We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #66 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful view from our riverfront room on the 37th floor. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Cleaning staff/Housekeeping was our only issue, but the front desk took care of everything quickly. Would def recommend this hotel and would stay again!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view, but you will be on the elevator a while if the hotel is fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Andi63--
Thank you so much for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,372
    1,503
    523
    179
    90
See reviews for
1,107
1,519
175
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Wyndham is located right by the river which makes it a great place to start out when exploring central Chicago.

The rooms were large, clean and fresh. Staff was friendly and the hotel lobby bar was a nice place to end an evening out on town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mekkmekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello--
Thank you so much for your kind words, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront and look forward to having you with us again very soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I felt like I should have liked this place more. Its a good location walkable to the mile as well as within the loop, big rooms, relatively new fittings, and you can get some good deals. But we got the "city view" which is not particularly exciting, we were out for a whole day but our room didn't get made up at all for that day, the staff were nice enough but didn't go that extra mile. For a good price I would happily stay there, or else I would try somewhere else - Chicago has a lot of options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfwayhome101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Halfwayhome101-
Thank you so much for your comments, your feedback is very much appreciated. We thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront and apologize if you were anything less than thrilled with your stay. We do hope to see you return to our property when in Chicago so we can show you the level of customer service that we pride ourselves on.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just back from a girls weekend in Chicago. We stayed at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. What a fabulous hotel. It was located in a great spot, very clean and super friendly and helpful staff. We had requested adjoining rooms when we booked through our travel agent. When we arrived, that request had not been communicated to the hotel. The front desk was very accommodating and put us in adjoining rooms on the 30th floor overlooking the river...fantastic view.

The only thing I wasn't thrilled about was being asked to tour their renovated rooms.... Repeatedly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Skipperduck--
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us and your time in Chicago, as well as the rooms you were placed in. We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I'm very happy with my stay at the Wyndham. I was able to check in early and got a great room on the 36th floor facing riverfront, magnificent view! My room was next to the elevators yet it wasn't an issue, which I thought it would be. They have a great bar with very good martinis and the hotel is perfect for walking around the major touristic attractions like shows, performances, the river, the magnificent mile, the bean, and a block away from the train station state/clark. The room is standard but well layed out to add comfort, they offer a keurig machine with a couple of Wolfgang Puck coffee and cups with lid which they restock every day. That's great if you're going out, which I did every morning, but unfortunately you can't reuse them, it would have been nice to also offer mugs. Another reason for the missing star is that they only offer 2 small bottles of water and they do not restock them. Regardless of that I would definitely stay in the hotel, I felt comfortable, safe, welcomed, and you can't beat the view. Within a 5 minutes ratio there's a 7 eleven, Starbucks, walgreens, souvenir store, corner bakery store, restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Lontanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Lontanicus--
We thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and in Chicago. We will certainly make note of your critiques and thank you again for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront; we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,614 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,608 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 190 in Chicago
4,975 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing