We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Huge nice lobby, but service was just okay when I was there. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but nothing memorable about it. Rooms were okay in size and quality, but a co-worker complained that her room was not clean and had to get it switched.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    1,024
    594
    224
    102
See reviews for
456
407
104
1,263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here for a nice weekend, there was a kids dance comp. going on at the hotel, received an email prior to arrival about it which was great, and the kids were all great. The hotel is very nice overall the lobby area is one of the best in the Marriott Chain, I am sure the quality of the rooms will be there as well once the bathrooms get renovated. The cheesecake platter in the lobby bar is amazing, great small portions with great flavors. I do think the restaurant is a bit expensive, ended up going to the Billy Goat Tavern down the road for a good breakfast each morning, its worth the 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: Have stayed most everywhere at this hotel, but do enjoy having a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

we stayed here right before thanksgiving as our power was out. had a great stay and the staff was very helpful. the room was clean and the food was very good. really appreciate your efforts. check in and went very smoot and hopefully the power will stay on

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 91donnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suburban Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had two rooms, adjoining, for a special family night downtown. We are locals, so we've been to functions at the hotel over the past 25 years, but never stayed there. While the lobby is kitchy and interesting, everything off the first floor needs to be gutted and redone: from the "years of banquet food" smell and dim lighting in the halls, to the knicked furniture and dog eared carpet in the rooms - this property needs to go to the top of Marriott's "to do" list asap. First on the list - soundproofing!! The wind and sirens left us sleepless in Chicago. No fun.

I will say the staff was pretty good with the exception of the hotel operator. Special shout out to Eddie D, in engineering, who came up to try to close the leaky window in our room. Nice and professional.

While we used to look for Marriott properties when we travel because they usually have a certain level of quality, but no more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieSuburbanChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmella G, Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Jarle R C

We’re concerned by your recent experience at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile. We always strive to provide the highest quality service and accommodations, and regret to learn that your visit was not on par with your expectations. We encourage all guests to alert our front desk so that we can do what ever is needed to make your stay confortable and enjoyable. Additionally, we have a variety of room types available, perhaps we could have relocated you to another room type to ensure your comfort needs were met.

We’d like to be able to address these issues with you personally and begin to earn back your trust. If there is anything else I can do at this time, or if you'd like to discuss things further, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you for your feedback, and have a nice day.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Muskego, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Second time here for annual convention, stayed 3 nights. Stayed in double bed room, probably among the smallest, 15th floor (lower for this hotel). Furniture is showing age, rooms need updating and bathrooms are quite small. On the plus side, no problem checking in at 9 am, shower water pressure was excellent , elevators were quick and the outside street noise wasn't too bad, room faced East. Had breakfast at Harvest in the hotel, buffet was really good, but pricey at $23 plus drinks. Convention was well run, food was just ok at lunch, service throughout was very professional, from wait staff to front desk to room service. Great location will bring us back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJDunn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Went this past weekend, and asked the concierge if there were any museums/fun places my fiancé and I could go to stay out of the snow, saying I wanted to thaw out a bit from being in the snow all morning. He laughed at me and asked us "Where we were from" because the snow was not bad. I am from Indiana, I KNOW what snow is like, we were just hoping to get out of the snow for a little while and thaw out in a museum. He said, well all that is here is two art museums. Not much help there .... Found out there is an aquarium.. WISH I WOULD HAVE KNOWN. Being in the hotel management business myself this treatment was just unacceptable. **especially from a concierge.

The room was also really small, bed looked like someone jumped on it before we even got to the room. I was dissapointed with the lobby being so fantastic, then the room being small.

We also asked at the front where we could go to get snacks and chips, mind you this was around 2am, but I was hungry... Told there was a 7/11 just up the street.. walked for abt 15 mins... No 7/11? Ended up having to take a cab too and from the 7/11 because we couldn't find it.

Overall, the weekend was fun, but next time I go to Chicago I will be staying at a different Marriott. I know Marriott brand service, being apart of it for 5+ yrs... and this was not it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999Jenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Room needed a thorough cleaning, quite dusty. Windows were hard to see out of, they also needed a good cleaning. View from room was decent.
Was not happy we HAD to use valet parking. They give you no other choice.
Proximity to Magnificent Mile was nice. Just down the block and across the river. Scary at night with all the homeless people around begging.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#71 of 189 in Chicago
4,374 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
235 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#30 of 189 in Chicago
3,323 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3890
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing