We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #85 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

For Embassy Suites, this is a good one! Can't beat the location. Their breakfast buffet was generous, wide variety of food offerings for all dietary needs, staff was very attentive in busing up after diners and cleaning the tables; the manager's evening reception is also very generous, pretty much a full bar. The rooms are very decent, and ours had a nice street view with State Street which is lovely with small boutiques, and not much traffic.This location also made it very convenient to catch the bus, or the L Train, and walking distance to many, many great restaurants. Cabs are easy to get if you need one.
My only complaint: housekeeping with the rooms was not good. One of the days we could tell it was barely cleaned, no replenishing of towels although when I called, they brought some right away. And for some odd reason the shower liner was off the hooks and we had to re-hook the liner so to take a shower. The next day, our room hasn't been cleaned even though we were gone most of the day. I had to call twice before housekeeping showed up, but I had to again ask her to bring us fresh towels. Our commode wasn't working properly. I complained, they fixed the constant tank fill up issue but they created a new problem: the handle would not pop up when you flush so the water would keep running in the commode until we popped up the handle manually. I told them all this when I checked out, and we did get a follow up call. But it made our stay a little less pleasant.

Room Tip: Pick one with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funtripsx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our facility, accommodations and amenities. The feedback we receive from our valued guests enables us to target problem areas, and to take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Ranka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    759
    279
    92
    84
See reviews for
914
365
83
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plover, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I liked this hotel and would return for another stay if the price was right. The breakfast is awesome and the complementary cocktails are a very nice touch. The room was nice and the staff helpful. Here are some things to expect. The pool is very small and packed with kids often. The A/C in the rooms is restricted to a low of 65. This wouldn't be a problem except that I set it for 65 to cool off our room and it never got below 74. So be aware that Energy Star means a warm room in summer months. There is a charge for internet. I wouldn't mind that, except that I had to call for help getting my daughter's tablet to work on the network 2 times and finally gave up. This hotel, like others, will store your luggage after you check out if you plan to leave later in the day. The location of this hotel is perfect for getting around. It's on the Free Trolley Route. A cab ride to the museums will run about $10 from the hotel (plus tip).

Room Tip: Lower to the ground, louder the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks so much for writing your review about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful facility, accommodations and amenities.Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We will be looking forward to seeing you with us again in the near future.Thanks again!

Sincerely, Ranka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I can't stress enough what a nice experience this hotel is. First, the location: State St, a few blocks from Michigan Ave. It's in a lively, walkable area and you don't have to venture far to have a great time. Quartino's, a great Chicago Italian restaurant is across the street, and we ate there often. Second, the rooms are recently updated, and have the feel of a 1 bedroom apartment. Very cozy living room suite and furniture. You also can't go wrong with a free, quality breakfast, especially when traveling with a family. This saves at least $30 per day. You will feel a part of the city when you stay at this particular Embassy Suites (note: do not confuse with the Embassy Suites on Columbus, which is more of a standard, no-frills business traveler hotel).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khyber900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We can’t wait to have you back in Chicago. Thank you so much for the great review. I am truly happy to learn that you enjoyed everything about your stay. We strive to bring memorable experiences to all of our guests. Again thank you so much and we hope to see you soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Location, Location, Location.
Having said that, the hotel offers a good breakfast, and a open bar for a couple hours every evening.
The rooms are every ergonomic and the bed is very comfortable.
The complaint I have with this Hotel is the housekeeping. They never got it right for my stay there. Always missing a bathmat, towel, or wash rag.
Having said my family and had a great time

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borderman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very happy you enjoyed the amenities our hotel offers.We appreciate your kind words about our rooms. We have taken your review as a training tool for our housekeeping staff to prevent similiar issues from happening again. Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
359 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

A standard Embassy Suites hotel in a big city. When I reserved a king room I knew I was not getting a suite but did not expect such a small room. That was livable as we were only there two nights but the broom closet bathroom with a 30"x30" stall shower and no counter space was horrible. They charge $10 a day for internet and if you don't mind standing in line for 20-40 minutes for the cooked breakfast you can opt for the standard scrambled eggs, cold sausage and cold pancakes. There is a card in the room telling you it could be up to an hour wait for breakfast. They only have valet parking at a $18 dollar a day premium over the parking garages, $59 vs $41. I did not find that until into the second day. There is a garage directly behind the hotel and across the street. Don't park there as if you need to get something in your car it costs you.

Room Tip: A lot of outside city noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2010Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience from your stay with us. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Unfortunately, parking in Downtown Chicago is very limited, the greatest perk of parking with us is the ability to exit and enter as many times as you need. Again thank you and we hope to have you back again soon..

Sincerely, Ranka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

we stayed for a couple of nights in a city view suite. the hotel is very handily placed within walking distance to a lot of places and just down the street from a free tram service which will take you to navy pier. our room was comfortable though we found the lounge area not as comfortable as the hyatt place room we stopped in a couple of days before, but the bed was very comfy. we found the front desk and porters were very helpful, and the concierge guys were excellent. we did get down late for the free breakfast on the first morning but the chef rustled us up an omelette which was nice. we didn't go to the evening happy hour as there were always big queues.
in summary it is a decent hotel in a good location, with very good staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback with us. . I am so happy that most of our staff provided great customer service to you and your family. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location in the downtown area as we are within the walking distance from most city attractions. We hope next time you come by the windy city you will choose our property once again!

Sincerely, Ranka R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Embassy Suites hotel in Chicago Aug 15-18, 2014.

Overall we were all impressed and would highly recommend.

Pros

1. Location - Downtown, close to shopping, river, restaurants, and bars.
2. Clean - Very clean rooms.
3. Extra's - All inclusive breakfast, WiFi, and after hours vending machine access with 50 credits.
4. Happy Hour - 4 finger scotches, 5 finger wine. This might be an american thing but as a Canadian it is amazing.
5. Price - Not bad for Chicago.

Cons
6. Parking - Expensive. $70 for valet per night vs $40 per night next door.
7. Food - Average at best. One night during happy hour they served animal crackers.
8. Security - Rude.

Room Tip: Ask for the extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with such a great feedback.We truly understand the value of guest feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago soon.

Sincerely, Ranka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing