’s always good to hear we are meeting the expectations of our guest.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over a perfect weather weekend for a bachelor party. We had 3 rooms, and all three of them were completely different. I've stayed in plenty of four star hotels, and this one by far had the largest rooms. We chose the hotel because of the price, not the location. If you're looking to be situated in River North/Michigan Ave, know that it's about a 30 minute walk or a $10 can fare. Staff was excellent, particularly the bell hops. I would definitely stay here again (or the Palmer House, which is another old classic Chicago Hilton) next time I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawnathan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It was a pleasure to learn of your appreciation of our historical hotel and the quality of service you received from our staff especially, the bell hops. I was also pleased to hear you appreciated the size of your room and that you would definitely stay with us again.
We have a hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it’s always good to hear we are meeting the expectations of our guest.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My family of four (with kids ages 2 and 7) stayed here for two weekend nights on the "Family Fun" package. With a $25/night upgrade, we were provided with one of the Hilton's renovated/updated rooms that was a little larger than standard and provided two full bathrooms. While my telephone call inquiries with a few questions before our stay were only average, at best, with mediocre customer service, upon arrival the service was stellar. We arrived around 5 pm on a Friday, self-parked and gathered our several bags and headed down the parking garage elevator to find several luggage carts in the valet area. We loaded all of our belongings onto the cart only to be told that the bellhops were the only ones allowed to use the carts. We had our laptops with us and were not that thrilled about this (we simply don't have a problem "serving" ourselves - don't usually valet and don't usually request assistance with bags). After a long day in the museums, we let them take care of our bags grabbing our laptop bags.

There was a long line at the registration desk, but being Hilton Honors members, we were in a short line of only two guests. I felt a little bad for the non-member guests as when one of their customer service reps became available, they called me over to check in! Good for me, but... Checking in was seamless with a welcome as a Hilton Honors member, our wifi code provided, breakfast vouchers provided and parking validated and confirmed that it was "in and out" parking.

Our room was beyond our satisfaction. Everything including the window sills was clean. The beds were fairly comfortable. Extra pillows were requested (I use them under the sheets to make sure the kids don't fall off the bed) and were there upon arrival, as were a couple extra towels. The kids were thrilled with the second bathroom (we only have one at home). We were a little freaked out with the "Welcome" and my name on the computer screen at the desk, but it was a nice touch. We were unsure if using the computer was an extra fee, so we just left it alone. The room was extremely hot upon our arrival, so we called guest services as our thermostat was not working. Within five minutes, an "Engineering" service rep arrived and fixed it. We had plans that evening and left the room quickly. Exiting the parking was easy with no problems. Arriving back at the hotel with our validated parking ticket was no problem either.

The only "issue" we had at the hotel was a terrible dining recommendation. It was late and we needed a "family friendly" restaurant with an open bar to meet family and take our children to eat dinner. Losing an hour coming to Chicago, it really was extremely late and we didn't have time to walk around or search online for a place to go. "Jimmy Green's" was suggested by the bellhop/valet as a family friendly (I confirmed with him twice! and asked if they had a kids menu) sports bar with a great beer selection and good food and that it was only two blocks away. Technically being four blocks away and, upon arrival, discovering that it was a sports bar with horrible dance club music (it wasn't even good electronic music!), we left as soon as our in-town family arrived. We were extremely disappointed that the hotel would send us somewhere was clearly NOT family friendly considering we had a toddler in a stroller!? We ended up at the pizza place a couple doors down, which was more than accommodating.

The following morning, we took advantage of our included breakfast downstairs. Turned out it was a buffet, which was one of the best breakfast buffets we have been to. Scrambled eggs, omelets made to order, pancakes and hot syrup, oatmeal with a multitude of toppings, dumplings and rice, sausage and bacon, a full fruit bar, yogurt, milk, homemade breads, muffins and croissants and we were served orange juice and coffee. The coffee was horrible, but the service was great as was the food.

Saturday night, in-town friends stayed with our children so we could attend a family member's graduation commencement. They enjoyed a swim in the pool and time in the hot tub. They're only complaint was that the pool is divided into lanes, two of which are set up for laps only leaving one lane available for leisure swimming/playing. Towels were provided at the pool and while the pool was a little chilly for the kids, it was enjoyed for a little while.

Sunday morning breakfast was tricky. It was only being served until 10 am due to their Mother's Day brunch. We arrived at the restaurant at 9:40 and were told the buffet was closing in 5 minutes and there was a 10 minute wait for a table, so we were kind of out of luck. However, the hostess was gracious enough to provide us with to-go containers and get us orange juice to go. So, we piled up an assortment of food and another server brought us a bag with plastic ware in it. And, the manager made sure we had everything we needed. It really was a nice accommodation for us. So, we headed back to our room to eat.

Checking out was easy with one phone call as our bill (or folio) was all set.

The Hilton Chicago is located about one mile south of the river (where the "Magnificent Mile" begins). If you are looking to stay amongst the hustle and bustle, you need to stay in a hotel more north of here. For a family with kids who drove to down and needed a reasonable rate and parking, this hotel was perfect! We will definitely be back if the Hilton continues their Family Fun package!

Sorry the review is so long. It was truly a great stay, though and wanted to make sure all details were included (I appreciate thorough reviews on TripAdvisor and hope you do as well!).

Room Tip: Upgrade to a "business" grade room (was $25/night for us) was worth it. I was told by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmw1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed comments regarding your recent stay and for being a HHonors member. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation our historical, beautiful hotel, convenient location and the quality of service you received from our staff. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your two bathroom room accommodations and our breakfast buffet.
Please accept my sincere apology for the unfavorable dining recommendation you were given seeing you were with children. I am pleased to hear you were able to locate a nearby suitable restaurant for you and your family.
We are very proud and dedicated to our Green programs and will continue our efforts on our commitment to the Green environment.
We are pleased to hear you will definitely return and we look forward to serving you for many more years in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
6,928 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £79 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing