We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glory days are gone, now its just an affordable option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #153 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The Congress was glorious back in the day. I say this not because I know any history about the building, but because you can see its past glory shining through. Beautiful marble floors, arched doorways, Greco-Roman sculptures, gold detailing. It was gorgeous at one time. Now the rooms are just ok. Service is ok. Price is ok. Its a typical 3 star place minus the lobby. I'd put the actual rooms on par with the Travelodge Downtown.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,315 - 1,321 of 2,847 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked via Groupon and after reading reviews I was a little scared to stay here. I have to say I am so glad we did! The location couldn't have been more perfect. Walking distance to nearly everything there is to do or see. The only thing we couldn't walk to was Wrigley but there is a train station not even 2 blocks from the hotel that takes you right there. The room was clean, nice and spacious. We had no problem getting hot water, unlike previous reviewers stated. The concierge also held our bags upon early arrival and late departure so we could walk around enjoy our time there. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank samram11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Me and my family all loved the room we got. It took a long to clean but it was worth it. Some views were pipes and walls and one window was a beautiful view of the city. When there was no room left for the sixth person they brought a foldable bed to our room. The nice staff kept our bags safe while our room was being cleaned. This was a vacation I'll never forget.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittytah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just stayed at the Congress Plaza Hotel. The room was outdated, smelled old and musty and was generally old, dirty and not a pleasant feeling. We did not shower there and just got a bad feeling from this hotel. The beds were fine but that's about all I can say about the place besides the location across from Grant Park. There were layers upon layers of paint on the outdated wood trim and walls. We will not stay there again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bsweb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My son and I were visiting Chicago for the first time recently and stayed at Congress Plaza for 5 nights. We loved it! I booked it via Hotwire and got it at a great deal. I was at first a little concerned because of some of the negative reviews here, but I honestly didn't see what people were complaining about. Yes, the hotel is old and may not have all the up-to-date amenities, but that's to be expected in an historic hotel. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean with a great view of the lake. The location is prefect, close to the metro and bus stops and within walking distance of various sites worth visiting. This is not a resort. So if you want to spend your days hanging out at the hotel and enjoy its amenities, pick another hotel and be prepared to pay a lot more. But if you want to spend your days visiting the many sites of the great city of Chicago and need a place that's conveniently located to everything and is comfortable and clean with helpful, friendly staff, then Congress Plaza would be perfect for you.

Room Tip: Get a room with the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ansnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Claiming to be one of the most haunted hotels in the country, the Congress Plaza is a classically styled building turned hotel. We didn't have any strange experiences here, but it was a very nice hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were quite nice and though perhaps out of date fits with this genre building just fine. The location of this hotel could not be better. A block from the red line, across the street from parks, and not far to museums, planetarium, or harbors.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbobjr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Decent place. Old architecture. Poor wifi in rooms. Very quite in hallways.
Very close to millimium park.. right on most trolly bus routes.
valet staff nice. Got discount on room when mentioned expennsive parking.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 192 in Chicago
2,062 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#96 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £60 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing