We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Lots of elbow room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #72 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed during the week and found the hotel ideal for exploring the center of the city. The room was large with expanded seating. Great view of the river, window that opened provided additional cooling since the room air never seemed to do the job. The staff was attentive and answered all questions. We checked in early with no trouble . Parking is steep at $60 a night.
Would stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank RoseyJacksonMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear RoseyJacksonMS-
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am terribly sorry I you had an issue with your air conditioning-- I assure that will be looked at immediately. And parking, understandably may seem high, but I assure you it is very competitive for our downtown location. We thank you for your comments and will be sure to share them with the team. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you return again very soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,340 - 3,346 of 5,046 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for just one night at the end of a longer-trip. Got a fantastic rate on Hotwire, and wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised! I arrived quite early, and they were able to accommodate me immediately if I wanted a room with a river-view, for an extra $20. I took it, and was very pleased with the room I got. It was on the 32nd floor, with a fantastic view of the city and the Chicago River. The room itself was enormous - one of the largest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in (that wasn't a suite). It was newly renovated, and had a chaise sofa, a full-sized work desk, and a fridge!!! The bathroom was spacious, bright, and very modern. The room had wall-to-wall windows, which was very nice. Because I was only at the hotel for one night, I wasn't able to fully-enjoy all this hotel had to offer. That said, I highly recommend it based on what I did experience, and wouldn't for a second hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: River-view rooms on higher floors have AMAZING views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joecdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear jocdn-
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We're so pleased that you were so impressed with your room and the view! We wish you could have stayed longer, and certainly hope you'll be back soon to do just that.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Visited with my 2 boys and they agreed that the location/view, service (thanks bellhop Mark and front desk), and size of the room were great.....especially for a Metropolitan City. River View is a Must. We will Return! Walk to the 7-11 and Subway were seconds away.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Jason C-
Thank you so much for letting us know how you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your comments and for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We very much look forward to having you stay with us again!

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Room was clean, large, roomie. The refrigerator wasn't plugged in. When I went into the bathroom, I could smell the mildew on the shower curtain. I called and asked them to come change it and they brought a brand-new one right away. The tub had a few rust spots, but otherwise, the bathroom was clean. Big screen TV, bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, we didn't have a riverfront view, so be sure to ask for one. And we were right across the elevator, so we could hear foot traffic and conversation in the hallway and a slight squeak in the wall every time the elevator went up/down.

Front desk gets pretty busy, but their staff was friendly and helpful. They will also "check" your luggage if you have to check out of your room and need to temporarily store it.

We had our "do not disturb" sign out when housekeeping came by. So later in the day, they called us to see if we needed anything.

Room service/menu was pretty expensive, so we opted to go downstairs, two doors down, to Corner Bakery.

When they offered us a "free gift", it was to get us to view their VIP suite and hear their presentation. Probably a time-share. We passed on it.

Room Tip: Request a room on the riverfront side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello--
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay. I am terribly sorry if you had any issues with your room, but I am glad that we were able to correct them quickly. We thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront and do hope you will return to stay with us again when you are visiting Chicago.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Well positioned hotel overlooking the river (if fortunate to have a room with that particular outlook). Small foyer, which can get crowded at busy check-in/check-out times. My room (without much of a view really) was probably reasonably dimensionally big, but still appeared relatively cramped because of the layout and positioning of funiture etc. I guess I only needed to sleep there after spending each day busy elsewhere, so it was fine - but I suspect that there are lots of other hotel options in this great city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 99TedP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear 99TedP61-
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I want to assure you that your feedback will be shared and considered, and we very much appreciate your incite. We thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Chicago. We know there are many hotels to choose from and we thank you for choosing ours. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful view from our riverfront room on the 37th floor. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Cleaning staff/Housekeeping was our only issue, but the front desk took care of everything quickly. Would def recommend this hotel and would stay again!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view, but you will be on the elevator a while if the hotel is fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Andi63--
Thank you so much for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,030 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 191 in Chicago
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#91 of 191 in Chicago
7,179 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £86 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing