We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in Chicago”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #101 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay in Chicago”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and the recently renovated rooms are wonderful. Most recently my son and I stayed there and we had a great room, the beds were very comfortable, and the service was fantastic. I love the location, we could easily walk to the Field Museum and other attractions. The restaurant is good, and I really like the cafe where you can buy sandwiches and snacks, and the bar is a nice place to meet up with friends. I also love the pool -- it's large and not over-chlorinated.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel, convenient location and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your room accommodations with the comfortable bed, restaurant, SNAX, our grab and go store and our pool. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
I am pleased to hear we are your favorite place to stay in Chicago!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,859
    1,594
    907
    401
    196
See reviews for
1,027
853
236
2,147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel was beautiful, our room was clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's in a good location and we got a decent rate for downtown Chicago. The only thing I would wish differently was that for the size of the room, we would have been more comfortable with queen sized beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Britra0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our beautiful hotel, good location and with the quality of service you received from our friendly staff. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manor, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We had renovated business class rooms. Very nice. Bed very comfortable. Be sure your husband's name is also on your reservation. I made it in my name. Husband accidentally locked out while I was away. Security wouldn't let him back in until I called the front desk to add him to reservation. Otherwise, service was outstanding. Antonio the bellman and Dorcela in executive lounge really stood out being helpful. Loved this hotel! Excellent restaurants within walking distance. Very close to Lake Michigan. Marble and chandeliers are stunning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iliketoea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel with stunning marble and chandeliers, convenient location and with the outstanding service you received from our staff especially, Antonio and Darnella. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

From check-in to check-out, we had a wonderful experience with no problems. Checked in and asked for an upgrade with our Hilton Rewards and were easily given one. They are renovating floors and we ended up with a newly renovated room with two bathrooms and it was beautiful. Beds were comfy and rooms were spotless. Lobby and restaurants were also very beautiful and the breakfast (which was included with our promo I found online) was out of this world. Delicious buffet with anything you could want. Concierge service was top-notch and they helped us find kid-friendly restaurants and attractions for our sons (ages 10 & 7). I'd highly recommend the Hilton Chicago. I'll stay here again when we visit. My only (small) complaint is the pool is a lap pool and they only left one lane open for kids/families to swim and no one was swimming in the lanes. It was way too crowded so we left.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you are a Hilton Honors Member. They accommodated us. Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loomomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel and with the top-notch service you received from our Concierge. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our restaurant with the delicious buffet, lobby, and your beautiful newly renovated room accommodations with the two bathrooms. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment with our designated pool lanes.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As a Diamond member, I wanted to post a review about the excellent service we received in the Executive Lounge by Darnella Harper. She was extremely attentive and a pleasure to see each day. Great attitude and truly an example of the Hilton brand. She is a true keeper at the Hilton Chicago.

The hotel is rich in history and very well maintained. Within walking distance to the park and lake as well as other attractions.

Thanks,
Boris

Room Tip: I would recommend you select a lake view room. Bright in the mornings and nice to see the lake whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago, convenient location and with the quality of service you received from our staff especially, Darnella. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Staying on one of the executive floors in this hotel was very nice, especially the executive lounge and Wanda, Emily and Angie who take care of the lounge. They were extremely helpful and friendly every day.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been upgraded and others haven't; ask for one that has been.
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle plastic, paper and metal, and even the soap is recycled for use in other countries that need it. They also have a roof garden with vegetables growing.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our executive level lounge and with the quality of service you received from our staff especially, Wanda, Emily and Angie. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
Thank you for noticing our Green features and practices. We are very proud and dedicated to our continual efforts to the Green environment!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
316 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Located across the street from Grant Park, this historic 1927 hotel is convenient to many things. From our window, we could see the fireworks at the Navy Pier. The room was luxurious and there was a nice indoor pool/hot tub located in the athletic facility. We were able to get a special rate that included free parking. This is a large, convention type hotel with over 1,500 rooms. The first night we stayed, there were several weddings and a big convention. However, by the second night, most of those people had checked out so it wasn't nearly as crowded. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our beautiful hotel and great location. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our athletic club and your luxurious room accommodations with a view to Navy Pier. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#133 of 189 in Chicago
1,959 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 189 in Chicago
8,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,048 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing