We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saint Patrick's Day in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #68 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at Hotel 71 for Chicago's St. Patrick's Day celebration. It was a great location to view the river and within walking distance to some great resturants.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,197 - 4,203 of 4,914 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Hotel 71 a great place to stay very close to all attractions lovely situation on the river.Very pleasant and helpful staff.Enjoyed my stay immensly.Windows can be opened to let in fresh air not like the New York hotel we stayed in very stuffy with the air conditioning ...If going to Chicago stay here.Also found a great diner on Clarke st Ronneys Steak House very reasonable and great eggs and bacon

Room Tip: Ask for premier romm river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at Hotel 71 for four nights during a business trip. Great location! Friendly staff. I upgraded to a newly renovated room on the 18th floor, river view- and what a spectacular view! The room was clean and spacious. The newly renovated bathroom had a leak in the ceiling above the shower and on my last morning there was no hot water in my shower. The staff was not to concerned with this which made me a little angry - but I was on my way out and found the hotel to be a great value for my stay. The only other complain is a noisy hallway. Not much soundproofing in the doors.

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Our second visit in two years, and the place is still tops. The location is still excellent, across a bridge from the super Trump Tower. Reception with a genuine welcoming smile. One of the best anywhere in the world. A current $ 15 million renovation makes everything even more attractive. Free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel. A well-equipped free business center.
A room on the river-side offers an almost overwhelming panorama view up and down the river day and night. The room is inviting, spacious, bright, and well-laid out. Ours even had environmentally-friendly electricity-saving CFL bulbs. Bravo. Ours could stand a coffee table in front of a couch. Everything’s clean and shiny. Great, friendly staff all around. We passed out more little Hawaiian gifts than anywhere else. The troops seem happy, a sign of a well-run operation.
They just installed a new restaurant, Hoyt’s. Unexpectedly good food, great drinks and really good service—but no ambiance. Weather permitting, sit outside, cocktail glass in hand and watch Chicago go by.
We want to go back.

Room Tip: Choos a high-level riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GCHHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Hotel 71 was surprisingly nice and in a great location to all Michigan Ave attractions. I was in town for a convention and this hotel was as nice or better than most of the "convention" recommended locations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrf1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed at Hotel 71 for two nights with my dad for a sports weekend (Go Bears!). The hotel is located just south of the river on Wacker Drive, one block from Michigan avenue. Easy walking distance to the Mag Mile, State Street stores, Art Institute, etc. It’s on the major bus routes too.

The hotel staff & housekeeping were all great. Rachel at the front desk was awesome and very welcoming! The lobby area is smaller but fits the hotel and has modern furnishings. It’s dark but has two large LCD TV’s throughout. There is also a small business center behind the registration desk with three computers with free internet access for hotel guests, a huge plus. There is a restaurant & bar just off the lobby however I didn’t eat or drink there.

Although the corner room we had was very large, it appeared worn and had seen better days. The room was very clean although the carpet was beginning to wear as was some of the tiling in the bathroom. The finish on the bathtub flooring was also peeling. This was unfortunate as the public bathrooms off the lobby and near the fitness center were nicely done in marble tile and premium wall paper. The room furnishings were very comfortable though & the bedding was nicely firm. The room could have easily accommodated a small kitchenette or sofa & coffee table.

The fitness center is located in the hotel and is the size of approximately three hotel rooms with a large selection of modern exercise equipment. It’s open 24/7 for hotel guests. Hotel parking was $45/day with in and out privileges, very comparable to other hotels I’ve stayed at in the same area. Oddly they parked our car outside while we were there instead of covered parking. The biggest downside to the hotel are its elevators. The hotel has 4 total elevators to service close to 40 floors however one pair provides service to the lower half of the hotel while the other pair services the upper floors. Wait times for an elevator easily averaged many minutes during peak times.

I’ve stayed in many hotels in the downtown Chicago area and would say overall Hotel 71 was average. If you can get a room for $200 or less it’s a good value given the amenities it has for downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel was great, especially for the price I paid while staying in downtown Chicago. Everyone was very helpful, especially Diane Pena.

Room Tip: Corner rooms and those high up have a great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,900 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £91 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing