We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #68 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

My wife an I traveled to Chicago for a comedy concert at The Chicago Theatre and selected this hotel for it's close proximity to the event. We arrived downtown Chicago and it took us about 20min to find this hotel as it sat in a quirky location (formerly known as the hotel 71. I believe) When we pulled up to the underground parking facility we were shocked to see that this hotel charges $60.00 fir overnight parking which we felt was way too expensive so we parked a few dies down in an open lot that still charged $34.00 The check-in was uneventful, but there was an added $80 00 fee that this hotel charges fir incidentals and both the desk clerk and bell man were very nice and courteous. I had asked for a room with a view and also a room closer to the elevator because I am handicapped and gave trouble walking. Well we were led to a room on the 18th floor which was fine with me, but our room was located at the furthest end of the hall. The room itself was beautiful, but for the type of money I paid that was expected. But there was no mini fridge, and we had to request that a microwave be brought up to our room. I pulled back the curtains only to find that I didn't have a city view but rather a view of an alley and the tops and backs of other buildings. Instead of eating in the hotel we drove the few miles fir some tasty Lems Barbeque as the grilled cheese sandwiches were $7.00 at the motel and for $13.00 we had a full meal of bbq. I personally would not stay at this particular motel in the future however, the rich or well to do may find this hotel acceptable

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SHANNON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Shannon C--
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am sorry you were displeased with the cost of parking, for our lot and the other lot you chose, but unfortunately that is pretty standard for our downtown location. As for the incidentals, those are an added charge to cover damages (if any, of course) or for your convenience-- it is applied toward room service or restaurant charges and refunded in full if not used, of course. I do very much apologize, however that we did not honor your request for a room close to the elevator, that should have been addressed and I am sorry for the oversight.
We do hope that we would get the opportunity in the future to accommodate you again. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,485 - 3,491 of 4,917 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

I am an avid visitor of Chicago having stayed in almost all the hotels in the area. This is THE best hotel if you're looking for a hotel with 5 star quality, perfect location on the river, stellar customer service (especially Brendan at the front) and hassle free experience. We stayed here for her birthday and we were upgraded to an excellent riverview from cityview corner room for a nominal discounted rate. The view itself was worth the experience with an almost 180 degree view. Our friends got placed right beside us and we had the best time in chicago so far. Thanks Brendan and staff for knowing how to treat your customers.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are spectacular. Corner suites are nice if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Arjun S-
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are thilled you enjoyed your room and your stay with us! I will certainly pass along your compliments to Brendon and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in Chicago!

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Very nice property. Staff was still in training but very helpful and courteous. Received great info from Reps in regard to Timeshare updates.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear John F--
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for leaving us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

What a great stay! Our room and beds were very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. The city view from our room was amazing. Great location with plenty to do within walking distance if you only have a day or two as we did. Cant wait to go back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words- we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to welcome you back to Chicago!

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Wyndham due to a pipe bursting in my apartment. The staff was extremely accommodating due to my extended stay and were always willing to help. I had to consistently extend my reservation and they made sure I could stay in the same room. It was very clean and not to mention luxurious for the price. The location is very convenient as well. I will definitely be recommending the Wyndham in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Taylor P-
I am very pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate you during a rather stressful event-- here's hoping you won't be staying with us again under those circumstances! Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here last summer - for our first trip to Chicago. We are now looking to book it again for this summer. The hotel and staff were amazing. This is hands down the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Cannot say one bad thing about this place. The staff was always willing to help us and provide their own personal suggestions for us. The beds were some of the comfiest I have ever slept in. There is also a TV in the bathroom - which is AWESOME, oh and a telephone too! We cannot wait to come back this summer to enjoy this hotel all over again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Jackie M-
We are thrilled to know that you'll be returning again this summer to stay with us! Summer is the best time of year in Chicago, and we're glad you're coming back to enjoy another stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,902 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £91 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing