We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prefer more recent Hilton properties”
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #104 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Here for a convention. Historic property, so that was interesting, but in my experience that usually further translates into a smaller room/bathroom. Great sleep/good mattress. Helpful and friendly staff. Good convention facilities and super location.So everything was pretty good except I wasn't crazy about my room (although it wasn't bad) - I've just had bettter Hilton experiences.

Chicago deep dish pizza! Where have you been all my life?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomFlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago, great location and with the quality of service you received from our helpful and friendly staff.
We recently completed a renovations project on some of our guestrooms with more rooms planned for the near future. These renovations brought new amenities such as in-room safes and refrigerators so we truly hope you will visit us again and come enjoy a newly remodeled room.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,841 - 2,847 of 5,346 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a large well appointed room with a lake view but it was very noisy with South Michigan Avenue in the front. I haven't been to Chicago for about 4 years but the traffic really seems to have increased a lot making sleep difficult. The room had been modernised and was very large with 2 large beds and 2 bathrooms, however housekeeping was poor with towels not being provided and toiletries not being left on a regular basis. The corridor outside was not hoovered for a few days either. I'm not sure I would stay again unless I got a great deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchester21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the disappointments you experienced during your stay especially, with the disruptive street noise and Housekeeping issues. Please be assured, your experiences are not the normal high level of services we provide or are known for. Our goal is to always provide the best possible services our guests come to expect and deserve.
We appreciate your feedback as it is feedback such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for improvements.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

For this hotel the room my son & I had was low-end. The room was basically clean and the beds were decent. It was in the middle of Chicago downtown. The room lacked many things which people in Kansas get without extra charges (ie. internet access, bathroom fan, sufficient furniture; tables for bags, etc.). Sorry Chicago, you gouge the heck out of people on parking!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment as it relates to our added charges. Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricing for a large downtown area hotel on our products and services. Our goal is to always provide the best possible services our guests come to expect and deserve.
Please allow me to inform you, we recently completed a renovations project on some of our guestrooms with more rooms planned for the near future. These renovations brought new amenities such as in-room safes and refrigerators so we truly hope you will visit us again and come enjoy a newly remodeled room.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A wonderful, stately and grand hotel that never disappoints. It is in a great location with excellent amenities including a great pool, a fully equipped fitness center and an outdoor sun deck. It is also close to the lakefront for a walk or run and nearby to the museums and parks. Rooms are nice although I was fortunate to get a great deal on a suite that was large and had a great lake view. Another perk is that the hotel is much quieter than some of the Magnificent Mile hotels. Sirens and road noise is at a minimum. All in all, a great stay for two nights at a great hotel, which I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk for a room that meets your preferences and my experience is that it will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our wonderful, stately hotel in a great location. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your suite accommodations with the great lake view. I was also pleased to hear you enjoyed our pool and athletic club and that you will highly recommend the Hilton Chicago! It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
Thank you for noticing our Green features and practices. We are very proud and dedicated to our continual efforts to the Green environment!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were greeted by an excellent staff and were given great accomodations for our first family vacation. The location was elegant. Traveling 4th of July was outstanding to enjoy the Navy Pier and The Taste of Chicago.

Natalie
Temecula, California

Room Tip: Choose the Lake Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I was delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your accommodations and had an excellent stay. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A great hotel....no, a GRAND HOTEL....always enjoy staying at the Chicago Hilton & Towers...when in Chicago this is the STAY AT HOTEL for business or pleasure, and the family will thank you for it! Clean Rooms, wonderful staff and amenities, Grant Park and Lake Michigan views....can't beat it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our grand hotel and with the quality of service you received from our wonderful staff. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Chicago for your weekend getaway. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your room accommodations with the great views and that you always enjoy staying with us! It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I were in town to see a concert and chose this hotel because of the proximity to the venue, as well as other city attractions. The only good things about this hotel were the concierge (even thought we could never get them on the phone), Kitty O'Shea's pub and the double bathrooms in our room. The location was nice for our purposes. Other than that, our stay was very subpar. The things that contributed to the negative experience were: lady at the front desk was not friendly and seemed "put out" at our check-in, guests are not allowed to use the luggage carriers, there is a somewhat hefty cost for WiFi (even though I was told over the phone that we were getting it free but I didn't write down the person's name), the fridge that was in the room was removed and there is (you guessed it) a fee to have one, the air never got below 68 even though we had it set on 65, and guests have to pay to use the gym! When my husband called to inquire about the internet and fridge, the guest services lady argued with him about the fact that I had called the hotel to inquire about parking and internet! She was very rude. I understand that not all hotels offer things for free but I feel that if you're paying a higher price to stay in a nicer hotel, you should at least get free WiFi.

Room Tip: As for a view if that's important!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our location, Kitty O’sheas, your two bathroom room accommodations and with our Concierge.
Please accept my sincerest apology for the disappointments you experienced during your stay especially, with the level of service you received from our staff, your room accommodations, HVAC and internet/pool charges. Our goal is to always provide the best possible service our guests come to expect and deserve.
We recently completed a renovations project on some of our guestrooms with more rooms planned for the near future. These renovations brought new amenities such as in-room safes and refrigerators so we truly hope you will visit us again and come enjoy a newly remodeled room. Also, complimentary internet service can be found in out lobby and restaurants. Please be assured, I have spoken to the Director of Front Office and Director of Communications to ensure any necessary re-training of the staff takes place.
We appreciate your feedback as it is feedback such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for improvements and training.
We hope you will allow us future opportunity to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Address: 720 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £81 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing