We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A suburban motel in the middle of Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #110 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The only good thing of this hotel is the position. Right in the middle of everything, with an exit on the magnificent mile. The rest is just terrible. The corridors are old, dirty, the roof is so small one can almost hit it if you raise your hands. The rooms are small, so old. And the toilet... there is hardly the possibility of sitting down and close the door. The shower is also not well functioning, and the AC unit works bad. Finally also the wi-fi is quite slow. When I left the room, I also discovered that one of the pillows had some old blood stains... thanks God I did not use it! See the attached picture. Considering the price they charge, I would go to another of the many hotels in the area. Even if I am a Marriott Gold. The lounge is also ridiculous, closed in the week-end, with very small offer in the evening. The only computer to print has been out of order for days, without anyone taking care of it. The people in reception do what they can, but the hotel is so old and bad maintained, that one should just completely rebuild it. My strong recommendation is to do not stay here, this is indeed not a Marriott. More of a bad dirty motel that has been teleported in the center of Chicago by mistake.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Alessandr078,

Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments regarding your recent experience at the Chicago Marriott Downtown. Please rest assured that we are working diligently in finding a solution to the deficiencies listed on your review. Thank you for staying at the Chicago Marriott Downtown and for allowing us to "Host You Brilliantly".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 2,805 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very nice hotel with a lobby lounge, Starbucks and a gift shop in the lobby. Never did try the breakfast during our stay. Service begins when you pull up to the door, option of valet or self parking across the street (both are expensive), doorman and concierge services. Nice room, comfortable bed, very clean, HD television, and all of the usual amenities. Restaurant was good and moderately priced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed 5 nights in April 2014 (attended conference and personal time)
Pros: location, food, some friendly staff
Cons: We paid our hotel bill in full. However, when we got home we found 2 'no show' charges on our credit card statement - Marriott acknowledged we were there! I called Marriott Billing Office twice - the 2 reps I spoke to were very nice. In the first call, I was told I would get a response within 7 days via email - no communication received. Called back. The 2nd rep tried to get the Marriott Chicago Event Manager and Rooms Controller on the phone to settle the billing error right away. Rep tried to personally call them - they were unavailable. I was promised the Event Manager would contact me directly by phone by end if day 4/29 and latest 4/30. Today is 5/2 and we have not heard from anyone again. We will dispute the charges and take it to the next legal level.
Now for the room and stay overview -
Hot, hot room. Per staff - the a/c or heat is on for the entire building. Cannot regulate each room. Our room baked. It was April. Beautiful view but the window acted like a magnifier. Kept the curtains closed. They sent up a fan and some bottled water - but we had to leave the room and sit in the lobby to cool off daily. We were told they had received many complaints concerning no a/c.
The toilet was not working - we had to fill the tank up using the hand held shower head and/or go to 2nd floor to use public bathrooms. The Engineer Staff was friendly, however, it took many calls to get it fixed.
The hotel offered a $50 credit due to hot room, comped 1 breakfast for the broken toilet, and offered 2 comp drinks for long delay in repairing the toilet. We received the drink coupons the morning we checked out at 9:30am and could not use them. They forgot the breakfast vouchers in the envelope they put under our door the morning we checked out - we had to call, chase down the vouchers, and they finally brought them over to the restaurant.
The rooms are tired and need to be better taken care of. The hotel problems really put a damper on our trip. The kicker is the total lack of concern and communication with the hotel concerning our erroneous billing.

Room Tip: We had an ADA room which we liked; it offered extra room and good accessibility. HOWEVER, if the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CNieves, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest-

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback in regards regarding our hotel and the services provided. While it disappointed me to see you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest, I thank you once again for your honest feedback as it is the only way we are able to improve our processes and procedures to better serve our guest.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced not only during, but after your stay. Please rest assure that we are diligently working towards a solution to fix the inability to control the temperature in your room through an individual climate control thermostat. After reading your comment I was not only surprised but also disappointed to learn about the lackadaisical service response from our staff as this does not represent a typical interaction nor stay at our hotel.

Your loyalty is very important to us; please feel free to contact me directly so that I can personally assist you in reaching a resolution to the items listed on your review and ensuring your complete satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hot room for 4 nights. No Working AC. Small bathrooms. No place to put shampoo in shower. Light bulb out. No bathroom fan. Lousy iron in room. No convenient place to charge cell phones. Soda machine was sold out of everything. TV remote didn't work well. Overall very over rated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas Z, Front Desk Manager at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Brian H.

Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments regarding your recent experience at the Chicago Marriott Downtown. Please rest assured that we are working diligently in finding a solution to the deficiencies listed on your review. Thank you for staying at the Chicago Marriott Downtown and for allowing us to "Host You Brilliantly".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

From the moment I stepped out of the cab each encounter was outstanding! I was greeted at the door with cold bottled water, checked in by very friendly desk staff, greeted by all housekeeping staff, fast room service etc. The very minor glitch that I had with the TV was treated very seriously and quickly, they even followed up with a hand written note offering a complimentary movie. I was having a bit of a challenge using the lobby computer for airline check in (my own fault) one of the staff noticed by frustration came to help. Great vibe in lobby, very comfortable rooms....All staff and service is 5 star...rooms are closer to 3-4 simply because a bit smaller.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Chicago Marriott Magnificent Mile for quite a while (8 nights). Online I had required a higher level room but at the check in we where told to be on the 19th floor. As requested we got a higher level at 40th with an incredible view over downtown Chicago. Thank you for that!!!! We will never forget this view.
The staff is extremely nice and helpful, there were never any problems, everything was perfect. The room was very clean, we also liked the furniture which is typical Marriott style (were is it rundown? It is the usual Marriott interior). Bathroom was nice and decent, shower worked very well, air conditioner was needed and worked very well.
There are basically no complaints, although some reviews already mentioned the single glass windows which let you take part of the downtown noises around you (which did not disturb us although you might hear the sirens all along).
It is, however, necessary to include free internet access nowadays. To charce 14,94 dollars a day for that is outdated!
We never had breakfast at the hotel (which would cost you another amount), but prepared our coffee with the nice coffee machine that is in the room with the free coffee (and this is a very nice feature of Marriott hotels!!!).
As many reviews mentioned before: great location, cannot get any better! Everything around you, included the incredible views over the city, bars, restaurants, shops, malls, supermarkets, theaters all very close and convenient.
There was a small safe in the room where you can deposit your equipment. In Washington we had a little refrigerator but no safe. In Chicago we had the safe but no small refrigerator (what would be very nice to have).
We felt very comfortable, safe and sound. We would love to return for another Chicago experience. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Choose a higher level room. You may request a lake view, but on our side we could see the most spect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Downtown Marriott is your typical Marriott which isn't a bad thing, nice room, comfortable beds. We had a room on a high floor and had a great view towards the lake. Had the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning and we all thought is was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngonghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#106 of 191 in Chicago
5,414 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 540 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £114 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile is not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. At Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing