We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Rate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #86 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Altamont, United States
1 review
“First Rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A well managed, extremely clean, and great location for us to get around the city of Chicago! Parking was easy, the front desk staff was welcoming, and the breakfast, as with all Embassy Suites, was out of this world! Our only hotel choice in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jerome T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I'm glad to see my front desk always welcomed you with a smile! We hope to welcome you once again in the near future.

Safe travels,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    760
    279
    92
    84
See reviews for
916
365
83
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prophetstown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our favorite place to stay Downtown. Good value because it includes made to order Breakfast and Manager's Reception in the evening!! Close to everything Chicago has to offer including the Double Decker Bus stop!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Darla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for giving us a 5 star review! We are glad to see you took advantage of our great amenities. Hope to see you in the near future!

Best regards,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were in Chicago partly for business and partly for pleasure and the Embassy Suites on State was a perfect choice for us. The hotel is very clean and comfortable! The location is great and within walking distance of many Chicago attractions and restaurants!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Regards,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I had to call the front desk 3 times to request a remote control for the living room TV. It was finally delivered after the 3rd request. When we arrived in our room, there was hair on the bathtub wall near the soap holder. The next day after housekeeping cleaned our room, the hair was still there and there was hair left on the outside of the bathtub.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank 992marioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I'm extremely sorry to hear the front desk did not provide you stellar service while you were with us. You can rest assure we will take immediate measures to retrain our staff. We hope you will give us a second chance in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Decided to take a short summer driving trip to Chicago. Never been, thought we should check it out. Not knowing anything about where we were going, we decided to stay at the true and trusted Embassy Suites. Knowing the basic layout of the typical Embassy Suites rooms:bedroom, separated living room area, hot breakfast, we knew what to expect. The only surprises would be location, condition and cleanliness and quality of staff.
This Embassy Suites met all our expectations and did not disappoint. This location was fantastic. It was centrally located, a block from the magnificent mile, a block in any direction from a fantastic selection restaurants. A "true" supermarket and the Chicago metro right across the street. It had everything within minutes and metres reach.
The hotel itself was clean and well kept. All facilities> business centre, pool and gym were good to go. The staff was helpful and attentive and did their job well.
By the way, Chicago was nice also. We look forward to coming back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmark007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are glad to see we were able to set ourselves apart from all the other Embassy Suites. Your description is true to our nature! We have an ideal location! We are happy Embassy Suites and Chicago did not disappoint!

Warmest regards,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

First impressions are big for me. We arrived curbside the night of arrival and there was no concierge or help in trying to determine how to get into the parking garage, nor could you unload curbside and check in at front desk. My husband had to get out and ask only to find that the garage door has an automated sensor. We parked underground and had to wait for an attendant to be called to help w luggage. The attendant was a friendly guy and chummed it up with us (clearly working his tip), however we found his directions from our room to the gym were inaccurate as he physically pointed out that the gym was to the right of the pool. The first thing I attempted to do was hit the gym only to find it was not even where he told me (5 mins before). The gym is currently being renovated and has 3 treadmills and 2 elliptical in a small conference room to the left of the pool. Make sure you go at random weird hours or don't expect to find a machine.

Food was typical decent fare as expected when staying with Embassy.

Location was fabulous. Walking distance pretty much to any place within the city. Short (less than a mile) walk to north beach (w walking trail after Michigan avenue). Also less than a mile (or right at) to the bean at millenium park. Navy pier is also about a mile. I recommend you walk if possible as parking is anywhere from $20-50 per location to park. The walk was enjoyable w lots to see on the way.

Parking staff are slow. We called and they told us they could have vehicle ready right away, but every time they still had to go get it AFTER we arrived. Overpriced parking and trip advisor parking promotion would've been great had I seen it before I arrived. Oh well.

All in all a decent place w good location. Also try out the Osteria Via Stato (down stairs rest) pizza place for thin crust pizza when you tire of the thick crust Chicago style pizza.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover8098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for reviewing our property! Sorry to hear you were here during our fitness center renovation. We are ecstatic to say that our gym is up and running and newly renovated, and open 24 hours! Our goal at Embassy Suites is always to include the best customer service not to gain any extra tips, our service is genuine! We will definitely work on improving the speediness and effectiveness of our parking staff, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you again!

Regards,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The front desk staff were very helpful. We should have taken his name but one front desk gentleman told us how to get to the zoo via the bus.THANK YOU! The breakfast chefs and wait staff were great, always smiling, polite and accommodating. They quickly cleaned up spills by kids. The maid service depended on who was on duty. One was an early starter and the other quite late. Although we stayed the full week, we had to keep reminding the maid for 4 sets of towels! Location is great. Jewel Osco across the street is very convenient. So are the Starbucks and subway downstairs. The only negative was the air conditioning did not get cold enough for me in the bedroom, daughters insist the living room was cool enough for them. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: It's Chicago so you will hear sirens throughout the night but the hotel does provide ear plugs o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitcherfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisore at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are glad to see you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us! We hope to see you once again in the near future.

Best,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and TravelUp so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing