We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanky!!!”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #106 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This property is absolutely amazing! The staff offer customer service that is generous without being overbearing!!! The property is walking distance to restaurants, and to the shores of Lake Michigan! If you like to use the train system in Chicago there is a red line station just steps from the hotel! The decor offer contemporary styles and captures old Chicago in the main lobby area! It is pricey but good deals can be had if you do research!!! My room had two queen beds and TWO FULL BATHROOMS!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KThom_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to learn of your appreciation of our amazing hotel and its location to the surrounding restaurants, park and Lake Michigan and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotels décor and your 2 beds, 2 baths room accommodations.

We look forward to serving you for many more years in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,020 - 3,026 of 5,414 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

It's rare that I take the time to write a commendation letter to hotel management, but after my stay at the Chicago Hilton this past week I decided to because the service was so good, from so many.

Aside from what I covered in the letter to mgmt:

Awesome Bed (and as someone below noted) Amazing Pillows.

Lakefront Room. Worth it. Worth it worth it.

Executive Concierge Level Roon. Worth it, worth it, worth it. Especially when you factor in what a standard continental breakfast with coffee, juice, toast, bagels, eggs, fresh fruit, and pastries would cost. Not to mention really enjoyable hor's doeuvres nightly. Some examples: Spinach wontons, with 3 dips: hummus, bābā ghannūj, and spinach artichoke. Another night was a spiced chicken wonton with teriyaki, and a meat but served dim sum style.
Note - unlike some hotels this Hilton does charge for alcoholic bevs in the executive lounge, but
given the high operating costs in a big city, and the quality and ample supply of the food and non alc bev, its completely reasonable in my opinion.

Older rooms as mentioned below, but very quiet, and very clean including the bathroom.

There were SO many excellent staff that assisted us during our stay I took the time to write to front desk and GM to specifically mention a few who went over and above.

George Sous - Front Desk Admin

Jeffrey Breslin - Front Desk

Darnella - Executive Lounge attending staff

And finally, the nightly 'rock' of our stay was Franco at the Executive Concierge Desk on our 24th Floor. His impeccable recommendations for dining, sightseeing, and shopping made for our most enjoyable Chicago experience to date!

We will not consider staying anywhere else in Chicago and considering the competition that is quite a complement. And all the credit goes to those I have mentioned here, and the many others with whom we interacted less directly, but nonetheless warmly and professionally throughout the week.

Room Tip: Lake view, higher floors to avoid city noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Chicago for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments.
It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our grand historic hotel and with the quality of service you received from our excellent staff especially, Franco, George, Jeffrey and Darnella. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your executive floor lake view room accommodations with the awesome bed and amazing pillows and of your appreciation of the food selections and service you received on our executive floor lounge.
Thank you for recognizing our environmentally friendly practices. We too are very proud and dedicated to our continual efforts to the Green environment!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.
Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I've stayed here a couple times when I was in Chicago. I thought the hotel was in a good location, of course on Michigan Ave, it's close to a lot of attractions. The rooms were very spacious and we were able to have two bathrooms in our room, which was great for us! I found the staff very friendly as well. The only negative thing would be the cost for parking. It was about $20 a day. We didn't drive much in Chicago (due to parking costs, traffic, and accessible transportation). I found the cost to park the car was a bit expensive; however, it was probably to be expected in a downtown Chicago hotel. Other than that, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmallory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Chicago for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our very nice hotel, its good location and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your spacious room accommodations with the two bathrooms.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.
Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed there for a business trip. My room was on the 20th floor facing the west. The hotel location was great. Close to subway stations. Sometimes you can hear the train. But just across from the Millennium Park. The hotel service was pretty good, and the breakfast in the conference ballroom had some good selections. What don't they have in the room? The Internet. Seriously! And the room rate does not include parking. That cost extra amount. Overall, the hotel is really overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Chicago for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago, our great location and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our great breakfast selections.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the added charges. Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricing for a large downtown area hotel for our products and services such as parking and internet. Also, complimentary internet can be found in our lobby and restaurants.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.
Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel old and needs repairs and Guest service , many homeless asking for money don't exit main door , staff needs more training , it's Hilton but not living up to the Brand, seem you just a number in that place , didn;t like some get preference at check in and goodie bag

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointments during your recent visit. Please be assured, your experience at our main entrance is not the normal level of service the Hilton Chicago provides or is known for and that we take feedback such as yours very seriously and use the information to focus on opportunities for improvements and any necessary re-training.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.
Sincerely,

Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Impressive Historic Hotel. Great location, clean, good restaurants. I was upgraded to the business floor, which recently was renovated and i was very impress. All details are top notch and room are more spacious than other rooms. I even had two bathrooms on my king room, which was super nice, even when using only one. The executive floor comes very handy for breakfast and drinks in the late afternoon. Will recommend to anyone. The views to the lake and park are incredible.
Excellent job in the renovation.

Room Tip: High floors and away from elevator. Ask for Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our historical hotel, great location, incredible views and good restaurants. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your two bathroom guestroom and our executive floor lounge. I’m delighted to hear of your appreciation of our recent renovations and I thank you for recommending the Hilton Chicago!
We look forward to serving you for many more years in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Arrived at the hotel with a mix up in reservations. They then proceeded to charge us with the ridiculous room rate of US$339 plus tax without honoring the previous US$250 plus tax rate. Total room rate came out to be US$394.60. We had thought the room rate was only for our first night and that our old rate will be honored for the next 2 nights - but these charges remained for the next 3 nights.

As a Hilton Honors member and with the room rate of US$394.60, we had thought the rooms would include internet. But Hilton Chicago not only do not give free internets in their rooms even with their ridiculously high room rate, but rooms do not even provide amenities such as razor blades, toothbrush kits, vanity kits. Rooms are old and need updating. This room rate does not even include breakfast !! Breakfasts go for a ridiculous rate of US$21 plus tax with poor selections.

They not only messed up with reservations but messed up with our check out dates. They were informed twice on our check out dates and we still found ourselves unable to enter our rooms as our keys have been canceled.

Even when rooms are fully booked at the Hilton Chicago because of their promiximity to the convention center, it still is part of Hilton hotels and contributes a very poor image of what the Hilton group represents. The Hilton Group should take more care of their members as there are other hotel chains out there that are doing a much better job than Hilton Chicago.

Overall, staying at the Hilton Chicago was inconvenient, uncomfortable, and stressful. We will not return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It appears that we fell short in meeting your expectations during your visit and for this I sincerely apologize. It is evident that there were a number of issues you experienced which caused your disappointments of the Hilton Chicago especially as it relates to your room accommodations, reservation dates and internet. Please know we take feedback such as yours very seriously and use the information to focus on opportunities for improvements and training.
Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricing for a large downtown area hotel for our services and products. Also, please allow me to take this opportunity to inform you we recently completed a renovations project of some of our guestrooms with more planned for the near future. These newly remodeled guestrooms are bringing new amenities such as a refrigerator and an in-room safe just to mention a few and we truly hope you will visit us again and come enjoy one of our newly decorated rooms.
We truly hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future in the true spirit of hospitality, for which Hilton Hotels are known.
Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#91 of 191 in Chicago
7,179 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £84 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing