We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, room a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location, room a bit tired”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Lovely view down the Chicago River from rooms on the roadside. Location is great - across the bridge to the shopping area and close to the business district. Staff v helpful,although they did check me into a smoking room to begin with - rapidly rectified. The lobby area and adjoining bar-restaurant was good if too chilled - the aircon was up too high. Compliemntary wifi worked well. The only downside was a slightly tired bedroom. Comfortable but in need of some refurb.

Room Tip: go for rooms looking onto E Wacker Drive for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hareparklane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,342
    1,486
    521
    178
    86
See reviews for
1,089
1,501
173
1,065
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Hotel 71 is a nice hotel with a great location. Everyone from the front entrance to house keeping were extremely nice. But, a few things. Not all rooms look like the ones on the web site so beware. We booked a city view king bed on a higher floor. The room we were given had a broken dresser, clogged tub, shower curtain with a dirty water ring on it. We were not pleased. My wife complained and were given a different room that was great. Rain shower, the whole works. Recently remodeled. Though I do not watch much TV, if they say HDTV on the web site they should than have HDTV. Simply having a TV that can show HD doesn't mean you have HD. Reception and picture was poor.

Would have given it a 4 if it would have not been for our room the first night. Will stay there again but will specify a newer room.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money for a river view. Be sure that the room has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayaksnbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2011

As is the fate of many older hotels in large cities, it seems that the Hotel 71 is another case where a new owner buys an older, tired property, invests heavily in the lobby/common areas to give the hotel the appearance of a modern, well-appointed facility then, does as little as possible in the actual guest rooms to make them livable. Clearly the rooms have had some minimal updates (bedding, TV, throw pillows) but . . that’s about it. The rest of the room is still worn, pealing, dented, flickering lights, old plumbing fixtures etc. The rooms are fairly clean and functional, but it’s obvious that the vast majority of the updates the hotel received went into the lobby. The hotel has a nicely appointed and well equipped exercise room which is a plus. Considering the rate, and if you don’t get too swept up in the ambiance of the lobby, for a downtown Chicago hotel, it is quite reasonable albeit not quite as nice as you might expect from your first impressions when you walk in the door.

Room Tip: ask to see the guest room before you pull out the credit card to seal the deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Whether you love shopping or just want to check out the sites, Hotel 71 is well situated in the heart of everything. Within a mile radius, you will find the Architecture River Boat Tour, Millennium Park, Grant Park, House of Blues and the Shopping District. Looking for places to eat? Gino's East Pizzeria, Frontera Grill, Bin 36 and Portillo's Hot Dogs are located just a few blocks north across the river.

Not only is this hotel located near the main sites, but it's a great hotel.

Pros
- Modern, Contemporary
- Clean rooms and bathrooms (the shower heads are awesome!)
- Free wifi (high speed internet!)
- Friendly Staff, Professional
- Reasonably priced room service (food, drinks)

Cons
- Long wait time for elevators, not enough elevators
- Noisy guests may disrupt your sleep late into the night
- The type of guests that stay at this hotel are equivalent to the bros (d-bags) in the Marina in San Francisco

Hotel 71 maybe a little pricy, but it's definitely worth checking out!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorksrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This past weekend, my husband and I departed for a three night trip to Chicago. Our hotel of choice - Hotel 71. While sometimes I book our rooms through sites such as priceline and expedia; I choose to book direct for this trip in order to ensure we would have a nice room with a great view, etc. We paid 246 a night, which I thought seemed a tad high for this place, but I was willing to give it a shot.

We had a superior king room with the river view.

The good: very spacious room, beautiful view, double vanities, lots of countertop surface to set things, comfortable bed.

The bad: paper thin walls and tiled entry into room made noises throughout seem very loud and it was difficult to get a good night sleep. Couple this with hammering and the constant sawing from a chop saw for two mornings in a row across from our room made the beginning of what was suppose to be relaxing weekend away from construction noise (my husband and I both work in the construction field) not so relaxing. The jack hammering as we waited for the elevator in the lobby and other various noises from the room above ours we thought finally warranted a call to the front desk. 1000 spent at this hotel on room and parking. I never did get to awaken a single morning there peacefully. And how did they offer to make this right? A free breakfast on Sunday. Sunday, I couldn't wait leave.

I really wanted to like this place and write more about some of nice features. However, the lack of sleep has proven me grumpy and very disappointed. I probably won't stay here again and most likely will not recommend this place to our friends that frequent Chicago quiet often.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyg3IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Located at the river north of the Loop and adjacent to the Magnificient Mile it is the perfect location to discover almost all of the points of interest and scenic sights when you are in Chicago as a tourist. Everything is easily in walking distance or by a short hop with the taxi. Take a room with a river view, it's worth it. The hotel after renovation is modern in the public areas, rooms are clean and well furnished but not luxurious. I was missing an extra mirror for shaving or cosmetics in the bathroom and the closet in the bathroom is somewhat odd. The staff is helpful and very welcoming. The Hoyer-Restaurant has a nice outside seating area with heaters, having wine and appetizers while watching the passing people and traffic.It also serves breakfast buffet which is too expensive and adds a mandatory 20% service fee which is completely unjustified because you have to serve yourself. Better walk 80 yards to the Corner Bakery whre you get it for a third of the price.
As said, the location is the best reason to stay there but it is also a good place when you don't want to spend too much. I would stay there again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have a great view. Avoid rooms adjactant to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bzinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I booked this hotel through Priceline and was very pleased with the location and room. The hotel is undergoing a renovation and it appears that the rooms have not been completely redone yet, but they are simply a bit dated. The bed was very comfortable and the room exceptionally clean. Staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. As a tourist, you can't beat the location of the hotel. It's close to the tour bus stop, launching point for boat tours and all other forms of transportation around the city. This isn't the fanciest or trendiest place, but it's a good choice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,046 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#84 of 189 in Chicago
6,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,914 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing