We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Wyndham 6/23-6/24”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

4,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,310
    1,469
    514
    176
    83
See reviews for
1,067
1,487
172
1,047
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We go to Chicago fairly regularly and have never, for some reason, stayed here! I tend to book Wyndham properties because I am very familiar with them and they are generally very nice. This hotel is just west of Michigan Ave on Wacker dr on the river. It is centrally located to everything! I recommend eating breakfast at Wildberry Pancakes... It was amazing! If you are more of a cafe type, there is a good one just east of the property.

The Wyndham River front is fantastic! There is a parking garage onsite to the left of the hotel entrance. It costs $60 per day with in/out priviledges. $60 is decent for downtown Chicago parking. Especially for private garage parking. Check in was a breeze. The front desk area was small but they used the space appropriately. The front desk personell was helpful and answered any questions we had. They were very knowledgeable of the area.

We stayed in room 3109. It was close to the elevator. I always travel with a fan so we didnt here it at all. I was expecting a typical "hotel" room. You know, walk in and see a restroom door to your left and your bed with a tv on a dresser... Standard stuff right?! Well, we were very pleased because the rooms actually delt as if it were our own little studio apartment! Yes it had all of the standard stuff in there but, the layout was great! It is all one large room but it was layed out in a way that it felt like there were three distinct areas!

We had the Deluxe king room with a city view. The view was pretty darn nice! Wben you walk into the room the window is the entire length of your unit so its impossible to not appreciate the skyline or the river. The restroom was beautiful! The shower was all tile and had a rainfall head. There was also tile flooring in there. The room was very clean and all sheets and pillow cases were new.

We did not take advantage of any onsite amenities. There is a nice restaurant, a gym and they offer spa services! I wanted to get a nice couples massage but time nor money allowed it! All in all, we were very happy to stay here. We will definitely be staying here again. You get a high quality property for a good price! We shall return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theconners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
The Connors--
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for choosing our hotel and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are traveling in Chicago.

Best-
Juli Colon,
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of many businesses, restaurants, sites, and public transportation. The room was clean and had a refrigerator and coffee maker. I wish they had provided caffeinated tea bags every day (they always provided both caffeinated and decaf coffee k-cups), but under-serving tea drinkers is common in the hotel industry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Linda R-
Thank you so much for letting us know how your recent stay was, we appreciate your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourself and are sorry that you didn't receive regular tea. Please don't hesitate to ask next time you stay with us-- we would be happy to provide some! We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I think 3.5 stars is probably a better assessment. We recently stayed here on a bachelorette party with a large group - they weren't able to have our rooms all together or connected, but they did get us on floors above each other... that seems a bit hard to believe in such a large hotel, but so it was. The rooms are huggge and well appointed. There were NO mirrors in the room besides in the bathroom - which made it difficult to get ready but they were nice enough to bring up an extra mirror. The service overall was good except for a really terrible experience with the bellman outside of the hotel who was (failing at) directing cabs for guests. I did not see him outside and began to try to get my own cab, he then (and I mean literally) flipped out and started screaming at me - at no time did he offer to try to get me a cab and told me to move and go to the next street. It was bizarre to say the least, at first I thought he had to be kidding - but no he found it acceptable to scream at hotel guests and quite literally kick them to the curb. I was so upset about the incident I went inside and told several employees, one (who worked at the concierge desk) just rolled his eyes at me (also incredibly inappropriate) but the manager seemed to care and said he would address the issue with the employee - I have no idea if that happened but I would say that my experience with that one man would likely prevent me from ever staying in this hotel again. One might assume it was just my interaction with this man, but we met up with other friends in our party later and before I even told my story she said he had also yelled at her and another women who was standing there.... that man should be fired. Overall, it was a nice hotel with a great location - but the lobby is really small and the elevators are painfully old and slow. The hotel bar/restaurant is great and we enjoyed a nice lunch there on the patio.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear MMMer-
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. I assure you that your comments will be shared and addressed with our team in order to improve guest experience. We thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,358 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,880 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing