We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location with spectacular views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect location with spectacular views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Spent 3 nights here with my husband in order to see Chicago. What a hotel! What a view we had from the 36th floor (river view). The rooms are huge with a large bathroom. We had 2 Queen beds with super quality bed linen, pillows and towels. We also had a large writing desk and 2 comfortable armchairs. We got a special rate by booking through American Airlines, otherwise it would have been expensive to stay here. Our rate didn't include breakfast but we got a lovely breakfast just beside the hotel at the Corner Bakery. Their prices are very reasonable and they have a very good Europa blend coffee. Hotel 71 is just around the corner from Michigan Ave. We were able to see Chicago on foot (apart from the free trolley to Navy Pier from the junction of State St and Illinois St). I really liked this hotel. It is a a taste of luxury and the staff at reception were more than friendly and helpful to us in answering any of our queries. Our experience here helped to make the entire visit to Chicago that much more special and memorable.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMRCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,238
    1,437
    500
    170
    81
See reviews for
1,027
1,449
173
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

One of the best locations in Chicago right by the river. There is a seven eleven near by for late night movie rentals (DVD player in room) and for the people who dont use room service for everything. Very clean room and large bathroom with water fall shower head. All of my needs were met and I enjoyed the Hoyt restaurant and bar downstairs. The fitness center was very impressive as well. Bring your work out gear to get a work out with a great river view. My only complaint was no fridge or mini bar but a few buckets of ice fixed that.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at Hotel 71 for Chicago's St. Patrick's Day celebration. It was a great location to view the river and within walking distance to some great resturants.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Hotel 71 a great place to stay very close to all attractions lovely situation on the river.Very pleasant and helpful staff.Enjoyed my stay immensly.Windows can be opened to let in fresh air not like the New York hotel we stayed in very stuffy with the air conditioning ...If going to Chicago stay here.Also found a great diner on Clarke st Ronneys Steak House very reasonable and great eggs and bacon

Room Tip: Ask for premier romm river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mumchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at Hotel 71 for four nights during a business trip. Great location! Friendly staff. I upgraded to a newly renovated room on the 18th floor, river view- and what a spectacular view! The room was clean and spacious. The newly renovated bathroom had a leak in the ceiling above the shower and on my last morning there was no hot water in my shower. The staff was not to concerned with this which made me a little angry - but I was on my way out and found the hotel to be a great value for my stay. The only other complain is a noisy hallway. Not much soundproofing in the doors.

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Our second visit in two years, and the place is still tops. The location is still excellent, across a bridge from the super Trump Tower. Reception with a genuine welcoming smile. One of the best anywhere in the world. A current $ 15 million renovation makes everything even more attractive. Free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel. A well-equipped free business center.
A room on the river-side offers an almost overwhelming panorama view up and down the river day and night. The room is inviting, spacious, bright, and well-laid out. Ours even had environmentally-friendly electricity-saving CFL bulbs. Bravo. Ours could stand a coffee table in front of a couch. Everything’s clean and shiny. Great, friendly staff all around. We passed out more little Hawaiian gifts than anywhere else. The troops seem happy, a sign of a well-run operation.
They just installed a new restaurant, Hoyt’s. Unexpectedly good food, great drinks and really good service—but no ambiance. Weather permitting, sit outside, cocktail glass in hand and watch Chicago go by.
We want to go back.

Room Tip: Choos a high-level riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GCHHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Hotel 71 was surprisingly nice and in a great location to all Michigan Ave attractions. I was in town for a convention and this hotel was as nice or better than most of the "convention" recommended locations.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrf1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#61 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,102 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing