We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #149 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Greater Cincinnati
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gross”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This place is very run down and unkept. You can tell that the rooms are in deperate need of renovation and repair. The bathroom grout was so disgusting, and all the the trim within the room seemed to be falling apart. The carpet was old and stained, and the wallpaper was peeling. The only thing good about this hotel was the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    759
    804
    411
    440
See reviews for
519
698
170
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This Chicago's oldest hotel lives to its words - IT IS OLD and has never been through any kind of renovation whatsoever.

1. I tried to press my nice dress shirt using their iron and something on the box ruined my shirt
2. The sharp edges of the furniture can really break your bones! Be careful when you bring kids because they are definitely going to get hurt
3. The room smells FUNKY and the air conditioning doesn't work at all
4. The staff is EXTREMELY HOSTILE and UNPROFESSIONAL
5. If someone can do a carbon dating on the stuff on the carpet we can definitely chronologically date back to the origin and kind of guests that stayed in the room - THE CARPET IS FILTHY
6. The toiletries in the room can literally PEEL OF YOUR SKIN. So if for some unavoidable reason you have to stay in this hotel please bring your own toiletries.
7. The bathtub DRAINS probably at the rate 1mL per hour so by the time you are half way through your 10 minute shower you are standing in a pool of dirty water.
8. The vending machines don't work. They don't have complimentary bottles (I understand, but I was ready to purchase water) but they don't have water in the reception and the housekeeping doesn't bring water to your room so you have to go down to congress plaza lounge and wait in the room until the bartender serves all the people and then purchase water (by this time I was already dehydrated).
9. Everything about the hotel sucks except for the location very close to Buckingham fountain. But for the location, there is nothing good about this hotel WHATSOEVER

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siddhu07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Congress is showing it's age but is still a very comfortable and convenient lakefront hotel. Facing Grant Park, it is a very good value for it's location. The older interior could use some renewal, but it is still clean, comfortable and guest friendly. When comparing the price to the newer luxury hotels, some not as well located, it must be called a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out across Grant Park to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My friends and I moved to this hotel because it was very close to northerly island where we were seeing DMB. Back in this hotel's prime, our room would have been the best one. We had 2 king beds, a fair amount of space, and two huge windows overlooking the Lake Michigan. However this hotel is so dated that you get the sense everything is dirty as everything has a sort of off, musty smell. We saw a few other rooms being cleaned on our way in and some of them are downright awful. We really lucked out. Everything in this hotel screams "old" it looks like the last renovation (if ever) was in the 1920s. The only thing keeping this hotel in business is the location. The two stars rather than one is because our room had 2 king beds which was appreciated because we had 5 people staying and a great view which was nice to look at while having a cocktail pre-concert.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The location is great. The hotel is old and for its age is well kept. The staff seemed a little on edge and short but it was an extremely busy holiday weekend. The house keeping was great. They cleaned up every day of our 4 day stay. The restaurant s were overpriced for the food quality so we ate at some of the many great restaurants close to the hotel. Overall a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lion18769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel was disappointing in so many ways. Firstly, it's really old - everything is outdated. One of the four curtains wouldn't close. There was no temperature control, just low, medium or high. All four windows were closed but none were locked (lucky I checked!). There was no fridge. For some reason, the bathroom door opened outwards but couldn't swing freely because the bedroom carpet was too high & thick. It was very overpriced. I tried to check in at 4 pm but my room still wasn't ready - 4 pm wasn't exactly an early check in. And lastly, I accidentally left behind a few items of good clothing in the closet after checking out, but when I called back, of course the cleaners hadn't turned the items in to security. Regretful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a nice hotel but an older hotel. However, while the hotel may be older, the rooms are nice and charming. They were clean and the service was wonderful. Excellent location and beautiful views of Lake Michigan. I would stay at this hotel again and again. The parking ramp is attached to the hotel and the valet is great. It is a beautiful old hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#131 of 189 in Chicago
1,959 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#99 of 189 in Chicago
4,957 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing