We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service, but the building is a bit old.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #98 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb service, but the building is a bit old.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

When I booked the Hilton through hotwire, I was skeptical because of it's so-so-reviews(plus I do not consider most Hiltons to be 4 star worthy). I called the hotel the day of my reservation to let them know I would need an earlier check in, and I wanted a larger than standard room with double beds for my friend, and did not mind paying for it when I arrived. The agent was very understanding on the phone and he assured me he would make the arrangements for me.

When I arrived at the front desk, true to the agent's word, there was a room ready for me at 1pm and the concierge told me he had definitely assigned me to a larger room and to call back if I needed something else. The room exceeded my expectations. There were 2 double beds like I had requested, but the best part was that it had two complete marble bathrooms i.e. with a sink, bath tub, and shower, toiletries, and extra towels. The agent also sent housekeeping up to set up a fresh pot of coffee, I guess because I had mentioned that I had a long flight in and a busy day ahead of me. I had not expected that and I was pleasantly surprised.

The decor definitely seemed a little outdated to me, but it did not bother me as much as it would have had it not been for the great service I experienced. On my way to check out, housekeeping saw me from a different hallway and actually wished me a safe journey!! That pretty much summed up how I felt about this Hilton location. They have wonderful employees and that makes it a 4 star hotel to me!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellows55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,797
    1,556
    877
    380
    186
See reviews for
992
828
228
2,070
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

I was here for a square dance convention being held at the hotel. The hotel staff were courteous, no problems with checking in, and checking out. The ballrooms that the dances were held at were gorgeous, specially the Inernational Ballroom. The food for the convention banquet was very good. I had a chicken breast for my entree and wasn't expecting much from chicken, but I was surprised at how flavorful and juicy it was.

I stayed in a corner King bedroom. It was clean and neat, not too big, but adequately sized. It had a great view of Grant park, right across the hotel.

The hotel is walking distance to a lot of downtown attractions, as well easy access to public transportation. I walked to Grant Park, Millennium Park, Willis Tower, Magnificent Mile, Chicago Cultural Center, Museum Campus...all 5 to 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank pinakbetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We were able to stay at this Hilton through bidding on Priceline. This is a great hotel if you are able to get a discount. I can't see myself paying full price for this hotel. The hotel is further south of Michigan Ave however, you can take the bus and it will take you right to the action further down Michigan. We had the king bed room that faced the Sears Tower on the Executive Level. The reviews are right about how small these rooms are. The hotel is extremely dated but clean. It was great for just a weekend. I did go to the pool area. It is filled with kids which made me not stay long. Lastly the concierge gave us passes to some great clubs. They gave us a pass that let us in Y Lounge and Sound Bar. We also got free admission and a drink to Enclave. You have to ask in order to receive. I can't say I would return to this hotel. I would rather be further north by all the action.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kryswithak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

pros:
- convenience to Grant Park, lake front, museums, restaurants
- friendly and helpful front desk ... much more like a concierge
- beautiful, grand, historic building
- Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries

cons:
- climate control poor for sleeping ... perhaps due to motion sensor and vent location
- bedding tangles up ... perhaps due to multiple sheets used in place of duvet covers
- out-dated room ... broken switches, no in-room safe, no bathroom vent/fan
- housekeeping quality inconsistent

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodHealthM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

This hotel focuses on convention/leisure activities rather than business -- any hotel that still charges for internet access clearly doesn't cater to business travelers! So, keep that in mind in selecting this hotel. The beautiful lobby, excellent convention halls, top-notch gym/pool facility and overall old-world charm certainly play to convention/leisure travel. The beds (my room had two doubles) were absolutely comfortable with great pillows. A/C worked perfectly. Room was very quiet. Plenty of elevators so little waiting. Very friendly staff and great cleaning service. Decent selection of TV channels and plenty of paid TV options. // So, what's the problem? Well, my room suffered from shoddy maintenance issues: The bathtub dripped (and I don't mean just a little); the sink faucet was coming loose; the cable to the TV kept the curtains from closing properly; the TV remote was missing upon arrival; the clock was set too fast (and can't be reset by you -- I had to call an engineer). The gym's Precor/Icarian equipment is some of the best, but you'll find minor maintenance issues such as broken pins. I heard other stories of similar minor maintenance issues going unfixed in other rooms. This seems to bear out my experience with other Hilton properties. This is a shame because this Hotel has so much going for it, including a convenient location with very good access to Chicago's subway system (the El), many near-by tourist destinations and good convention and local food choices.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARLVAGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

I am including parts of my letter to the Hilton which they refused to acknowledge or respond to:
Dear Hilton,
I am writing to express my stay at the Chicago Hilton during a business meeting from June 3 through June 7, 2010. I typically do not write letters to express my stay or concerns. This particular letter I am writing since I did not feel that the value of our stay met with the high expectations that should have been associated with the Hilton Hotels. .....
During our stay, we did request a non-smoking room. It was clear that the room was not as such..... It was acceptable, but not overly comfortable. What I did find dismay was that the accommodations and the service was sub-par. .....
The television was clearly outdated as a 500 pound CRT, leaving very little counter space for any belonging to be left out for convenience. I was somewhat surprised that updates had not happened as advertised with a flat screen television. Not only that, the television was broken. We had to call for service after putting up with a non-functioning remote for the first two nights when the remote finally just stopped working. The remote could not control the volume or the channels, despite the electrician coming on two separate nights and repairing the television, only to leave and have the television stop functioning again. It was just too disruptive to continue requesting his services.......
I would have expected that the maid service would offered better service unspoken. The usual complementary coffee and tea bar in the room was nice to have. But unfortunately, the maid never replaced any cups after we used up the 4 that were provided on the first day. We thought this may have been a slight oversight, but when it was not adjusted the third and fourth night, we just did not bother. Similarly, when we ran short of Kleenex tissue on the second day; we thought it would be replaced the next day. I had to guess again.
I am sorry to bring this to your attention, but I am sad to say that we did not find value in our stay or worth in the price. We are previous members of the Hilton Gold club, although we realized that we had let if lapse over the last 3-4 years. We have stayed many times at Embassy Suites and Doubletree, finding great value for the money and more than adequate accommodations. I am sad to say not with our most recent stay.
For your records, we stayed in Rm 1918 during the above mentioned dates.

Maybe the Hilton will respond or others will find the same and the managment will respond appropriately.

I do not think I will stay her again. There are just too many other hotels in the area that offer better service and accommodations ie the Intercontennetal down the ave.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Very impressed with the ambience of this hotel. The entrance off Michigan Ave was stunning. The chandeliers, grand ball room, winding staircase- all magnificent to see. Check in was quick and easy. We stayed on the executive floor - never had to wait more than 30 seconds for an elevator. All staff were quite pleasant and cordial. Especially the afternoon attendent in the executive lounge (didn't catch her name, but she is there every evening except Mondays and Tuesdays)!
Room size was adequate. We had enough space to leave the roll-a-way bed open the entire time. Can't stress enough how comfortable the beds were! Elegant drapes and bedspreads. We had 2 bathrooms - one had a window which opened about 4 inches - nice for ventilation. We could see Buckingham Fountain from our room. Nice flat screen TV. Very quiet stay - we never heard a sound from other rooms or from the hallway.
Since we were on the executive floor (we paid extra for this) we had use of the executive lounge. This was very convenient ! Had continental breakfast every morning - Bagels, mini muffins, cereal, fresh fruit, small pastries, juice and coffee. They also offered afternoon hourdourves - two items each day - proscuitto wrapped around aparagus spears, mini pizzas, crab rangoon, mushroom tarts, as well as bottled water and cans of pop. You could also buy beer there. The view out the windows of the lounge was of Lake Michigan - very nice. There were also cookies at nighttime.
The only complaint I had was that guests from other floors took advantage of the executive lounge. Like I said, I paid extra to stay on the executive floor and didn't appreciate having to wait in line behind a freeloader to toast my bagel, not be able to sit in the lounge because all the tables were taken, or not be able to use the 1 computer in the lounge because someone who did not pay for the convenience was there.

Traveled with 3 teenagers - hotel was within walking distance of Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Grant Park, Millenium Park,, Taste of Chicago. We walked down to the river and the magnificent mile - families with younger children may want to consider a taxi or subway. We actually did end up taking a taxi to the Field Museum because it was raining. The bellhop estimated it would cost $7.35 for our family of 5 to get there by taxi - That turned out to be the exact fare - cheaper than the subway, and we stayed dry.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Loved the hotel, the city and the people of Chicago!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#100 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,501 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing