We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #148 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best location in Chicago”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location just next to Buckingham Fountain. The hotel needs major remodeling but its still a good hotel. With remodeling it could be the best hotel in Chicago and could probably charge twice what it charges. The staff is excellent. We walked everywhere from the hotel. We took the Blue line train from o'hare and walked only a few blocks to hotel. It was very easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alonso d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    742
    795
    403
    434
See reviews for
508
681
169
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We took a group bus to Chicago for the weekend of the Taste of Chicago, July 12-13. It was the perfect location since the Taste was right across the street in Grant Park. Even when the event was cancelled for Saturday just as we arrived (due to the rain, which promptly stopped), we still had a great time. We walked to the Aquarium and Field Museum, along the lake and to bookstores and restaurants. Another time we plan to take the ferry to and from Navy Pier. On Sunday the Taste was open so we enjoyed it for a couple of hours before heading home. The porters were very helpful in holding our luggage before check in and after checkout.

We had stayed at the Congress Plaza once before, and our room faced a wall. This time we were on the top floor facing the park and the lake beyond that, very nice. Each room is unique--this one had a step up to the bathroom! In spite of being an old, old hotel, the water pressure was fantastic, lots of electric outlets, and a very comfortable bed. We like that the whole place is non-smoking. We also like the breakfast at the hotel, tasty and well-priced. We were told the hotel was full, but it was very quiet.

I would improve the lighting. Just adding a wall lamp (and maybe a wall shelf too) to the side of the bed with no table would help a lot. I'm not sure what can be done about the condensation on the bathroom floor around the toilet. We put down extra towels so we wouldn't slip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LDJackson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The Congress Plaza is a little shabby but if it wasn't, we couldn't afford to stay there. We had a King Lake view that we got off of Priceline for $150; the room was clean, and somewhat bigger than I thought it would be, with an amazing view from the 13th floor. My only complaint is that the shower head was placed too high for me to adjust while in the shower but this isn't the first hotel I've stayed at that has it that way.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We used a groupon to book a room here for my husband, 12 year old son and myself. I was a little hesitant, but it was the best price around. The room was spacious, bathroom large enough and clean, and it had a large work area for my husband. The beds were a little hard, and a better selection if pillows and a mini fridge would be nice, but otherwise we were pleased. The location is fabulous - right across from grant park, close walking distance to many attractions and restaurants, with a bike rental station 1/2 a block away. Is it the trump tower? No. But you aren't paying trump tower prices either. Save your money for exploring Chicago.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank alicia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Reading some of these reviews nearly scared me us off, but we got a great rate through Groupon and the location was awesome, so we gave it a try and were glad we did. We must have stayed at a very different Congress Plaza Hotel than others because it was immaculately clean and the beds were super comfy (and I am rather picky). It will agree that it was dated. It appeared just as I assume it did 100 years ago - elegant and regal. It has been kept up, just not remuddled, just as such a magnificent old building should be. If you want modern, this is not the place for you. If you appreciate the elegance of a bygone era, stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fabmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteson, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On July 17, 2014 I decided to stay downtown Chicago after going to the theater. I booked a room at the Congress Plaza hotel via their web site. Since the hotel was located close to Grant Park and the Metra station and the price was reasonable $220, for a hotel downtown we decided to get a room there. The hotel room was horrible. We was on the 14th floor at the end of the hallway. Once we got off the elevator we had to walk through another set of doors and the hallway was dark and dirty. The outside room door needed a good washing and painting. The room had a great view of Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain and the museum campus, but other than that the room was small to be a King size room. There was only one filthy chair at the desk. Nothing outstanding at all. The bed was not at all comfortable, the carpet was old and dirty and the room smell like they had just painted. The bedside lamps were old and chipped. Not to mention the small, cramped bathroom that need a complete makeover. The bathroom towels were small and rough. Unless there are newer more modernize rooms on the other side of the hotel I would not recommend the Congress to any family or friends. This particular room was nothing but a high priced transit room. If this is what they are offering on their web specials, its not worth the 200 dollars. The bar are in the lobby was also dark and dreary. Do not let the beautiful pictures of the rooms on the website fool you. Pay a little extra and find another hotel.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay at this hotel, the odd number rooms on the 14th floor faces Grant Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Barbara772010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We are visiting Chicago first time we are from florida. We came with our three kids and this hotel is very nice,clean and with excelent location in the center of down town in Michigan ave . Prices snd atmosphere are very nice. City in general is awesome

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing