We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
CA
Level Contributor
307 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location and helpful staff”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel was a very nice place to stay on my first visit to Chicago. The rooms were very spacious and beds comfortable and the bathroom was large. The drawers were nice to keep all your stuff in the bathroom so it didn't have to be all on the sink counter. For two ladies with makeup and stuff it was very helpful. The room had a mini fridge and a Kuerig machine which was nice to make hot water for tea. They did have K-cups of coffee for you coffee drinkers as well. It was a nice touch. The view from the 38th floor was fabulous and this hotel is situated right across the street from the river and the Trump Tower and within walking distance to everything downtown Chicago has to offer. Millennium Park, River Walk, Willis Tower, Navy Pier etc. The water taxi is right across the street too and that is a nice form of transportation available for some nice views of the city or a trip to Chinatown. The Orange Line train is right around the corner as well to take you to and from Midway Airport if that is the airport you are flying in or out of. It takes to right to the security line at the gates. There is a restaurant and bar located downstairs and lots of others within walking distance as well. I really liked this hotel and the staff was really helpful. They were able to answer plenty of questions we had about various places. They provide free wifi in your room and also have 3 computers downstairs with a printer, which is very handy to print your boarding passes out, or research the area. I would certainly recommend this hotel for your stay in Chicago.

Room Tip: I would recommend the highest floor you can get for the view or a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peppertaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear peppertaz,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our friendly staff, location in downtown Chicago, and views of the Chicago River. Thank you for noting all of our free hotel amenities, I'm glad you were able to take advantage of everything. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,266
    1,449
    503
    174
    82
See reviews for
1,045
1,465
172
1,025
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Spent 7 days here recently and really enjoyed the Hotel and City. Location was excellent and if you can get a Riverfront room, the view is really nice. We had a great Riverfront room on the 34th floor (3402) and found the room to be quite large for a Hotel in this category/range. The staff was great and very accommodating. Exercise room was also very nice. All in all we had a very pleasurable stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel. Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for Riverfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14TheGipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear 14TheGipper,

Thank you for the great review! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our location in downtown Chicago, spacious guestrooms, and friendly staff. Thank you for recommending our hotel. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Arriving and the lady at the reception told us that we've been upgraded to a room with a view. First impression was that the room was big enough for us three ladies and our big suitcases.

The view was magnificent! Just as you can see it on the hotels homepage. The room was very nice, the beds was wonderful and the bathroom was big.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjeei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear kjeei,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm so happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay, especially our spacious guestrooms, comfortable beds, and views of the Chicago River. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Easy check in, room was beautiful. Big bathroom, comfortable beds, great view of the river. I had read past reviews about noise from construction, but on 32nd floor, it was very quiet. Great 60th birthday celebration with my daughter. Very attentive staff and immediate response to any needs we had. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Joanne S,

Thank you for the great review! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and chose our hotel for such a wonderful occasion, your 60th birthday. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff, comfortable guestrooms, and views of the Chicago River. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Happy belated birthday!

Sincerely,
Bob Holland
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

a bad odor was coming from the bathtub.
When i made the reservation i didn't choose the kind of room i wanted. when i got the bill it was $30 more per night. The reason for the extra charge was because: when we arrived at the hotel i was told we had a king size bed i ask for 2 beds, I was not told that it will cost me $30 more. The ladies in the front desk told me, that facility have their own rules, they told me the next time check into the facility rules before the place where you make the reservations. So, maybe I will never use your hotel again. It was my favor hotel, no anymore!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Elena G,

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Regarding your reservation, since you chose to upgrade your room type upon check-in, a slight fee was added to reflect this change. However, this charge should have been communicated to you immediately, and I apologize if our staff did not do so. We will address this issue with our front desk staff to make sure it does not happen again. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact our Front Desk Manager Mike Eizenberg at meizenberg@wyndham.com. We would love to have another chance to make things right and win you back. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 187 in Chicago
985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
2,000 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#81 of 187 in Chicago
6,192 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4,835 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing