We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall it was excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overall it was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the long weekend in November 2013.

While we did not have a riverfront room we still had a great, typical view of downtown Chicago.

The location is superb in terms of access to transportation links and for walking in the downtown core.

The front desk service was excellent, the staff are very friendly and helpful. They did warn us about the ongoing construction but as we were on the 32nd floor, we didn't hear it at all. We found the room to be well-kept, a good size and clean.

There were a few minor improvements we would suggest:

Add a mirror to the room itself, instead of only in the bathroom.
Add shelving and a light over the coffee area, and supply wineglasses and ceramic coffee mugs instead of the paper cups. This would be more in keeping with the desire to be 'green'.
An option for a dim light on in the bathroom only, instead of the full bright light would be nice.
Also, the tub./shower combination should be updated with safety/grab bars.

We do want to give a particular shout out in thanks to the cook/chef at Hoyt's who insisted on reheating our pizza (purchased elsewhere!) in the oven, rather than in the microwave, and presenting it nicely on a plate. Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello--
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback! We appreciate the comments and critique greatly and will everything into consideration as we are always striving to improve our guest experiences. I will also be certain to pass along you compliments to the kitchen staff-- Chicago is known for their pizza, so glad you got to experience some! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Warm Regards--
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,238
    1,437
    500
    170
    81
See reviews for
1,027
1,449
173
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is about as central as you can get in Chicago for all the city's attractions. Many of the rooms offer iconic views down the Chicago River.
Our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Shower room only, but a very big one!
The exterior of the hotel was being refurbished (Oct 2013) and maybe some other parts could do with freshening up - the corridors and shower room for instance but this is a minor point as is the fact that the complimentary wi-fi kept dropping connection.
Breakfast was good and the hotel bar OK.
Not cheap but, on balance, good value and we would use it again if visiting the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ActonTrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello--
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, we appreciate your feedback. We are currently upgrading our wi-fi services, and apologize for any issues you might have experienced. We hope you'll visit again after our renovations have been completed, as we are continually working toward a better guest experience.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Note: We stayed from Saturday to Monday and there was construction going on at the hotel. We did not hear any of it until Monday (9am), so if that bothers you, you should wait for the construction to end.


Our stay at the hotel however, was great. Everything from the room, to the staff and especially the location was amazing.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and our check-in and check-out took no longer than 5 minutes.

The room was great! Clean, modern, big shower, big bed, 2 TVs and overall everything you need in a hotel room. (See photos)

Location is amazing because its a walking distance from pretty much everything.

I honestly don't have anything negative to add about this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Parking: this is overall an issue in Chicago. Valet parking at the Hotel is $60 per night. I just found a "self park" 3 minute walk away from the hotel and it cost me $76 for 2 nights.

Room Tip: I believe that any room #12+ is facing the street (which is beautiful) (example: on floor 9, rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Kon R-
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive comments and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to Chicago soon.

Warm Regards,
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#61 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,102 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing