We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot & Cold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #66 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hot & Cold”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Pros: Location, location, location. Walk to: Art Institute, Giordano's, Navy Pier, Boat Tours, Millennium Park, Michigan Ave and State Street. Modern boutique decor. Huge, rooms and bathrooms. Concierge Joan was so helpful. Incredible Chicago River views (Not if you're booking on discounted website). Cons: When asking for a room with 2 queens. Front desk: "Well, I only have one left." Me: "So...could I have that one?" Answer: "Well, I guess, but only because I'm the manager." Me in my head: "Oh. Sorry that I'm such an inconvenience." Same attitude when my friend asked to put minor child on the same floor. Front Desk: "No, we're all full." Me: "But it's only 4pm" "I know but everyone has already checked in." Me:"How could that be? It's only 4pm and check in started at 3pm". My friend then mentioned I was a Top Contributor on Trip Advisor. The manager overheard and made it right by giving her an upgraded room with a fabulous river view and moved the child to a room down the hall. It all worked out thanks to the manager and Trip Advisor clout. Elevators were either broken or slow. Smelly shower curtain. The valet started with us in the lobby but couldn't fit our stuff on the elevators so he took 20 min. to get to our room. Worst: THIN walls. We could hear actual conversations, babies crying and people doing sleazy things. At over $700 for one night, next time, we will try a different hotel.

Room Tip: If you're not booking on Hotwire or Priceline, you can get a River View on a high floor. Spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FederalExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. On behalf of the hotel we do apologize for the opportunities you encountered during your stay with us. Please do know this is not our standard here at the hotel and we have had the issues you talked about checked with our Operations team.

We do hope that you give us another opportunity for us to show you how Grand we are.

Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,403
    1,525
    531
    181
    91
See reviews for
1,138
1,538
176
1,081
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed there last night and we really enjoyed our stay. the rooms are very spacious for a downtown hotel and the bathroom had a tub AND a shower, a big plus! The only two minir issues werea) The sales pitch at the front desk (I can't really complain though as they upgraded us to a river-view room.)b) the old and noisy bed.All in all a great stay at Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Balthasar S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay and thank you for your kind comments.

We do hope that you return and see us soon.


Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent weekend trip to Chicago and was not disappointed. Location of hotel is great and very convenient to all the downtown area has to offer. Michigan Avenue (The Magnificent Mile) is a short walk across the river with 100's of restaurants and shops within easy reach. Also within a short walking distance are the lakefront parks, Navy Pier, Art Institute, Giant Marshall Fields (now Macys) Department store and of course a train/subway station -which will allow you to access Wrigley Field (as I did).

The room was spacious & comfortable. Flat screen TV, safe, couch, desk w/chair, etc. Bathroom area was spacious as well w/huge mirror/sink area and shower/bath combo. I can't complain about the bedding which was just "firm" enough. I slept pretty well. Maid service was prompt and toiletries were always well-stocked.

Really have no complaints. At times the wait for the elevators (esp. In the lobby) was a little slow but it wasn't that big of a deal to me. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay and thank you for your kind comments.

We do hope that you return and see us soon.


Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is situated in a great location, close to many restaurants, shopping, and the sightseeing trolleys that offer tours of Chicago. We also were able to walk to Navy Pier with its many attractions. The room was spacious, clean, updated and quiet. I found the staff friendly and helpful. The big negative for this hotel is the parking rate at $60.00/night. We opted for parking one block away which offered parking for $41.00. The room offered the usual amenities plus a small fridge. Ice machines are on even floors only.

Room Tip: If view is important to you, ask for it. Our view was the alley , not a big issue, but a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verdellehein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay and thank you for your kind comments. Parking is unfortunately expensive in Chicago and we remain competitive with the other hotels in the market.

We do hope that you return and see us soon.


Regards

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying eight nights at the Wyndam RIverfront. The entire staff was extemely helpful and he concierge's were there from dawn to well past dusk and were always very helpful with recomendations and maps. The riverfront is right across the steet and the the hotel is located close to many restaurants, shops and a Walgreens open til midnight. The room was large with a small refrigerator and the elevator wait was never long. WIll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a city view room but the river view would of been superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpwiii1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli C, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing time with us and hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Juli Colon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 190 in Chicago
4,706 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing