We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's what you would expect from an Embassy Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #80 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's what you would expect from an Embassy Suites”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed at this location several times. When the rates are reasonable, it is a great option for downtown Chicago. The location is great, the staff is helpful, and the rooms are clean and spacious. Great for business travel and the manager's reception (free drinks and snacks) is a nice touch for happy hour. I will continue to stay here when I visit Chicago. Just don't bring a car because $59 a night for parking is pretty ridiculous.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank STLDSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    778
    282
    92
    87
See reviews for
942
372
85
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for business trip. I thought it was an average place in a great area. Bland at best and very expensive. However, the location made up for everything else! Like I said, it was a business trip, but I did make time to sight see because the area was superb.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel before flying back to Texas from Michigan. The hotel staff is wonderful. The hotel is clean. I enjoyed the free breakfast in the morning. The location is perfect for anything you would like to see or due close to downtown. You can also catch a train to the airport, this means you will not need a rental car if staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnkymnky82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I just spent 4 nights at the Embassy Downtown Chicago and found it very welcoming. From our arrival as Hilton Honors members to the complimentary evening receptions and morning breakfasts - we enjoyed ourselves. This is a great location, walking distance to most everything you would need in the downtown area. Embassy garage parking was pricey, but given we were in and out - was very convenient with no hassle nor concern with finding parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Second stay in 15 years and it was peaceful and tranquil!!!!!!! I love the theme of the hotel and the decorative suites. Embassy suites have a great cocktail hour that allows for you to get extra olives and cherries.

Room Tip: Any room is great. near the elevator allows you to meet people from different parts of the World.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soultrain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed over Memorial Day weekend. This is a nice hotel if you travel with family. It is in a great location, close to theatre, shopping, and the lake. It is a suite hotel with both a large bedroom and living room. The staff were friendly and helpful. Requests for extra towels were met withing a few minutes and did not have to be repeated. Room was quiet, clean and fresh, with very comfortable beds.

At least one of the four elevators was not working during our stay making the process of leaving the hotel a little slower during the peak breakfast hours. Also, the hotel was full of families with children which made for a rather crowded and somewhat loud breakfast. However, the food was fairly good quality, with omelet service, and the friendly staff kept the buffet stocked and the tables clean.

I always prefer to stay at hotels like the Embassy Suites which have a "satisfaction guarantee" policy which I am happy to say I have not used too often.

Room Tip: Used "Spot Hero" parking app to save parking costs. Paid $26 per night across street from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onemoretrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Embassy Suites has the most welcoming staff. The Bellman has been there for years, and I think actually recognizes me! I stay every year in May, and he seems to remember. At check in, I was welcomed and regonized as a return guest and also was helped with a double booked reservation. The rooms appeared to be recently updated, since a year ago, and the TOWELS are amazing. Everything about the hotel is top notch. I have stayed at other Embassy Suites and this one is probably the very best. Every where you look someone is cleaning and there seemed to be friendly hotel staff member available if there was a need.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaDonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing