We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Classical Chicago Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #153 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed in the Congress Plaza Hotel for one night during my trip to Chicago for the Yankees-Cubs series. It was a good stay, the hotel was a little older and confusing but overall I'm happy I stayed here. The hotel was definitely an older hotel here in Chicago, it definitely feels as if it was designed before World War II but it maintains a nice charm in that manner. The hotel is located in what can be considered the South Loop near immediately adjacent to where Congress Parkway ends at Michigan Avenue and Buckingham Fountain. The rooms are arranged in a corridor style in two towers which is a little confusing, even numbered rooms are in one tower, odd numbered rooms are in another tower. The room presentation was good, they are well made rooms with high cielings, a small private bathroom, tall windows looking outside and . The front desk staff appeared a little overwhelmed during my check in and check out but nonetheless got me in and out at the exact rate I paid for the hotel which was $220 after taxes. That may sound a little expensive but its actually reasonable by downtown Chicago standards. There is a large hotel lobby downstairs with a restaurant and bar attached to this hotel as well. I believe it was used for a convention center type purpose at some point in it's existance given its ground floor layout. Overall, I'd recommend people stay at this hotel if in Chicago at least once. It's not my top hotel in the city but it is one I'd send people too if they were asking for my recommendation on it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the East Side of the Hotel as that will overlook Grant Park, Michigan Avenue, L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,467 - 1,473 of 2,871 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have to say that considering the price it was much better than expected. We arranged for early check in and late checkout. When we arrived around noon our room was ready. It was on the 14th (top) floor overlooking the fountain and the lake. Perfect! The hotel is old and they do a good job with keeping it up. It is not perfect. I would say the carpet is in need of replacing and some banged up baseboards but all in all it is well kept. The only negative part of the trip was after we checked out we had an extremely rude and pushy doorman. I guess that is what he is called. He was the person that was calling up the cab. Not that we needed someone since they are parked right at the entrance. He actually told us to hurry up. I was traveling with both of my parents who are in their 70's and I have an injured leg. When I told him to cool it he proceeded to tell me that he has to be that way because he runs 3000 people through the front door area each day. We were the only ones in the area at this time. I would say this is the last thing any business would want for the final thought of their guests experience at a business. All in all if value is a part of your decision making process in selecting a hotel in Chicago, I would recommend Congress Plaza.

Room Tip: Top Floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanes730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had to stay at Congress Plaza as there were two conventions in town and almost no rooms available anywhere. The place is very old and it shows, my room smelled a bit, thank the Lord I was only staying one night. enuff said, won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a weekend in April. Very good location to explore Michigan Ave. Field Museum and Aquarium are within walking distance (about 20-30 min). Convenience stores, coffee shops, and a few bars are around the corner as well. The Hotel is old but clean and well maintained. The drain wasn't draining well and the room was rather cold with no temperature adjustment options (only AC). But other then that good experience, especially for the price you pay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel is way too old so value doesn't justify what they are charging but over all staff was very friendly and helpful. It seems most of the needed places like seven 11, Doughnuts, subway and all. So not bad place but if you get the same value and newer hotel then thats the best! ooo naan View from the room was amazing.. we were in south tower!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justmuneeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

When we arrived they said that our reservation had not been confirmed for the 2 rooms just the 1. We had called and they said both rooms were available. We spoke to one manager who tried to figure out what happened but then left without calling us and left it to another manager to handle. She got an attitude quickly when we were trying to understand our sleeping arrangements, even saying we were wearing her out after we had had enough and said we were getting no where and were worn out.They ended up giving us a suite with an a joining room and the rest of the family to sleep on cots. Our room was 100 degrees and had to go down and get them to come up and open a window. Then we had to deal with street noise, if there had been another hotel open we would have left. But graduations had them all booked. There was a chalky substance on the ground where some remodel had taken place and not cleaned. With the price of the rooms you would expect more, will not be back. The best part was the view and the bell guys.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Babygirl0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nice on the historical, location, and service sides. Poor on value & general upkeep in the rooms/hallways. Our room was nice with a great view and I loved the safe in our closet, but there was a small used bandage on the sheet when I turned down the bed on our first night. Front desk people were great & we loved being close to the museum campus. Just a bit overpriced for some of the worn down features of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#143 of 191 in Chicago
2,074 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#102 of 191 in Chicago
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#37 of 191 in Chicago
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £62 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing