We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun times in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #66 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“fun times in Chicago”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. It was clean, comfy & everyone was very helpful, friendly & knowledgeable about the hotel & the city. Our bellman that we met our first day when we got there remembered us from day to day and always had a smile and would love to hear what we had done that day. The view from our corner view was amazing! We looked right on the river! It was close to everything we wanted to do also.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a river view. We actually had a corner room & had windows on the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear pmm1234-
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Bob Holland, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,401
    1,523
    531
    181
    90
See reviews for
1,134
1,538
176
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from Chicago with a group of guys. We went for a weekend of fun & laughs, took in a Cubs game and a Hawks game. Many of the guys in the group had been to Chicago numerous times but this was my first trip and I was basically responsible for finding this hotel.
All weekend long I was complimented on how nice of a hotel it was! Getting that from a group of "men" is not something you hear everyday and especially this group.

First off the hotel is in a GREAT location. Stores, restaurants, shops all within walking distance. The Navy Pier is only a 3 minute cab ride away. The hotel itself is modern and beautiful. We had a room with two queen beds and it was HUGE! The bathroom was HUGE. We had some members of our party who stayed in other hotels nearby who would walk into our rooms and blurt out "Holy ...these rooms are awesome! Way better than what i'm staying in". Our room was not a river view but if you are lucky enough to get one of those you'll have a great view of the river.

The people at the Wyndham were very nice as well. Aimee the bartender down in the restaurant became very familiar with our group and was so helpful and nice to us. The folks at the front desk allowed us a late checkout as our plane didn't leave until 6:00 PM and they even stored our 17 pieces of luggage for us while we went to grab lunch before we left.

Not only myself but all the guys in our group were in agreement,"The next time we come back to Chicago, we're staying HERE!"

Room Tip: River View rooms give a great view of the river and are exactly as some of the photos show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zez25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Zez25-
Thank you co very much for your wonderful feedback. We thank you far taking the time to let us know about your stay and for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled that you were so impressed with your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again very soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The rooms are elegant,tastefully decorated clean and comfortable.The location is within walking distance to the art museum and the magnificent mile. The staff is friendly and will go the extra mile to insure a comfortable stay. The only drawback is the lack of premium tv channels,(my wife had to miss the first new episode of the Game of Throne )and in no in room movie rentals .Don't waste your time waiting for the welcome package it's pretty weak .a map of the area,no coupons or specials waiting for the welcome package it's pretty weak .a map of the area,no coupons or specials

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Rocky1948-
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay. We apologize if you didn't find the television channels to be satisfactory and hope your wife will forgive us for missing Game of Thrones! Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldorado, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I loved everything about this hotel! You can't beat the location, the view, the cleanliness and the friendly and helpful staff! Room was spacious and very comfy. Hotel is within walking distance of shopping & restaurants and a nice little 7-Eleven on the corner! I felt safe at all times and a taxi was always there. Mark Zimatis took very good care of us when we arrived and also provided excellent service when we were leaving. He is a very friendly young man and helpful!

I also recommend Hoyt's! I had the best ever pomegranate martini.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Sherry618-
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay- we're so pleased you enjoyed everything, from your room to your meal to the staff. We will certainly pass along your compliments to Mark!

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,684 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 190 in Chicago
6,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing