We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$424
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$653
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,841)
Filter reviews
2,843 results
Traveller rating
762
1,098
631
236
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
1,098
631
236
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe concierge loungemichigan avenuelobby barmagnificent milerenovated roomrush streethigh floornavy pierself parkgreat shoppingsmall roombig citycity viewvalet parkingfitness centerfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,462 - 1,467 of 2,843 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed 5 nights in April 2014 (attended conference and personal time)
Pros: location, food, some friendly staff
Cons: We paid our hotel bill in full. However, when we got home we found 2 'no show' charges on our credit card statement - Marriott acknowledged we were there! I called Marriott Billing Office twice - the 2 reps I spoke to were very nice. In the first call, I was told I would get a response within 7 days via email - no communication received. Called back. The 2nd rep tried to get the Marriott Chicago Event Manager and Rooms Controller on the phone to settle the billing error right away. Rep tried to personally call them - they were unavailable. I was promised the Event Manager would contact me directly by phone by end if day 4/29 and latest 4/30. Today is 5/2 and we have not heard from anyone again. We will dispute the charges and take it to the next legal level.
Now for the room and stay overview -
Hot, hot room. Per staff - the a/c or heat is on for the entire building. Cannot regulate each room. Our room baked. It was April. Beautiful view but the window acted like a magnifier. Kept the curtains closed. They sent up a fan and some bottled water - but we had to leave the room and sit in the lobby to cool off daily. We were told they had received many complaints concerning no a/c.
The toilet was not working - we had to fill the tank up using the hand held shower head and/or go to 2nd floor to use public bathrooms. The Engineer Staff was friendly, however, it took many calls to get it fixed.
The hotel offered a $50 credit due to hot room, comped 1 breakfast for the broken toilet, and offered 2 comp drinks for long delay in repairing the toilet. We received the drink coupons the morning we checked out at 9:30am and could not use them. They forgot the breakfast vouchers in the envelope they put under our door the morning we checked out - we had to call, chase down the vouchers, and they finally brought them over to the restaurant.
The rooms are tired and need to be better taken care of. The hotel problems really put a damper on our trip. The kicker is the total lack of concern and communication with the hotel concerning our erroneous billing.

Room Tip: We had an ADA room which we liked; it offered extra room and good accessibility. HOWEVER, if the sun hit the window even a little bit - the room was an oven.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CNieves, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback in regards regarding our hotel and the services provided. While it disappointed me to see you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest, I thank you once again for your honest feedback as it is the only way we are able to improve our processes and procedures to better serve our guest.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced not only during, but after your stay. Please rest assure that we are diligently working towards a solution to fix the inability to control the temperature in your room through an individual climate control thermostat. After reading your comment I was not only surprised but also disappointed to learn about the lackadaisical service response from our staff as this does not represent a typical interaction nor stay at our hotel.

Your loyalty is very important to us; please feel free to contact me directly so that I can personally assist you in reaching a resolution to the items listed on your review and ensuring your complete satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hot room for 4 nights. No Working AC. Small bathrooms. No place to put shampoo in shower. Light bulb out. No bathroom fan. Lousy iron in room. No convenient place to charge cell phones. Soda machine was sold out of everything. TV remote didn't work well. Overall very over rated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas Z, Front Desk Manager at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Brian H.

Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments regarding your recent experience at the Chicago Marriott Downtown. Please rest assured that we are working diligently in finding a solution to the deficiencies listed on your review. Thank you for staying at the Chicago Marriott Downtown and for allowing us to "Host You Brilliantly".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

From the moment I stepped out of the cab each encounter was outstanding! I was greeted at the door with cold bottled water, checked in by very friendly desk staff, greeted by all housekeeping staff, fast room service etc. The very minor glitch that I had with the TV was treated very seriously and quickly, they even followed up with a hand written note offering a complimentary movie. I was having a bit of a challenge using the lobby computer for airline check in (my own fault) one of the staff noticed by frustration came to help. Great vibe in lobby, very comfortable rooms....All staff and service is 5 star...rooms are closer to 3-4 simply because a bit smaller.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Chicago Marriott Magnificent Mile for quite a while (8 nights). Online I had required a higher level room but at the check in we where told to be on the 19th floor. As requested we got a higher level at 40th with an incredible view over downtown Chicago. Thank you for that!!!! We will never forget this view.
The staff is extremely nice and helpful, there were never any problems, everything was perfect. The room was very clean, we also liked the furniture which is typical Marriott style (were is it rundown? It is the usual Marriott interior). Bathroom was nice and decent, shower worked very well, air conditioner was needed and worked very well.
There are basically no complaints, although some reviews already mentioned the single glass windows which let you take part of the downtown noises around you (which did not disturb us although you might hear the sirens all along).
It is, however, necessary to include free internet access nowadays. To charce 14,94 dollars a day for that is outdated!
We never had breakfast at the hotel (which would cost you another amount), but prepared our coffee with the nice coffee machine that is in the room with the free coffee (and this is a very nice feature of Marriott hotels!!!).
As many reviews mentioned before: great location, cannot get any better! Everything around you, included the incredible views over the city, bars, restaurants, shops, malls, supermarkets, theaters all very close and convenient.
There was a small safe in the room where you can deposit your equipment. In Washington we had a little refrigerator but no safe. In Chicago we had the safe but no small refrigerator (what would be very nice to have).
We felt very comfortable, safe and sound. We would love to return for another Chicago experience. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Choose a higher level room. You may request a lake view, but on our side we could see the most spectacular sunsets.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Downtown Marriott is your typical Marriott which isn't a bad thing, nice room, comfortable beds. We had a room on a high floor and had a great view towards the lake. Had the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning and we all thought is was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngonghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews