We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rebranded - but it's headed lower!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #67 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This has been a really disappointing stay. I've stayed here for the last 4 years in a row, and opted to stay here for a large conference. Practically the whole of Chicago is booked, and I made sure to book very early in the year - at least 6 months ago.

At $227 plus taxes etc, it was not cheap anyway. I had paid a higher tier which should have equated to a lower floor & "fresher" room. I actually called the hotel myself before booking and the day before I was due arrive to ensure they understood my request.

I get to the hotel around 5 pm and check in. I'm given my keycard and directed to the elevator - no offer of a bellhop, and I just want to get to my room, only to find I'm given a room right next to the elevator (despite request for a quiet room). So I schlepp back down with my 2 cases to request a change to something more suitable.
The person at the desk was rather put out, eventually gave me a room on a much higher floor than I had paid for. I STILL had to take up my own luggage - no offer to help (BTW, I'm female and a visible minority)
I get to the room and try to get use their wifi - and can't connect easily! I call the wifi customer service and manage to get on 30 mins later - not happened to me in that before and not for years.
What else?
The chiller was not working - had to get it replaced
The room temp was not easily regulated
Lukewarm water in shower - yuk! No temp controls
Clogged drain in bathtub
Closet miniscule
There's more, but you get the idea.

There is a lot of renovation work going on around the hotel and all the rooms were supposedly renovated - cheaply! The bathtub was just repainted, with old, flaked & tired looking trim.

I did bring these concerns to the attention of the front desk - they were not interested in making things right, and they had 4 days to do it.

Luckily, there are a number of really good hotels in the area - Renaissance, Intercontinental, Hyatt, Hotel Monaco, so I have lots of choices for next year.

I will NOT be staying in this hotel again. There was no effort to solve the issue now, as it happened - an offer for "better treatment" next time is not good enough.
If you have to stay there, be very careful of your expectations - and what you pay for your room. I left feeling shabbily treated. They do not deserve my custom.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter if you ask - you may not get it! Don't waste your time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear tdmac-
I am terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you were anything less than thrilled with your stay. I want you to know that I have brought up your issues with my management team in an effort to correct and prevent these issues in the future. You most certainly should have been offered a bell hop and a quiet room on the first check-in attempt. Please accept my sincerest apologies and hope that next time you return to Chicago, you would give us another chance to impress you.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,502 - 3,508 of 4,863 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived in Chicago right around check in so there was no issues with check in, we also got upgraded for no additional charge. Anthony also made sure my request was granted and put us way up on the 36 floor, thanks! It was our anniversary and couldn't have imagined it being any better, other than crap they all gave me for being a Packer fan, it was all In good fun :) we didn't receive housekeeping as we were barely in our room but the staff was nice enough to give me some extra coffee. The water pressure in the shower was a little slow but I'm assuming that is how rain shower heads work. Thanks for the great anniversary stay in the Windy City !!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank samantha148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Samantha148-
We are so glad you chose to spend your anniversary with us, we are so pleased to have had the opportunity to make is special. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

My husband surprised me with an overnight "staycation". He must have given the hotel a heads-up because the concierge, Anthony, did an amazing job planning our evening for us. My husband and I live in Chicago but Anthony was able to provide us a fun and exciting evening out that we never would have ventured to on our own.
The hotel room was beautiful and very quiet, despite construction going on at the hotel. We are so happy with our stay!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nina0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear nina0284-
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your 'stay-cation', what a wonderful surprise! I will most certainly pass along your compliments to Anthony. We hope that you'll chose to stay with us again in the future, we would love to welcome you back.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,839 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 192 in Chicago
6,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#74 of 192 in Chicago
5,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £102 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing