We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor check in proceedure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #85 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Was told several times to check back to see if room was ready and available.....after several times being told no and hanging around close to the hotel, it still wasn't ready even after the scheduled check in time. we ended taking a different room on lower floor. 12 hrs of traveling and we were tired and frustrated!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank SarniaSquirrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are sorry to hear that you did not receive a speedy and efficient check in. You can rest assured that our front office management team will use your feedback for training purposes. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Ana Cisneros
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,417)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,209 of 2,417 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

My daughter & I came for a quick, two-day, "foody" trip. Choose the hotel so we could sleep separately but not have to pay for two rooms. The entire experience was wonderful: early check-in, street & lobby staff, the room itself -- everything was perfect. During our stay there were a lot of families with a lot of children but even that didn't create any hassle. Actually didn't get to experience the breakfast or managers receptions. Breakfast ended just as we were waking up, and the evening we were going to try the reception there was such a long, slow line we decided to forego it (not sure why there had to be such long lines). But, from what we could see over the 7th floor balcony both looked very nice. Would definitely stay there again. Value is probably and excellent because the suite arrangement kept us from needing two rooms, but a downtown hotel is still expensive!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank 60ginab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I'm sorry you didn't get a chance to try our complimentary breakfast and complimentary we definitely hope to see you again so you can enjoy our amenities! I'm glad to see you enjoyed all other aspects of Chicago and our property. Please know that we value your opinion and business.

Regards,
Ana Cisneros
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is our go-to hotel when visiting Chicago with our kids. It's a great location and it's clean and safe. I can let them go down and have breakfast by themselves. There is a small pool & hot tub (which we didn't use this time), and a plethora of restaurants out the front door. You can walk to the great shops on Michigan Avenue, we walked to Millennium & Grant Parks and then to the theater in the evening. Oak Street Beach is just over a mile away. That all being said, there are many hotels in this immediate area that would suffice, but I like how the rooms in Embassy Suites are set-up, and that works for us.

I saved a couple of bucks and parked a block away.

Room Tip: The higher rooms would be quieter (because of the atrium design of the hotel) and have better views...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MamaDeegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad to see that despite all your options with the competition around us, you still choose Embassy Suites. We appreciate your business and loyalty! Hope to see you in the future.

Warmest regards,
Ana Cisneros
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I love this hotel for staying in Chicago. It is a typical Embassy Suites with all the perks of breakfast and happy hour and is convenient to the CTA Red line... easy access to Midway Airport without paying a fortune for a cab. Great location easy to walk to anything, food... bars... shopping.

Room Tip: You might as well stay close to elevator.. .open atrium noise is noise.....
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSO-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you Michael for your wonderful review! Our centralized location is definitely one of the most appealing features amongst many of our other qualities. We hope to welcome you in the near future.

Regards,
Ana Cisneros
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a nice hotel to bring your family. The pool is nice and the breakfast is great. It's more than just a continental breakfast. They have made to order omelets and lots of choices to keep everyone happy. It also saves by not having to buy breakfast at a restaurant.

The rooms are clean and spacious. We did not feel like we were on top of one another.

Easy walking to the L and the shops in downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl3644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your "5 star" review! We hope to welcome you back whenever you're in our lovely Windy City!

Regards,
Ana Cisneros
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My only complaint about this one is the parking cost are $59.00/ per night which is ridiculous! Unless you have budgeted to pay this much extra for parking, I would NOT recommend staying at this location. Its unfortunate because everything else was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I'm glad to see you enjoyed our hotel! Unfortunately, our location is one of our best features but also one of our worst enemies. We are sorry we couldn't meet all your expectations. But we do thank you for your business.

Regards,
Ana Cisneros
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is located in the BEST area ... you can walk to everything! The hotel itself is very nice, the staff was excellent and of course who could not LOVE free drinks in the evenings and free breakfast! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank TLK93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! I will definitely share your feedback with our staff. We hope to keep welcoming you in the near future.

Best,
Ana Cisneros
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £90 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing