We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was disappointed comparing to a previous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #66 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel when it was called Hotel 71. I decided to come back because of the amazing experience I had. Unfortunately I was disappointed during my recent four night stay. The mattresses were uncomfortable, weak A/C, extremely slow Wi-Fi, and a rusted, broken coffee machine. I asked the front desk to replace the coffee machine and it was not taken care of.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Jamal D-
I am terribly sorry if you were met with any inconveniences during your stay and would like to thank you for bringing them to my attention. I assure you that your comments will be shared with the team to ensure the issues are promptly fixed. If you would like to discuss these matters further, I invite you to call my office and speak with my assistant, Kelly Buettner at 312-462-7070. We thank you for your review and hope that you would consider staying with us again, as this is not the level of service we strive to provide.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,785)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,075 - 3,081 of 4,785 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon and we were really impressed. Everything in the hotel worked seamlessly, staff were friendly, facilities and rooms were fantastic. As soon as we got there we were told we had been upgraded to a suite (2504) and the views were amazing!!! We loved
Chicago so much we decided we definitely want to come back and we will definitely try to stay at this hotel again. It's right opposite the Trump Tower and really well located. We stayed in 6 different hotels during our USA trip and this one was by far the best!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ANH779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear ANH779-
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that we could be a part of your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your stay. Congratulations on your new lives together and thank you for staying with us.

Warm Regards,
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here using Wyndham timeshare points. Our room was a one bedroom suite. Gorgeous room! Clean & modern. Living room, full kitchen, huge bathroom, bedroom with large closet and chest of drawers. Safe in the closet. Another huge closet off the kitchen. Ironing board and iron provided. Bedroom view was of Morton's steakhouse. Living room view was of the Chicago river and it was absolutely beautiful! We spend a lot of weekends in a friends downtown condo and this room was bigger than her condo.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.
The location is perfect between Michigan Ave and State St right across the street from the river. No car needed. Parking is expensive at the hotel. But there are many parking garages in the area with better rates.
We are looking forward to another stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pussandboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear pussandboots-
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us here in the city and look forward to your return!

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

As downtown locations go, it doesn't get much better than this. Directly across street from Trump Tower (if you're not bothered by the new signage) and easy walking to any attraction and public transportation downtown. Good restaurant adjacent to lobby and for coffee, a Corner Bakery two doors down. The room was exceptional: nicely decorated, quiet, superb mattress, roomy shower stall and some added touches: all the lights in the room had dimmers and the closet was lighted as well. Hallways were nicely decorated.I stay at a lot of the properties in the Loop, and this is now high on my list.

Only minor issue was elevator wait time during peak periods, and the floor buttons in the elevators are confusing. On the latter point, there was definite humor value in watching people trying to find their button.

Room Tip: I had a city view room (south side) with nothing much to look at, but perfectly acceptable. If you w...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello-
Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay was. We're so pleased to have made your list of places to stay in Chicago! We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,772 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 191 in Chicago
6,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £100 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing