We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel...Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #96 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel...Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and children stayed here a few months ago and I was told that our next trip to Chicago we would stay here. And we did. The hotel is beautiful, I believe they are in teh process of updating the old rooms, but we were comfortable. the beds were just what was needed after a long day of traveling. The key feature of this hotels is their restaurant 720! we arrived late, got checked in and proceeded to 720, The menu was good, ( I recommend the NY STRIP) absolutely amazing! The next day we explored downtown. This hotel is in an excellent location, If you like being near to just about everything then This is the place for you!

Room Tip: Not sure but if you are a Hilton Honors member, make sure you tell them. We stayed on the 22nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSC38nsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our beautiful hotel and excellent location. I was pleased to hear you found you room comfortable and enjoyed your dining experience at our 720 South Bar & Grill restaurant. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,771
    1,544
    873
    377
    183
See reviews for
985
820
226
2,045
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

After an early check in was requested we still were not able to check in at 3pm (Standard check in time). When I went to the desk to check on the status of the phone call we were supposed to be getting they told me to go standoff to the side. Only then did Antonio a bell hop come and ask how he could help. He was the most helpful person who actually somehow got us a room before the front desk even realized we were no longer standing where she had us off on the side. It was just very odd that a front desk worker with training would be less professional than the bell boy???? We do not often travel to the city and stay at a hotel we typically come home to Elmhurst. I remember this being a prestigious hotel as a kid and was proud to show it off to my fiancé. She and I were highly disappointed (Almost embarrassed of what it is vs. was) and will not be returning to this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Weston O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from Antonio.
Please accept my sincere apology for the disappointments you experienced during your check-in process especially, with your room not being available and the level of service you received from our Front Desk Staff. Please be assured, your experience is not the normal high level of service we provide or are known for and that I have spoken to the Director of Front Office to ensure any necessary re-training takes place.
We truly hope you will allow us the future opportunity to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton hotels are known.
Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Here for a convention. Historic property, so that was interesting, but in my experience that usually further translates into a smaller room/bathroom. Great sleep/good mattress. Helpful and friendly staff. Good convention facilities and super location.So everything was pretty good except I wasn't crazy about my room (although it wasn't bad) - I've just had bettter Hilton experiences.

Chicago deep dish pizza! Where have you been all my life?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandomFlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago, great location and with the quality of service you received from our helpful and friendly staff.
We recently completed a renovations project on some of our guestrooms with more rooms planned for the near future. These renovations brought new amenities such as in-room safes and refrigerators so we truly hope you will visit us again and come enjoy a newly remodeled room.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a large well appointed room with a lake view but it was very noisy with South Michigan Avenue in the front. I haven't been to Chicago for about 4 years but the traffic really seems to have increased a lot making sleep difficult. The room had been modernised and was very large with 2 large beds and 2 bathrooms, however housekeeping was poor with towels not being provided and toiletries not being left on a regular basis. The corridor outside was not hoovered for a few days either. I'm not sure I would stay again unless I got a great deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manchester21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the disappointments you experienced during your stay especially, with the disruptive street noise and Housekeeping issues. Please be assured, your experiences are not the normal high level of services we provide or are known for. Our goal is to always provide the best possible services our guests come to expect and deserve.
We appreciate your feedback as it is feedback such as yours that enables us to focus on opportunities for improvements.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

For this hotel the room my son & I had was low-end. The room was basically clean and the beds were decent. It was in the middle of Chicago downtown. The room lacked many things which people in Kansas get without extra charges (ie. internet access, bathroom fan, sufficient furniture; tables for bags, etc.). Sorry Chicago, you gouge the heck out of people on parking!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment as it relates to our added charges. Please be assured, we work hard to maintain one of the most competitive pricing for a large downtown area hotel on our products and services. Our goal is to always provide the best possible services our guests come to expect and deserve.
Please allow me to inform you, we recently completed a renovations project on some of our guestrooms with more rooms planned for the near future. These renovations brought new amenities such as in-room safes and refrigerators so we truly hope you will visit us again and come enjoy a newly remodeled room.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A wonderful, stately and grand hotel that never disappoints. It is in a great location with excellent amenities including a great pool, a fully equipped fitness center and an outdoor sun deck. It is also close to the lakefront for a walk or run and nearby to the museums and parks. Rooms are nice although I was fortunate to get a great deal on a suite that was large and had a great lake view. Another perk is that the hotel is much quieter than some of the Magnificent Mile hotels. Sirens and road noise is at a minimum. All in all, a great stay for two nights at a great hotel, which I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk for a room that meets your preferences and my experience is that it will be...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel recycles paper and plastics and tells about its environmental friendly practices in a video running in the elevators. Very interesting.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our wonderful, stately hotel in a great location. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your suite accommodations with the great lake view. I was also pleased to hear you enjoyed our pool and athletic club and that you will highly recommend the Hilton Chicago! It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
Thank you for noticing our Green features and practices. We are very proud and dedicated to our continual efforts to the Green environment!
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were greeted by an excellent staff and were given great accomodations for our first family vacation. The location was elegant. Traveling 4th of July was outstanding to enjoy the Navy Pier and The Taste of Chicago.

Natalie
Temecula, California

Room Tip: Choose the Lake Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of our hotel and with the quality of service you received from our staff. I was delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your accommodations and had an excellent stay. It is always good to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests come to expect and deserve.
We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Michael F. Hooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,398 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing