We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #66 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Pros:
1. The location is very convenient: So many attractions and good restaurants are within walking distance.
2. Huge room: The double queen room is so huge. Two queen beds with a separate working space with a large sofa, a desk and a chair for work. The room is about 150% or even 200% larger than an usual double queen room. The bathroom is also huge.

Con:
1. Valet parking (which locates between this hotel and the River Hotel, serves both) costs $60 per night. And it took about 20min to retrieve your car even during off peak time. I would recommend to use the self-service surface parking lot right beside the River Hotel, which costs $34 a night. It can be tricky to find a space during peak time, but I was able to find empty space for both nights I stayed.
2. (minor) The shampoo and shower gel is bad. Not a big deal because I usually bring my own.

This hotel definitely exceeded my expectation as a 4-star hotel. I usually stay at Westin, Marriott, or Aloft in Chicago. But found a great rate for this hotel, so decided to give Wyndham a chance. And it proves to be a smart choice - this stay is better than the ones at Westin/Marriott/Aloft. Very large room, great location. You cannot ask for more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZachKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear ZachKK--
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your latest visit to Chicago, we were very happy to have you. I am very please to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room. We hope that you will choose us again next time you are here.

Warm Regards--
Bob Holland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,372
    1,503
    523
    179
    90
See reviews for
1,107
1,519
175
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed in one of the river view double bed queen suites and it gave a good view of the city. When you first sit on the bed, they could easily pass for stone slabs, however, once you get settled and actually turn in for the evening, the beds are deceptively comfortable. The WiFi was decent, however, as a rule of thumb, I do not use hotel-provided WiFi for extended periods of time of time so I can not speak to speed, connectivity, etc. I mostly just log in to sync my devices and that's about it. There was keurig and a surprisingly cold mini-fridge in the room along with an iron and ironing board.

Hoyt's Tavern is located in the lobby and its food was delicious. The hotel is on East Wacker Drive so you are pretty much in the thick of downtown. Michigan Ave (the Magnificent Mile) and State St are all within walking distance so you have the luxury of seeing all of the sights. Navy Pier and Millennium Park are a bit further away -you could walk it if the weather is nice and you are not in a hurry. For the intrepid among you, hike down to Billy Goat's Tavern in its subterranean dungeon on lower Wacker -the cheezeborgers are mighty tasty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShowbizPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hello--
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room, our location and the food in Hoyt's. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are staying in Chicago.

Warm Regards--
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed in room 1912 for two nights recently. The studio condo unit was beautiful and comfortable. The condo units just became available in early January and ours looked like it had never been used. Perfect king-size bed w/exceptional Wyndham linens, 2 flat screen TVs, comfortable couch, neat little kitchen and updated bathroom.

My only complaint would be that the bathroom is far away from the bedroom. You have to walk through the kitchen and living area each time to get between the bedroom and bathroom. Not a big deal.

Will stay here again and again!

Room Tip: Request a river room and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeMooreTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hello--
Thank you so very much for leaving your comments and compliments regarding your stay! We were very happy to have you and thank you for your kind words. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your room and your stay and we can't wait for your return.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Double queen room was gigantic with a chaise lounge and beautiful views of rivers and city. Nice sized bathroom with separate soaking tub and large stall shower with rainwater showerhead. Just luscious.
WIFI was terribly slow. Beds were hard too. Didn't check if softer beds were available tho.
Single king bed size room was small in comparison with only stall shower in bathroom (no tub). Still lovely with beautiful views of river and city.
Overall a very luxurious place. Hoyt's food is fabulous. Had dinner, breakfast and room service. Well worth it.
Very friendly and accomodating staff. I will definitely be returning to the Wyndham.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Tishzan --
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place dont have a fancy reception but the staff is super, rooms really nice (always stays in the ones facing the river) and the location is super just in the middle of everything...pass a bridge and your in the beginning of Magnificent Mile, 10 minutes walk and you have all the restaurants and pubs you want, 10 minutes walk in the other direction and your at the art museum...
Highly recomend this!!

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve a room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerSweden10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hello-
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room and your stay-- and most importantly, Chicago! We hope to have you return to stay with us again soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,609 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,601 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 190 in Chicago
4,974 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing