We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Bad, Nothing Great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Crest Hill, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nothing Bad, Nothing Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I've stayed here several times for business travel. While it isn't a bad hotel, it certainly isn't anything fantastic. Rooms are clean and fairly spacious, but for the location, they are nothing spectacular. Not very modern and very bland. The service at the hotel is good, but not over the top wonderful. The bars and restaurants are above average and their conference services seem to be very good. If this was personal travel, I would stay somewhere else. The value is just not there. The location, however, is nice. Close to the Mag Mile and Rush Street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTLew81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmella G, Sr. Executive Assistant at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to forward your feedback regarding your experience at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and appreicate your feedback regarding decor of our guestrooms. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. We thank you for your kind comments regarding overall service, the bars, restaurant, and during your conference. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We look forward to welcoming you again and Hosting You Brilliantly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    1,006
    588
    222
    101
See reviews for
445
394
103
1,221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The lobby is very nice. But, the rooms are very much like cigarettes and not enough room. Would not recommend staying here. The bathrooms need to be refurnished and the rooms are very small. If you have kids, don't not come here. Again, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cojack18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmella G, Sr. Executive Assistant at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile. I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory and you felt the room/bathroom did not meet your expectations in size and decor. We welcome our guests feedback and can assure you we strive to provide our guests with exemplary customrer service, hospitality and product. While our guest rooms/bathrooms are standard in size we do have other rooms larger in size to reserve to better meet guests individual needs. Again, please accept my apology for your disappointment. We look forward to welcoming you back again and the opportuntiy to win back your confidence and Host You Brilliantly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great position at the very heart of the Magnificent Mile. The lobby is spacious, modern with great bar and the hotel has also pool and great rooms for conferences and conventions. Rooms are unedaquate, old fashioned. Heating does not work properly and windows let cold get inside. Bathrooms are really old fashioned and need urgent refurbishing. Nice if you get a good price.

Room Tip: Get a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micaelapallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmella G, Sr. Executive Assistant at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your kind accolades regarding our spacious Lobby/modern bar area. It was our pleasure to welcome you. We thank you for your candid feedback regarding our dated guest rooms, bathrooms, heating concerns and can assure you we strive to provde our guests with the utmost in customer service, hospitality and product to ensure their experience is exemplary. Please rest assured your feedback will be further discussed as we look forward to continually meeting and exceeding each guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here on our annual convention. Great accomodations, spacious lobby, excellent location, lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The buffet breakfast was terrific. Just right for the price. I will go back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MheloMD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I'm a little biased. I have always enjoyed staying at Marriott and Courtyard Marriott hotels. They are always clean, I always get great rooms, the staff are generally very pleasant and helpful. And best of all, they are almost always in very convenient locations.

That being said, this hotel was no different. Offered me a very comfortable and warm environment to stay in while away from home and my family. And the people treated me like I was a long lost friend.

As usual, the Marriott name lives up to what I have come expect from it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank islandboy4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Great business accommodations and great rooms. Parking too high at $56/night even as a guest.

$6.00 water in room? I know it's the city but????

Great view of Michigan avenue! Right in the heart of all the shopping.

Great restaurants all in walking distance of hotel.

Try magianos

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyvette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Huge nice lobby, but service was just okay when I was there. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but nothing memorable about it. Rooms were okay in size and quality, but a co-worker complained that her room was not clean and had to get it switched.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,168 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing