We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous! ....but no in room free wi-fi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous! ....but no in room free wi-fi!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Once you get past parking...this is a gorgeous hotel! The lobby and bar area are modernly furnished and the staff was very friendly, helpful and professional! The rooms were luxurious (we were in 2721) and the western view of the city was AMAZING!

I was not happy at first to park across the street in the next block, but that turned out to not be so bad. They have a whole system to handle it and if you follow it you really only have to "check in" your car and then "check out" when you actually leave no matter how many days you stay.

The other downside was no free wi-fi in the room, but the staff informed me that was normal because they want a community atmosphere in the lobby bar...and boy do they get it! You can get free wi-fi in that area and on the second floor promenade area, so it's not impossible, just an inconvenience if you actually had to do any work. Turns out my party of 12 just enjoyed the bar area at the end of every day when we returned from our activities. We would stay there for hours just talking and recapping, so I think I get it now!

Great hotel...and its a bit above my price range, but YOLO!

Room Tip: Sometimes the staff - front desk and valet - will provide free in room wi-fi cards, be nice and you...
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard don't wash your towels if you don't have to kind of thing.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theladyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    1,024
    594
    224
    102
See reviews for
456
407
104
1,263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

As a Platinum Elite Marriott guest I frequent hundreds of Marriott properties. My experience here was among the best. The elite check-in counter is a nice touch and had me up to my room in no time. I was on the 46th floor commanding a great city view. But the view was not as clear as I would have liked as the window film was rippled from years of sun damage. This was just a minor annoyance. The bathroom was very clean as was the room. It would have been nice if housekeeping replaced the complimentary water bottle every day. Again, just a minor annoyance as I always had access to the Concierge lounge for this amenity. The lounge is a bit small for the numbers of people who drop in for breakfast but I always found seating. You are just bumping elbows to get your food. I really did like the Starbucks on demand coffee grinders though. Made a steeping hot cup of fresh ground Verona without the need to go downstairs into the Starbucks and order one. But remember, you will only gain access to the Concierge lounge if you are an award member. The staff is wonderful, very friendly, knows the city well and always helpful. If there is one downside to this hotel it is the location of the bar. Situated in the lobby, center of the hotel it does get very loud. This is due to the raised ceiling and very open space. Otherwise this place would have received a 5 star rating from me.

Room Tip: Upper floors or you will view the neighboring hotels. Request a room away form any elevator, they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJMJR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I was staying in this hotel on the 46th floor (top) during the Water and Airs show and it had a perfect view of the planes! And the view from the top you had a nice view of the city. They do have paid breakfast that includes custom dishes and a buffet and the staff was very kind and fast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirbCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I usually stay a this Marriott for business through my company. I choose not to provide my name because I am not looking for any especial attention. As a reward program member I would like to provide an honest review and so here it is:

I have not been disappointed with the staff. I do believe the hotel itself needs improvements to stay competitive with everyone else, especially when it comes to pricing and amenities (updated gym, pool/hot tub, etc) but overall they have a great staff members with good attitude.

If I had to compare this Marriott to a few other ones I regularly stay at (such as san Ramon Marriott), I would have to say they need to work a bit more on their relationship with their returning guests.

The location of this Marriott is great, especially if you are on a business trip. The restaurant food is good and the staff are nice, although there are many other restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Law M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

One of my favorite Marriotts. Great location on Michigan Avenue, near shops, restaurants, and transit. Staff very friendly. Rooms nicely appointed. Gym is okay. Pool is nice but they took out the whirlpool/hot tub, sad! A concierge did make a bad recommendation about a place for casual drinks and then for a low key casual dinner. Instead of recommending a very informal, casual place for a drink, when I arrived there, it was a high priced, not informal champagne bar called Pops. Obviously did not go in. Then went to the informal suggestion for some fish fir dinner and again the place was a formal, upscale restaurant called Devon. Seriously, while both if these places look very nice, the suggestions were no where close to what was requested.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We've never been disappointed by the Marriott line but even in this quality group, this hotel on Michigan Ave's magnificent mile is above average. From the Marriott associates special check-in desk where Tyrone greeted us by name, checked in under 3 minutes and gave us a gift bag with drinks, cookies and other treats to the cleaning lady (Francisca) on the 14th floor that went out of her way to make sure that everything in the room was perfect, it was an especially easy and happy last two days dropping our daughter off in college at LUC. Worth the extra valet parking expense (which Chicago is notorious for) just to have time to enjoy the north shore and the Michigan Ave. shopping by foot.

Room Tip: Upper floors give a great view and quieter as it is above the street noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel very conscious of environment and allows guests to be responsible and practical as well.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacoCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

After my four shows in Addison and Medinah, I went to Chicago to see the sites!
Had a great dinner at Piccolo Sogno Due and then went to Buddy Guy's Legends for a drink and some Blues!
The next day we went on the Chicago Architecture River Cruise and the Hop-On Bus Tour!
Very nice... Chicago is my kind of town!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#71 of 189 in Chicago
4,374 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
235 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#30 of 189 in Chicago
3,323 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3890
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing