We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #153 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I was recently in Chicago for business and needed a quick reservation. The Congress Plaza on Michigan Ave was available within 1 week of my trip. The room was small, but extremely clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the location as I had to walk to my conference on Monroe Street, about a mile away. As a woman traveling alone, I never felt worried about walking around that area at night. I brought my own air card, but I heard the clerk tell another guest that they were being charged for each device (ipad, iphone etc) that they accessed the internet on in their room. That doesn't seem right. The bed was even more comfortable than my own at home and the selection of pillows also was perfect. No fridge in my room, but that didn't matter to me. Great for someone traveling alone. Close to the Art Institute - too bad I didn't have time to visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,880 - 1,886 of 2,839 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Ameneties were poor- no shower caps,
Room was extremely run down. The toilets were tiny!! The door was broken and didn't close. Lucky I was with my husband and didn't need privacy.
Not down town Chicago
Restaurant was awful- the soup was rank like tin soup
No free wifi throughout the hotel even though we paid 170$ a night!
Unfriendly staff who would want to be elsewhere.
Towels weren't replaced on one day.
Too many homeless and beggars around the area
Smelt like smoke even tho our level was non smoking
King bed was clean and fine to sleep in.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over St. Patrick's Day weekend. Originally built for the Chicago World's Fair, it has a fair bit of history behind it. It's location on Michigan Ave. makes it an ideal base for activities in Grant Park like the St. Patrick's Day parade, Taste of Chicago, the Blues Fest, etc. You do however get what you pay for, the rooms are clean but dated and the staff seemed as if they would rather be elsewhere. It's cheap but more than adequate for travelers with just basic needs. Two other things; Be sure to book a room with a lake view, and you'll just have to take my word for this, the joint is haunted.

3  Thank itchinjim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The lobby is very deceiving.This is possibly the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. We were in the north tower....the room was disgusting! The carpet was filthy, the baseboards were full of peeling paint and dented wood.The furniture was chipped and scratched.The lighting was nonexistent. We had to leave the bathroom and closet lights on to work at the desk.There should have been a lamp there.Beds were extremely uncomfortable and pillows "lumpy".... Luckily, we were there only for 1 night. The problem is...management doesn't seem to care as there are no responses to any reviews on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinegirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Hot water turned on fully only provided tepid water for shower. Mattresses and pillows are cheapest foam of less-than-discount quality and ended up fighting sore neck for 3 days. No heat available during an early cold snap, so they offered a space heater (first one didn't work; needed to bring a second). Ordered room service the first night (salad and soup....soup was nothing more than luke-warm from a can; utensils wrapped in paper napkins ala cafeteria) and got sick for following 2 days. Food poisoning....? I'm just saying... Only one ice machine servicing all floors was broken, and getting some ice from the restaurant was a ping-pong match between restaurant and front desk, taking 3 transfers and two trips from staff (first one brought ice, but staff had a look of disgust on her face when I opened the door; then received another knock from another employee who was delivering an empty ice bucket!) On last day, the tank on back of toilet cracked and flooded water all over bathroom floor (see photo). Hey, they gave me $25 for my consideration. Put this one on the bottom of your D list.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room with the internal "garden" view...you'll be placed in a secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

As stated in many earlier reviews, do not expect good service, building is old, bathroom tiny, no water pressure, staff is as lethargic as I have ever seen. Almost zombie like. Had a "family suite" for $229 per night, it had 2 doubles in one room and connecting door to a king room, one tiny bathroom with view into dark ally. Doubt I would stay there again as it was just poorly run hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raytherealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Seriously, I cannot say enough about how bad the service is here. Rooms are fine, historical, blah, blah, blah...fitness center is dirty and no tv...can totally overlook the "aged" ambiance. But the service? HORRIBLE.
Check-in - goes okay, no friendly banter, no "enjoy your stay!", nada. Zip.

Hmmm...need a bottle of water...okay, go to vending machine 2 floors up (because while the in room guide says one on each floor, apparently they don't really mean that)...no water in vending machine. Trek downstairs to gift shop and spend $4 on a bottle of water. Ugh. Whatever, I'll expense it.

Internet - hook up my laptop to the ethernet cable (yes, that's right...no wi-fi in rooms). Can't connect. Check my settings, shows I am connected. Call front desk. "Yeah, I'll call the electrician - that's a common problem". Wait, what? An electrician for an internet connection? I jack around with my laptop for another 30 minutes or so, change a bunch of settings and finally get hooked up. Call front desk back - "oh okay". No apologies, nothing.

Sleep...bed's okay, nothing to write home about. Then it happens - 1 AM, my phone starts ringing. Not my blackberry, but my room phone. It's the front desk telling me that my truck is outside. WHAT??!!! A) I don't have a truck and B) What the hell are you talking about? After my incoherency on my part (it is 1 am mind you), the front desk person GIGGLES and says, oh I must have the wrong room number. Sorry! So, 1 am to 4:15 am...I am staring at the ceiling.

By 5 am I am on the crappy treadmill and I am thinking "I must have imagined that exchange" because it was so bizarre. I trudge up to my room, and my stupid key card won't work...

Front Desk - 6 am...sir, my key card won't work. "Do you have ID?" Um, yes IN MY ROOM. After he grills me on my identity he finally relents. I mention the late night (early morning) phone call and he is perplexed but kind of shrugs it off. Not the other front desk attendant! "Oh, that was me!" Well...you know I have been up since 1. "Well, it could have been worse ." Uh, what? No Apology - just giggles again and rolls her eyes.

Yeah, definitely won't be back.

Room Tip: Need a tip to choose a good room? Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fy943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 192 in Chicago
2,054 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 192 in Chicago
588 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £64 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing