We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super experience in the centre of Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #80 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super experience in the centre of Chicago”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

After the poor experience of a hotel in San Francisco, we came to Embassy Suites in Chicago hoping for a comfortable stay in downtown Chicago. We stayed in the Holmewood Suites three years ago, and Embassy is just round the corner. The location is perfect in the central part of the shopping area north of the river. It's two minutes from Michigan Avenue and close to all of the major sites, many of which are within walking distance. The Red Line station at Grand is a block away.

On arrival, I know straight away that it would be a better stay than the Holmewood (which is a perfectly fine stay as well). The Reception is cool, open and welcoming. Door staff and reception staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is built around a full height atrium with rooms around the edges over 11 floors. Lifts are quick and don't involve too long a wait. Rooms are spacious and well equipped; we were able to give our two kids their own room with a tv. Plenty of storage space, fridge and a sink as well as an ample bathroom. Well cleaned and kept clean; laundry room available for residents (choose good times to make sure its free) and a small pool and hot tub on the second floor.

Breakfast is extensive and includes made to order omelettes as well as self service cooked food, cereals, juices, tea and coffee and oriental choices. It was very busy at the weekend, but civilised at other times. The Manager hosts a complimentary bar every evening for two hours, which is generous and well worth it.

Down sides are minor; parking is expensive. Wi-fi was a bit patchy but manageable. Good value, great location. We stayed five days and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were perfectly happy with our front facing room on the eighth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muckers270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
We are glad to see we were able to provide a great stay for you and your family! We hope to see you in the not too distant future!!!!!!!!!!

Sincerely, Ranka R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    778
    282
    92
    87
See reviews for
942
372
85
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The service from everyone at this hotel was exceptional. The breakfast was delicious, the bed was better than at my home and the rooms were very clean. I will definitely be staying here the next time I visit Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I'm thrilled that you received great service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Chicago.

Sincerely, Ranka R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Only stayed 1 night but they met and exceeded on all aspects of a good stay. Our room was on the 11th floor and had a nice view down Ontario toward the Mag Mile. The breakfast was expansive and of good quality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_GBNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.. I am so happy that we were able to offer you a memorable experience and top of the line service. Hope to see you soon..

Sincerely, Ranka R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a wonderful week at the Embassy Suites. My sister and I brought two 16 year old girls to take in the One Direction Concert on Sat night. The room was fab, the staff excellent, helpful and always smiling. Mr Toyota earns special mention for his professionalism and hospitality. Five stars goes to the Concierge, Phillip (King) Phillip). His knowledge of Chicago, how to get around and where to go was remarkable. We stayed on the 5th floor (532) and although we couldn't see Lake Michigan from our window,we had a city view and could see and hear the sounds of Chicago. During the week, it was quiet. On the weekend the street noise was louder (to be expected) yet added to the ambience of Chicago. We never had to use the complimentary earplugs (I live on a very quiet street and can hear a pin drop). The free breakfast was a bonus, especially for two growing teens. We appreciated the extended breakfast hours on the weekends from 9:30 to 10:30 am. which allowed for sleeping in. The complimentary drinks in the evening were also a nice touch. The rooms were quiet and even our bedroom door shut out the noise of our teens who were up watching movies into the wee hours..Guest services always came promptly to our door with additional amenities. The hotel mezzanine housed the pool, restaurant, computers (used sometimes, because WiFi was sporadic) and a printer and sitting areas. I expected the hotel to be noisier than usual because all the rooms and elevators are visible, but pleasantly surprised this wasn't the case.

The Osteria Via Stato Italian Restaurant attached to the hotel served homemade pasta and pizza. The food experience was similar to my trip to Italy. The price was modest too. Starbucks is to the left of the building. The market immediately across the street is a grocery store, alcohol store and a deli. It's open until 12:00 a.m. The subway is one block down. Couldn't of asked for a more central location. A few blocks to Michigan Ave., Bank of America around the corner (serves Scotia Bank debit card customers with no service charges), walking distance to most of major attractions ( short bus ride or even shorter subway ride to Shedd Aquarium, Alder Planetarium, Soldier Field and the Museum) a couple block walk to catch the free Trolley to Navy Pier and one block to Pizzieria Uno (although it was good, I wouldn't say it's Number One).

The trip to the Aquarium, Planetarium, Soldier Field and Museum which are all grouped together, is worth going to even if you only walk around the waterfront. Nice view of the city skyline too. There you can hop on a water taxi for $8.00 (adult) one way to take a nice tour back to Navy Pier.

I could go on and on about this beautiful city and the Embassy Suites Hotel. We are planning to return with our other daughter in the near future.

Room Tip: 5th floor facing North State Street provided a good view of the skyline, street below and the sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, and our beautiful city. Thank you for giving Kent and Philip a special shout out! We hope that you will choose to stay with us in the near future.

Sincerely, Ranka R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Location was great and the room was fine my issue was the free breakfast. The layout of the breakfast area is horrible and terribly crowded. The food ran out - but I don't think this was the hotel's fault it was the people who were taking plates piled a mile high with bacon and pancakes. Geez people just because it's free doesn't mean you have to act like vultures. Our kids were stuck eating muffins and cereal because of the low class clientele that stays here on the weekends. BEWARE

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemooner7319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking time and providing us with feedback. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I will definitely forward you comments to our upper management to take corrective measures to improve our breakfast area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely, Ranka R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Embassy Suites in downtown Chicago was an excellent choice for us! We stayed for 3 nights in a beautiful room on the 11th floor. The breakfasts were awesome! Very conveniently located. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. It's a pleasure to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Chicago.


Sincerely, Ranka R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Very nice stay. Spotless clean. You didn't see any staff until you needed them and then they were suddenly there without haveing to seek them out. Very friendly. Close to many activities. Great service overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Curt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranka R, Front Office Supervisor at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review!...I'm thrilled that you received great service from our staff. We hope to see you in the not too distant future!

Sincerely, Ranka R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing