We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Vacation with grandkids and family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #85 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Mandeville, LA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super Vacation with grandkids and family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were fortunte to be given adjoining suites. The amenities were boundless. Indoor pool, exercise room, ginormous breakfast every morning and happy hour every evening. This hotel is conveniently located to both downtown and lakefront via buses and cabs. We bought a 3 day bus pass. The only downside was ur microwave didn't work and the refrigeator freezer door was missing and so nothing froze. It was not fixed before we left. .

Room Tip: We had a good view of N. State St from the 5th floor. The hotel has a lovely restaurant on premise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dixiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review! We are glad to have been host to you while you vacation with your grand kids! I'm sorry that we weren't able to resolve your issue in a timely manner. You can rest assured we will revisit and improve our resolution rate.

Regards,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    760
    279
    92
    84
See reviews for
914
365
83
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We always try to stay at Embassy Suites when we travel around the U.S. We have two older boys and this works out for us to have the suite. Plus, breakfast is always included, although at this particular Embassy Suites the breakfast was always very crowded and not always adequately staffed. Each day, we had to wait for the eggs, bacon, pancakes and even oatmeal to be refilled. It is the busy tourist season, but that should be anticipated. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zandikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking some time to share your experience at Embassy Suites Chicago. The only way we can improve is by having our guest share their feedback. We will definitely take your comments under consideration as we continue to improve our guest experience.

Sincerely,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A well managed, extremely clean, and great location for us to get around the city of Chicago! Parking was easy, the front desk staff was welcoming, and the breakfast, as with all Embassy Suites, was out of this world! Our only hotel choice in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jerome T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I'm glad to see my front desk always welcomed you with a smile! We hope to welcome you once again in the near future.

Safe travels,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prophetstown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our favorite place to stay Downtown. Good value because it includes made to order Breakfast and Manager's Reception in the evening!! Close to everything Chicago has to offer including the Double Decker Bus stop!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Darla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for giving us a 5 star review! We are glad to see you took advantage of our great amenities. Hope to see you in the near future!

Best regards,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were in Chicago partly for business and partly for pleasure and the Embassy Suites on State was a perfect choice for us. The hotel is very clean and comfortable! The location is great and within walking distance of many Chicago attractions and restaurants!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Regards,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I had to call the front desk 3 times to request a remote control for the living room TV. It was finally delivered after the 3rd request. When we arrived in our room, there was hair on the bathtub wall near the soap holder. The next day after housekeeping cleaned our room, the hair was still there and there was hair left on the outside of the bathtub.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank 992marioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I'm extremely sorry to hear the front desk did not provide you stellar service while you were with us. You can rest assure we will take immediate measures to retrain our staff. We hope you will give us a second chance in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Decided to take a short summer driving trip to Chicago. Never been, thought we should check it out. Not knowing anything about where we were going, we decided to stay at the true and trusted Embassy Suites. Knowing the basic layout of the typical Embassy Suites rooms:bedroom, separated living room area, hot breakfast, we knew what to expect. The only surprises would be location, condition and cleanliness and quality of staff.
This Embassy Suites met all our expectations and did not disappoint. This location was fantastic. It was centrally located, a block from the magnificent mile, a block in any direction from a fantastic selection restaurants. A "true" supermarket and the Chicago metro right across the street. It had everything within minutes and metres reach.
The hotel itself was clean and well kept. All facilities> business centre, pool and gym were good to go. The staff was helpful and attentive and did their job well.
By the way, Chicago was nice also. We look forward to coming back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmark007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are glad to see we were able to set ourselves apart from all the other Embassy Suites. Your description is true to our nature! We have an ideal location! We are happy Embassy Suites and Chicago did not disappoint!

Warmest regards,
Ana Cisneros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing